We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of George & Falcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Warnford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here last with the family, 5 of us, to give it a try. Did not book, got a table easily. Service was excellent and food was most enjoyable. Good choice off food. Everyone enjoyed the food so would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Many thanks. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    55
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely inn, dog friendly with nice garden leading to a shallow stream. Nice veranda to eat out on and fantastic food. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room large with large ensuit. Very light with two windows, although one wouldn't open. Comfortable bed. Room at the back but view overlook the roof of the veranda with extractors on, so not great view but not noisy and when laying in bed you just saw the trees. Would definitely return. Large car park. The photo on the website of the front of the inn does not do it justice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagstang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated.
And the website photo's are being updated over the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A really warm atmosphere, nice open fire which was great in the cold weather. The pub has lots lots of different seating areas, which just makes the whole place feel very intimate and welcoming.

The food is amazing! The Beef Wellington is ridiculously good. Beautiful presentation, made the food feel much more expensive than it is.

Friendly staff and generally an all round winner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boorly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Bless you! Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for a weekend break for 2 nights, very enjoyable stay was had. Nothing really bad to say at all apart from as mentioned in other reviews the prices of the drinks was on the high side, £4.65 for a Perroni pint. Room was lovely and clean n well presented, food very very nice n well presented in a fine dinning way, Breakfast was nice but didnt notice that cooked breakfast has an extra charge.
Lovely setting, thought the place is easy to miss n overshoot on the road as its on a slight bend on the A272. Loved the 3 friendly chickens in the garden and the stream at the back of the garden.
Staff are nice and friendly and very welcoming. Would recommend to family and friends.

Thnxs Dee n Phil.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Yon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which will be passed on to staff.
Our drinks prices are generally in line with local competition - Peroni is a premium lager and commands probably the highest price in the market sector. It is also our biggest seller!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and although the room was ok, there was no hot water for a shower (despite turning the knob in the correct way) it was boiling hot weather but no fan in the room so slept very badly. I would stay here again but not paying £85 for 1 night for 1 person! How it can be called four star I have no idea? the plus side the staff were really friendly, the food was good and in a lovely setting.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
The exceptional hot weather has caught us all by surprise! We do have fans on the premises, and should you have requested one, it would have been provided.
With reference to the shower, the instructions are quite explicit and the flow/temperature controls are not the most intuitive, hence we place detailed instructions in each bathroom. Showers are checked as part of the daily housekeeping routine and all are in perfect working order.
We have been AA 4 * rated since 2010 and the last accreditation inspection was earlier this year. The AA have exacting standards and we consistently meet them.
But we clearly failed to delight you; please contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you're going to Goodwood the drive from this hotel is cross country and takes about 50 minutes avoiding all the usual traffic so this is a great place to stay.

The staff were very helpful and gave good service - we had a very early start one morning and they went out of their way to give us some breakfast before we left - nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

Both nights we ate here and took advantage of the set menu which is around £14 for 2 courses and £17 for 3 courses (I think). The food is really good, fresh and presented nicely - would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea70-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warnford
6.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.0 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
7.9 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ye Olde George Inn
Ye Olde George Inn
#8 of 25 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Falcon

Property: George & Falcon
Address: Warnford Rd (A32), Warnford SO32 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warnford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warnford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Falcon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 18th-century Coaching Inn and Restaurant in village of Warnford on the A32 in the Meon Valley, Hampshire. Five en-suite rooms all AA rated 4*, restaurant for up to 120 people, riverside garden, alfresco dining on the terrace, dogs welcome throughout, log fires during winter months, friendly and welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George & Falcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Falcon Warnford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing