We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay. Highly recommended.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Otira Homestead on Needles Eye
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great choice for a young family. The cottage was clean, comfortable and homely. The kids loved the trampoline at the backyard and had plenty of space to play. John was a lovely host who would come by for quick chats with us and the kids were delighted when he gave them the chance to pick eggs from the chicken coop. Great location as well, everything is a short drive away. We're glad we chose to spend the night here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaChameleonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This was the 2nd farmstay of the family trip in early Jan 14 where we arranged to stay 2 nites.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, Robyn and family were away during my period of stay. As I had no other accommodation booked, I requested to stay nonetheless. Robyn was kind to drive back frm Melbourne to check me in and show me the place. I'm indeed grateful to her.

The 2 bedroom garden cottage was very well kept and cosy for my family of 4 including a 2 yr old toddler and elderly. Everything worked fine. Though living room is not big, my little girl enjoyed roaming the open spaces outside. Personally I enjoyed sitting at the backyard, enjoying a bottle of Purple Hen :)

My little gal also enjoyed feeding the chickens, a suitable activity for her age. We liked the tranquility and the short 5 mins drive to Penguin Parade. Given the late summer night, we were glad to rest early after watching the Penguins.

A good alternative accommodation option to explore Philips Island.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisBrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

It was two perfect nights for us at the Garden Cottage. John and Robyn were very friendly and nice hosts.

The garden cottage has two bedrooms and one bathroom with a fully equipped kitchen. A beatiful garden at the backyard with a trampoline and chickens. Robyn invited my son to pick the eggs on the morning we were there. There is also a laundry room at the side of the homestead which we were allowed to use.

Despite the cobwebs around the corners, the cottage is actually very clean and tidy. Towels and linens are very clean, which is important for us.

Location of the cottage is ideal as an anchor point to explore the island, including a visit to Penguin Parade. Everything felt like a mere ten minutes away.

As the weather was perfect, we bought some groceries at Cowes and cooked them in the oven. Dinner at the lovely backyard with a bottle of Purple Hen, Phillip Island's own vineyard, made our stay even more memorable.

Highly recommended for families exploring Phillip Island.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

John and Robyn were wonderful hosts and our family enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much. John was very kind and it was a pleasant surprise returning to find our cottage already warmed by the heater. Very good sleep at night, all pitch black outside and fresh air around. Collecting eggs from the coop was a memorable experience. Happy to have found this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Dear John and Robyn,

Thank you for hosting us. The children loved the farm and John taking the extra time this morning to take them round, was really sweet. It made their holiday really a memorable one.

The cottage is so well equipped. that one could literally cook a big meal there.

An highly recommended place to rest and stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Family run farm. A beautiful place for family holiday. Great food. Wonderful warm hospitality. Friendly hosts that go out of their way and treat you like family. Excellent accommodation to suit any family. Beautiful, relaxing, natural surroundings that is perfect to destress. Highlight of Australia , Victoria Holiday. Home away from home.

Room Tip: The room on the groundfloor is great for couples, pretty and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wow what an experience! Our stay was simply fantastic. Great country hospitality. The breakfast was exceptional and afternoon tea on arrival to a cool house was the perfect way to settle into our family getaway. It was wonderful to see the farm work being done (from the top window) without raising a sweat. Robyn and John were superb hosts with 3 generations of Phillip Island history to share. The beaches were all so close and so were the penguins, so what more can you ask for...! Fully recomend to anyone. Amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
2.4 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Cowes
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bimbadeen Phillip Island
Bimbadeen Phillip Island
#10 of 21 in Phillip Island
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otira Homestead on Needles Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otira Homestead on Needles Eye

Property: Otira Homestead on Needles Eye
Address: 236 Ventnor Beach Rd, Ventnor, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing