We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aberchirder B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at the New Inn as part of our honeymoon trip to Scotland. I'm so glad I happened to find the listing on AirBnB. It's a bit off of the beaten path, but that's part of what makes it great. We came here after a few nights in Edinburgh, which was absolutely lovely, but it was very nice to get away from the throngs of tourists and see a part of Scotland that we may not otherwise. Maxine and Gary were both very friendly and welcoming, as were all of the staff. The food was delicious and they have some great ales on tap and a good whisky selection, prompting us to stay up late chatting with folks and having an all around great time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a fantastic meal at the New Inn - the week after the really good Beer Festival (well done - do it again!). The lamb chops were AMAZING. The ham (carved off the bone) salad was scrum and the Fish twist & chips (haddock and scampi) was vast and delicious. We all had puddings - coconut & walnut sponge (yum) and sticky toffee pudding - all really good. Beers in the pub are excellent too. Well done the New Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the New Inn overnight in may 2014. Maxine and Gary gave me a really warm welcome. The pub has a nice selection of cask ales and a warm, friendly ambience. The local folk are friendly and happy to chat too - all the better for us single travellers! My room was cosy and comfy, with tea and coffee facilities and a good bathroom down the hall. I had an early night and although I could hear the merrymaking in the bar below my bed was really comfy and I soon nodded and had a great night's sleep. The coffee at breakfast was good, getting me off to a flying start.
Maxine and Gary make absolutely great hosts, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivingDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have been in to the New inn for excellent food and fantastic real ale many times . In this visit I decided to stay over night and found the room I slept in very comfy and clean. Maxine and Gary took great care of me I felt like one of the family! I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and i stayed in Aberchirder over paddys weekend.We did not have the good sence to stay in The New Inn ,but we were lucky to drop in for a nite cap on our way back to our well below standard bb . A super pub a pub thats loved by its owners and customers.The following nite we returned with family and friends we had a excellent meal with great service.The New Inn is all you could wish for, a 5 star experience.We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardpower13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Myself and my wife were traveling around Scotland and came across this little hidden GEM. Hosted by super friendly people, great food, great craft beer, and great customers. Highly recommend a visit. It was worth every minute of the drive to get there.

Room Tip: Everything about this place is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't fault a thing. Food was very good and hosts were very welcoming.
Friendly atmosphere and felt like a home from home.
would advise people to come here and have a relaxing stay with good food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: 79 Main Street, Aberchirder AB54 7TB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberchirder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aberchirder
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a traditional and welcoming historic inn set in the heart of Aberchirder providing eating, drinking, gatherings and lodgings for the local community and visitors. We love Real Ale here as well as good, honest home-cooking. There is a changing selection of 5 hand pull ales on a weekly basis and the Menus can change just as often! Aberchirder is an 18th century planned village locally known as Foggieloan which was the original name given by the Founder; Alexander Gordon, the laird of Auchintoul in 1764. The village is nestled into a hillside with the beautiful Cleanhill woods to the west and outstanding views all around. We are located in the heart of the village, just a hop skip and a jump from The Square. We are only 12 miles from the bustling and creative town of Huntly, roughly 10 miles from the stunning Moray & Banffshire coastlines and we have great access to three award winning whisky distilleries which are all around a 10 minute drive. We are great base for exploring this wonderful part of North East Scotland. The Inn has 4 bedrooms with shared bathrooms, public bar, dining room and a private hall seating up to 100 people for weddings, parties and meetings. The building is like a rabbit warren having being altered and extended over the years, with parts of the inn dating back to 1765 and with nooks, crannies and uneven floors. Due to the age of the building the bedrooms above the bar can be a little noisy until around 00.30, especially on weekends, most of our guests can be found joining in and getting to know the local people, however we do have a quiet petit double bedroom available. Here at The New Inn we offer traditional hospitality where the spirit and character of the people are the heartbeat of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Aberchirder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing