We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a welcoming place to be”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aberchirder B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a welcoming place to be”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Gary and Maxine were brilliant hosts . Couldn't have asked for more . Loved the log fire and atmosphere . Staff we're very friendly . Food was amazing as was the service . Really enjoyed my stay and lookin forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband, father-in-law and I stayed here for 1 night while on a Scottish tour in the middle of winter. Our reception was extremely friendly and hospitable - I honestly think there is no other pub in the world in which we have been so welcomed by the locals in the pub! This was without a booking, we just walked in off the street. It was a fantastic night. Maxine was very friendly, both bar tenders were great and the food was fantastic - both dinner and breakfast. The only reason this review isn't 5/5 is because of the shower... But Maxine is fixing up the place- they only recently bought it- so I have high hopes this will be fixed soon. Overall we really enjoyed staying here, and it is more than worth it just for the food and for the characters you meet and the bar!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeiraNandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were at The New Inn, Aberchirder on 4 Jan for a meal with a friend. The service was excellent and the food was beautifully cooked. I had pork which I usually can find dry and this was perfectly cooked. We have had a few meals here and have enjoyed every one. The wood burning stove heated up the room and warmed us on a cold winters evening.It is a pity it is almost 40 miles from where we live or we would eat there more often. Can highly recommend it for a place to eat out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and my fellow workers come here to stay when working in Aberdeen. And you could not ask for more the rooms are great clean and well looked after and for an excellent rate per room. Food is 5 stars with a great range to choose from recomend the steak. :). And the staff are very welcoming and pleasant who go that extra mile to make sure you are happy and have everything you need so I will keep going back and would recomend to anyone. Thanks to Gary, Maxine, Tommy and all other staff and locals who make our stay worth it. Thank you. Steven.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveng1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at The New Inn when we were picking up our new kitten from the breeder. Gary and Maxine were so welcoming and what they have done with the hotel is amazing. They are full of plans and bring a wealth of experience with them. It was lovely to sit by the fire and chat after our delicious dinner and breakfast. I know we will be back to visit,and to explore this beautiful area. Thank you both.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here after driving for miles and seeing nothing but no vacancy signs. The hotel is in the process of being renovated but we were given a large room at a great price. No ensuite but the bathroom was just across the hall and we didn't seem to be sharing with anyone else. Everything was clean and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent with delicious home baked bread. The hotel has a fairly popular bar so quite lively and offers a good selection of cask ales and at a cheaper price than we'd paid anywhere else on our trip. The only drawback was the noise from the bar but it wasn't too obtrusive. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catriona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Absolute great night! Food was out of this world especially the breakfast. Had haggis which Gary did me on request night before (which wasn't on the menu) all the staff friendly especially Tommy! Try this place you won't be disappointed !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russmiller3929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberchirder
8.1 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
12.0 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bognie Arms Hotel
Bognie Arms Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fife Arms Hotel - Turriff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: 79 Main Street, Aberchirder AB54 7TB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberchirder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aberchirder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a traditional and welcoming historic inn set in the heart of Aberchirder providing eating, drinking, gatherings and lodgings for the local community and visitors. We love Real Ale here as well as good, honest home-cooking. There is a changing selection of 5 hand pull ales on a weekly basis and the Menus can change just as often! Aberchirder is an 18th century planned village locally known as Foggieloan which was the original name given by the Founder; Alexander Gordon, the laird of Auchintoul in 1764. The village is nestled into a hillside with the beautiful Cleanhill woods to the west and outstanding views all around. We are located in the heart of the village, just a hop skip and a jump from The Square. We are only 12 miles from the bustling and creative town of Huntly, roughly 10 miles from the stunning Moray & Banffshire coastlines and we have great access to three award winning whisky distilleries which are all around a 10 minute drive. We are great base for exploring this wonderful part of North East Scotland. The Inn has 4 bedrooms with shared bathrooms, public bar, dining room and a private hall seating up to 100 people for weddings, parties and meetings. The building is like a rabbit warren having being altered and extended over the years, with parts of the inn dating back to 1765 and with nooks, crannies and uneven floors. Due to the age of the building the bedrooms above the bar can be a little noisy until around 00.30, especially on weekends, most of our guests can be found joining in and getting to know the local people, however we do have a quiet petit double bedroom available. Here at The New Inn we offer traditional hospitality where the spirit and character of the people are the heartbeat of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Aberchirder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing