We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B, excellent food”
Review of George & Falcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Warnford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B, excellent food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very comfortable stay in this lovely pub. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and it had all the facilities we needed, including a full-sized bath which was most welcome after a long day walking the South Downs Way. The evening dinner was very good, as was the packed lunch made for us in the morning. Breakfast was only continental (pay extra for full English) but there was still a very good choice and plenty to eat. This pub has a reputation for its friendly service and, throughout our stay, everyone we met was friendly and charming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    55
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ignore anyone that says this is not a fantastic find. Admittedly we did not stay overnight but we did appreciate the refurbishment of this pub having a vast array of dining table chairs but also lounging chairs to relax in if required. There was even newspapers and magazines for guests enjoyment. The service was outstanding and the waitress could not do enough. Our two labrador dogs were made very welcome too. We enjoyed the sunday carvery which for choice and taste, was the best one we have been to for a long time. I rarely take the trouble to review but I would like to see this pub full for all its efforts to make this a really pleasurable place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the generous comments which have been passed to staff. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service and it is rewarding to know that it is appreciated.
We look forward to seeing again you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Happened to be passing and decided to drop in for a meal. The pub had a lovely welcoming atmosphere. We had my 97 year old mother with us and consequently some of the things on the menu were not really suitable, as it is difficult for her to manage a full meal. However, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to meet her requirements. The food was delicious and there was a lot of choice. We were also impressed with the high standard of cleanliness, especially in the cloakrooms.

We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We only had a meal, so we are unable to make a comment about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We were pleased to have provided hospitality to you all and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

3 sets of friends plus two dogs stayed here after day one of the South Downs Way. Reasonable rooms, standard pub food, good breakfast. Rooms on front are noisy. Emergency staircase eases long way to take bags to room. Waitresses could be more aware of the wines on offer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebankT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I sense a little disappointment in your comments and would like to respond.
Firstly, we installed new windows in all front bedroom in 2012 but were constrained by our Grade II listed building status to replacing "like for like" sash windows with no opportunity to install any secondary glazing. Regrettably, traffic noise is a 21st century issue we all have to live with to some degree.
Secondly, our waiting staff are very diligent, friendly young women who haven't yet developed a finer appreciation and knowledge of wine. Our wine list should provide sufficient information to make an informed choice. But providing both a Reserva and Crianza Rioja to your table was noted. Our mistake and we apologise.
Reviews can always be a little subjective. A fellow guest on the same evening posted the following comment:
"hidden gem
An excellent inn in the middle of nowhere with excellent service and even better food,cooked by someone who obviously takes pride and has passion!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went there with friends from the USA and wanted a traditional English pub and not one of the chain types. Though it was a Saturday night the service and food was excellent and can thoroughly recommend this venue to all for quality of their food and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Up2Unow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your generous comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Lovely old inn, recently restored; large and comfortable room. Very good food, friendly staff. The owner not only served our breakfast, but sat down & talked to us, which we enjoyed. Convenient to Winchester; easy to find, ample parking

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments; they are much appreciated and will be passed on to the staff in question.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Two weeks ago we took our relatives from Peterborough for a lunch time meal. We had eaten there before in April, and were very impressed. We chose to eat outside on the terrace, as it was very humid that day. Once again the food and service was of a high standard. We all ordered different starters and main meals, they all looked delicious, and I must say mine was exceptional. Our relatives like us thoroughly enjoyed their meal and experience. For us it was the special touch, like when we requested a jug of water and they delivered an ice cold old fashioned stopper bottle, which there was no charge. The food and the choice of menu are exceptional, by far the best in the area. It was all about the experience, and for us it was fantastic. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warnford
6.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.0 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
7.9 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ye Olde George Inn
Ye Olde George Inn
#8 of 25 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Falcon

Property: George & Falcon
Address: Warnford Rd (A32), Warnford SO32 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warnford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warnford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Falcon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 18th-century Coaching Inn and Restaurant in village of Warnford on the A32 in the Meon Valley, Hampshire. Five en-suite rooms all AA rated 4*, restaurant for up to 120 people, riverside garden, alfresco dining on the terrace, dogs welcome throughout, log fires during winter months, friendly and welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George & Falcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Falcon Warnford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing