We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here during carnival 2014 on points. This was to avoid the traffic when going to the airport. The staff was more than pleasant. This stay was not a "5" because when I checked in and went up to my room, the door was wide open... Very odd, I thought. So I returned back to the front desk to let them know I felt unsafe going in there. Rather than sending security to go with me, they just told me it "may have been left opened by housekeeping". Usually I would have been all over them but I was extremely tired (did I already say it was carnival... Lol) so I went back up to sleep.. Zzzzzzz...

Question: can you please buy a new shuttle bus?!?!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Émylyã B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Anne J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Emylya, Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay and experience at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Trincity. It is comments like these that help us to improve and overcome any shortcomings in our attempt to deliver quality customer care. Your comments would indeed be shared with the relevant team members. It is our aim to make every guest stay a great experience every time and in this regard, we remain committed to ensuring that we deliver the experience that is consistent with the guest expectations. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we invite you to join us again on your next visit to Trinidad for Carnival next February.
Sincerely,
CA James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Overall this hotel was disappointing for the money paid. I stayed for 2 nights while waiting for a return flight. During this time the pool was laterally green, and closed. The breakfast only included water,scrambled eggs, toast and packaged muffins. The road to the hotel seemed unfinished as there was a pile of gravel in front the hotel.

Room Tip: Overpriced but convenient for access to the airport
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trinisoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Trinisoul,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments online. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am disappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had and for the shortfalls you have encountered. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for stop over on way to Tobago. Last day of carnival so unable to get into Port of Spain.

Very welcoming and pleasant staff who immediately offered us a bottle of water which was very welcome after our long flight from UK.

Got taxi from airport but hotel offers an hourly shuttle but as we missed this we took taxi. Used this free service however on following day to airport which is certainly not walking distance away and perfectly fine.

Also used free shuttle service to go to shopping mall in morning of flight to Tobago. Mall had lots of food outlets and good range of shops, ATM's etc.

We had a junior suite which was a good size, clean and cool. Decor a bit dated but bed comfortable and big. Complimentary breakfast and as such was not as extensive as some hotels but quite fine and certainly enough to satisfy us, they had hot food, cereals, yoghurts, toast etc. As with most places nearer to the States coffee was a better option than tea, although tea was drinkable.

For the price of the hotel this was good value. If you wanted to see what POS was like though would recommend staying int he city which we did on our return. Need to allow at least an hour though to get out of POS of after 2pm as roads very busy as no trains in Trinidad at all or priority lanes etc. so journey out a bit tortuous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear debw23,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay better please do not hesitate to speak with a member of the staff.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am writting this as a comparison to the Regent Star I stayed at last time. The HI express hotel itself is dated and nothing special but the service and staff are great.........the airport shuttle is very handy, they will come pick you up when you call them. They also run a shuttle to the maple which is great. Its the biggest mall in the Caribbean. There is a pool with a patio and an executive size gym and free wifi. I would stay here again over the regent star......amazing how important good service is!

Room Tip: Half the rooms overlook the outdoor pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Bren S,

Thank you for your patronage and positive praise regarding our hotel staff. We sincerely appreciate your valuable time and review. It was also very gratifying to know you found the hotel service commendable. Our goal is to make your stay the best it can be and it looks like we accomplished our goal.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to making your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The rooms are decent, staff is very nice. Location is a bit secluded, and no shops or restaurants on site. There is a shuttle to the Trin City Mall, but it doesn't start running until late morning (10:45 or so, I think). The mall is about a 10 or 15 minute walk, and has tons of shops, restaraunts, grocer, etc.

Breakfast was ok, but they did seem to run out of things quickly and not restock unless you asked them to.

I had business at Trin City Mall, so the location was perfect for my needs. Close to the airport also, with free shuttle service. Price seemed a bit steep for the quality of the hotel. Only hotel I've ever stayed in on Trini, so can't compare it to other local hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear IvLass,

We would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate you calling out the good quality of our rooms and staff. While we are pleased with the good comments, we truly value the not so good comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points with our breakfast staff and we hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made. Thank you again for your review. We hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On the plus side - They have free shuttle service to and from the airport. They also have free shuttle service to the mall. The hotel is close to the airport. They serve breakfast from 6:00am to 10:00am. Pool is very clean. The hotel has a small fitness center and they do have Wi-Fi. Staff was very nice with the exception of one or two desk receptionist. It's an average hotel good for a quick stay.
On the negative side - No restaurants and really no room service even though they claim to have that. If you want food, you have to get take out or go to the mall. Hotel is pretty safe but no place to go for a walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaicanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Jamaicanangel,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. I value the kind remarks on our hotel shuttle service and convenient location. However, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some aspects of our hotel amenities and service. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our first night here was awful! We had to wait forever for the airport shuttle to the hotel. We had to call twice and after telling us the driver was on his way the first time, the second time we called the receptionist said the driver was just leaving! Normal Caribbean timing! Hotel is pretty good with security; you have to press a buzzer before you are allowed to enter. The hotel has no restaurant for dinner, only breakfast, so as we arrived late we had to order out and eat in our room. Was not the greatest. The room was fairly large and very clean. My one issue with the room on both nights we stayed was the fact that the curtains don't close completely because of the floor AC unit. So the heavy curtains close to a point and then there's a thin curtain that goes across and above the AC unit. Hence a lot of light enters the room especially if you are unlucky enough to have a room with security or street lights outside! The day we left we felt our room vibrate...it was bizarre and initially we thought it was an earthquake, however it continued and we got funny looks when we reported it to the front desk staff. If you need to rest your head for just one night, then this might be an ok choice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Mandy R,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the experience you had with our Airport Shuttle service did not live up to your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincity
22.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,147 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
23.3 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
654 reviews
18.4 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
23.4 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Address: No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Trincity
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Price Range: £119 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad. We are pleased to offer you a 100% non-smoking Hotel.This attractive, recently built hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Piarco International Airport, just 30 minutes from the capital city Port of Spain. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs from 4.00 a.m. to 12 midnight. Situated within a growing urban development with an 18 hole PGA Championship Golf Course, Premier Shopping Mall and Multiplex Cinema, this property features 82 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites and is ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel offers a complimentary Express Start breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, facility, fitness center, business center and free high speed Internet access throughout the hotel! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad and experience this new hotel with exceptional views and outstanding service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Hotel Trincity
Holiday Inn Trincity
Holiday Inn Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing