We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great country pub”

The George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Warnford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and AA 4* inn set in the heart of the Meon Valley
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

Visited with our family( 4 others) our first outing after lockdown. Excellent system for isolation and safety. Very good meal. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank JohnCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankieGeorgeFalcon, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Hello,
Thank you for your kind review and comments. The George & Falcon team are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
The team at the George & Falcon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2020

This inn is in dire need of a major paint job in the rooms. Rotting window frames, paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling, showers not reliable. No fruit or cereal at breakfast, no toast, marmalad, butter etc offered. New owners, but they are charging as if everything was in good condition. Don't stay if you can't get at least 20% off the room price!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Old-Grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Hello and thank you for your review.

The business was taken over late June, and re-decoration has already been planned for the rooms.

We aren't doing continental at present, however we do have fruit, jams and marmalades, and toast is served with all breakfasts (apart from croissants) which always comes with butter. Had I known you had wanted jams I would have been more than happy to get you something from our selection! But sorry about this nonetheless, I will factor this into our breakfast SERVICE in the future.

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Really yummy Sunday roast carvery with a treat of three options for veggies like me. I had the apricot and goats cheese nut roast - absolutely gorgeous. Loads of different vegetables on offer too. Best roast in a long time. We sat outside on the decking and it was really lovely. Our first trip to the pub since Admiral took over from Marstons. We will definitely return. For sure the pub could do with a lick of paint outside but it still has a great atmosphere inside.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us, this is great to hear! With regard to the building, a full paint job is being planned after the recent change of management.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

We decided to try this pub as it’s under new management. It was really very quiet with little atmosphere. Pre Covid it would have been packed on a Sunday lunchtime. Service was good, we were seated and orders taken quickly. Then a looong wait of 45 minutes for our food to arrive. Pork belly delicious with a great veg selection. Burger also proclaimed good. Puds of cheesecake and crumble good too. Two soft drinks, bill came to £46. Good value as portions were generous. Although we enjoyed, we wouldn’t hurry back. The pub is definitely looking worse for wear and could do with a major refurb to relaunch it. I really hope that this pub survives as have been visiting it for decades but fear it is going to be an uphill struggle.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank juliaquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

HI Julia!

Thank you for your review. Really pleased enjoyed your meals and visit! Refurbishment is planned for the pub and we are all looking forward to a face lift, so hope you keep us in mind for future visits!

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

We arrived early evening and thoroughly enjoyed our food (steak, and prawn linguine) and drink (Ringwood and a cider). Also enjoyed very fun and friendly service from Frankie, who runs the show very competently

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewdQ2586VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Hi Andrew!

Thank you for leaving a review for us. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit here, always a pleasure to enjoy a good joke and chat with our custimers!

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George & Falcon also viewed

Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Droxford, Hampshire
 

Been to The George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.