We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Warnford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of group of 4 adults. Had a quiet room at the rear of property. Think rooms at the front may have been a little nosier as the road was quite busy.
Friendly welcome from bar staff on duty. Shown to our rooms, asked if we required the heating to be turned on, which we didn't as it was already pleasantly warm in the room.
Room was very comfortable, lovely bed with fresh white bedding. One problem was that the sash window would not stay open! Clean white towels waiting in the en suite shower room, which was, disappointingly, a little 'tired'. Flooring seemed to be lifting away around the edges and ceiling had some peeling, possibly due to condensation issues. Still the whole room was cleaned each morning and the towels replaced after 2 days.
Fantastic continental style breakfast included in cost of room. Never any need to have additional cooked items. Evening meals were well cooked and very tasty, especially the house burger! One disappointment was on our first night, all 4 of us wanted the pork, but were told that they had run out at lunchtime!! They had also run out of the chicken!!! Maybe chef should look more carefully at his stock. Fairly good range of drinks available at the bar. Prices for food and drink seemed fair.
Will say that it would have been very nice to have actually met the landlord/owner on our visit.
We would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay again if in the area.
Good parking and outside areas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthfleetSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and I do personally recall seeing you all briefly on you way in and out of the inn on a couple of occasions. Likewise, I would have liked the opportunity for a chat.

I regret your first choice at dinner on Monday evening was unavailable. The issue is not one of stock control. We serve only freshly prepared food and the dish in question has a long preparation time. Higher tan expected sales over the preceding weekend led to unavailability on Monday evening and any further stock produced from meat delivered on the preceding Friday would not have met our freshness standards. Over production leads to waste which is unacceptable.

Please be assured that we have replaced all front-facing bedroom windows within the restrictions of our Grade II listing to minimise road noise and planned routine minor redecoration of rooms is being undertaken right now.

Thanks once again and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight with our dog whilst walking the South Downs Way from Winchester to Petersfield and we could not have hoped for a better stay: very warm welcome from staff, excellent food and beer and nice comfortable ensuite bedroom. On top of that, we could leave our overnight bag and our dog's cage on site while we completed our 2-day walk, making it very easy from a logistical point of view!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViveLesVoyages1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. They are much appreciated and will be passed on to staff. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We ate here on Mothering sunday. Food good apart from very fatty lamb from carvery but speed of service was dreadful and only choice of lamb or beef. We got our main course 1hour 40minutes after arrival then chivvied to free table for second sitting! Weren't offered champagne as advertised. Won't bother going there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We do read them, take them seriously and respond as and when appropriate. Mothers Day is a very busy lunch service for us and I regret that we didn't delight you. I do recall speaking to you personally after your meal and you expressed the view that service was a little slow to which I offered an explanation
A further explanation is sought and I would answer your comments thus:
1) your order which included a number of a la carte dishes in addition to carvery was taken at 12:48 for a 12:30 booking and delivered c.50 minutes later, not ideal by any means but understandable to a degree given the very busy service;
2) we always serve two choices of carvery meats and the joint in question was prime English leg of lamb which is the leanest cut available. Lamb by nature has a higher tissue fat content than other meats;
3) if the mothers in your party were not offered champagne on arrival or during the course of your meal, then I apologise. There is a full bottle waiting for you on a future visit and I do hope we can persuade you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a light lunch and beer with work colleagues. Good local beer and decent food. I first came here over 35 years ago and while it has changed in several ways it is still a special pub. Service was excellent with very friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PDH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We only stayed at the George and falcon for one night BUT would definitely stay again ,the room was very inviting and the staff were ALL very helpful,Food was yummy,and the gardens are vast as i said we will definitely be returning,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you! We look to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We plan a 7 mile walk starting here and checked it would be ok to park in their car park. No problem were asked to park at the back as they would be busy for lunch. Arrived back for some beers and a snack. The cheese, bacon and chicken Ciabatta's were perfect and had some of the best bacon we had tasted. Very friendly staff and although busy, plenty of space. In summer the garden overlooking the river is a great outlook. The decor is country chic and very pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CaptChaos179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have not been here for many years forgot how good it was we saw a deal on Deal monster and thought would give a go. So glad it is still lovely, log fire as we walked in lady behind bar so nice 4 of us sat down and than the food came out what can you say it was one of the best meals had in a long time and we do go out quite a bit. 1st class will have to make the trip more often and take more friends, 2 had pork 2 lamb could not fault anything. just want to say well done and see you soon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dajhill, Owner at George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Falcon

Address: Warnford Rd (A32), Warnford SO32 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warnford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warnford
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Falcon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 18th-century Coaching Inn and Restaurant in village of Warnford on the A32 in the Meon Valley, Hampshire. Five en-suite rooms all AA rated 4*, restaurant for up to 120 people, riverside garden, alfresco dining on the terrace, dogs welcome throughout, log fires during winter months, friendly and welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George & Falcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Falcon Warnford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing