We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value DBB”
Review of The Pilgrim Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pilgrim Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marchwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

By using The Pilgrim's own website saw that they were offering a deal for Dinner Bed and Breakfast available for Sunday and Monday nights only. The booking price gives you a £15 per head allowance off the dinner bill so made this a reasonably priced night away in the lovely New Forest.
Room was well appointed clean and contemporary but set in an old style thatched building. Nice selection of teas and even some filter coffee. Get your fresh milk from reception when you book in which when we arrived was in the pub on the opposite side of the car park. Lovely bathroom with roll top bath and a bucket for you champagne bottle. Bed was a little uncomfortable because the mattress rather dipped in the middle , which I mentioned on check out so hopefully this will be changed.
Dinner was good pub food priced between about £11 and £16 for a main meal. Breakfast offered pastries, cereals, juice, and a variety of cooked breakfast choices , service was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Room 12 has twin aspect windows on first floor overlooking pub. Nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a Sunday evening because of the excellent value Sunday evening offer price. We were not disappointed. We had visited Southampton for the day and the hotel was well positioned for this, being about 6 miles from the centre. It is also close to Hythe and the New Forest. Our room (Room 2) was on the ground floor and was very large and well decorated. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Check in was smooth and generally all the staff in the hotel and the adjacent pub were friendly and helpful. We were travelling with our dog and it was a bonus to us that he was allowed in the bar area of the pub where we could eat our evening meal. He was made to feel very welcome. We were also accommodated the next morning at breakfast where staff had set up a table on the edge of the restaurant area so that we could take him to breakfast with us. Our evening meal was good value for money and the food was lovely. There is a good choice on the menu which is not overly extensive but covers all the bases. We had fish in beer batter, chips and peas for £10.95. A bottle of Prosecco was £19.90. Breakfast was charged at £10.00 and for this there was a good cold selection and a choice of hot meals. We had the full English (with poached egg!) and the poached egg was perfect. The toast was lovely thick crusty bread, and the sausages were from a local butcher and were very good quality and delicious. All in all there is nothing bad to say about this hotel - the atmosphere was great, everyone was very friendly and we would definitely use it again if we are in the area. One minor point which didn't bother us but may bother some people is the proximity of two roads - one behind the pub and one in front - so there was a little traffic noise - however I am a light sleeper anyway and I don't think my husband or other family members in another room even heard it so might just be me !

Room Tip: Room 2 on the ground floor is really nice - large with a sofa in. However you may experience some no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the best features is the accommodation part of the establishment. It is in a separate building to the pub...just across the car park. Good standard of rooms, lovely cotton sheets, luxury bathroom facilities and all that you'd want for a couple of nights stay. Breakfast offered all the choices of both hot and cold courses and we had the fish and chips for dinner which I would highly recommend. Yes, there is a bit of noise from the road, but for a modern place in a good location for Southampton and the New Forest, we felt it was good value.

Room Tip: Our room had a luxury bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. Well worth enquiring about r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed twice at this hotel and on both occasions had a lovely room which were very tastefully styled. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. Only down side was the beds were very soft but that my just be a personal preference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrissey190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked one night for a family celebration and the rooms where very well appointed, comfortable and very spacious. Our room was very chic with a comfortable bed. The staff were attentive and friendly. Our dinner was very tasty and good. The only snag was that being a Saturday night the pub was full and no where to sit down to relax after dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had pre booked a Birthday Meal for two as we have been to The Pilgrim over many years as we are local. Sorry to say that it has gone down hill which is a shame as when Fullers took it over it was very good initially but no longer. Our visit on a Sunday evening was terrible. Shown to what should have been a reserved table but was told that our table had gone. Drafty by the door and with a tired and lacklustre menu not A la Carte a booked we were left unattended for 20 minutes whilst one table of four and two tables of two were seated offered drinks and food orders taken, all who were seated after us. One table had starters served. Tried to get attention of staff but they just walked past. A great shame. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Toby556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita P, General Manager at The Pilgrim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Good Morning

I am sorry to hear of your dissapointing experience here at The Pilgrim Inn with regards to lack of service and that we did not have the table that you had booked. I have spoken to the team members who were on that evening to clarify some of the points raised by yourself. I would like to assure you that this incident is an isolated one and is not representative of the service that we provide here. The menu we offered on that day is a bespoke menu that we create on a Sunday with a mixture of our menu dishes and Sunday specials including roasts, Our dishes are cooked fresh and we feel the menu is reflective of The Pilgrim Inn.


I would like to offer you the opportunity to return, if you would like to please do not hesitate to contact me directly


Kind Regards

Anita Peel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during the early May bank holiday weekend and it was just fantastic.
Our room was very luxurious with great tea and coffee making facilities with fresh coffee and chocolates showing that they are happy to go the extra mile.

We had two amazing meals in the restaurant, the second night it was extremely busy and we very nearly didn't get a table so I'd recommend you book a table in advance if you're planning to eat there.
The food was of an extremely high standard, we enjoyed 3 courses and a cheese board for very reasonable prices considering the high standard.

Breakfast was included in our package and exceeded our expectations! There was a choice of fresh fruit, cereal and pastries as well as huge variety of cooked breakfasts - very good quality ingredients all round.

We didn't take a car and we did struggle to get around as the public transport doesn't come very often, however we were content with spending time at the Hotel as it was such a relaxing atmosphere and lovely place to be.

The staff were friendly and extremely attentive.

We will definitely be returning to The Pilgrim!

Room Tip: Superior room was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marchwood
4.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,247 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
907 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
843 reviews
11 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
2.3 mi away
Boathouse Hotel
Boathouse Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hythe
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Inn

Address: Hythe Road | Marchwood, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Marchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marchwood
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pilgrim Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Pilgrim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Marchwood
The Pilgrim Inn Marchwood, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing