We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great local” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Levens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Village pub with four en suite letting rooms. Owned and run by Becky and Ash Dewar since 2013. Four individual en suite letting rooms. Specialising in local ales and simple fresh food.
kendal uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good fresh food , good hosts and good beer. A great place for locals and visitors. Owners are running a great pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thedarchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    63
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Fell across this pub on the way back from Go Ape, and what a find it is, food is beautiful and the service was second to none, defiantly recommend it to anyone and fair prices too. 5* rating

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Family Favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We first came across this pub after we won a voucher in a local raffle! Am so glad we discovered this place as it has become a firm family favourite place to eat out. The owners are incredibly welcoming and there is a children's menu available. The menu consists of mainly pizza's, burgers and traditional pub meals, but what they do, they do really well. I love the charcuterie board or baked Camembert to start and the burgers are the best I've ever had. Also the drinks are slightly different to the normal pub offerings with cocktails and Prosecco by the glass available. The toilets are the poshest pub toilets in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary tea = perfect night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit as a friend said the food was very good. We have been in once before and the staff have been very friendly and helpful both time. Tonight we decided to eat here as it is our anniversary. We had a garlic bread which was very nice to start. Followed by to small pizzas which where still a good size with a side salad and chips. More than enough for two people. We had a lovely evening which finished our day off thank you very much we will be back next week with our friends. Worth the 3o min drive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Odette Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back as promised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having had a really great evening here last September, we went back again a few days ago. Had one of the best hamburgers I have had in a long time, and the pizzas two of our party had were awesome! Service was as welcoming and friendly as one could hope for. The new owners are doing a grand job!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing