We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

The George & Falcon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Warnford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant and AA 4* inn set in the heart of the Meon Valley
Reviewed 14 October 2020

I have visited this pub on a number of occasions since the lockdown was lifted and i can honestly say that this place is my guilty pleasure. The food is always excellent, totally recommend the soup of the day and half baguette, at very very reasonable prices. This is one place that i always feel i get my money’s worth with large portions of well cooked food. It is very obvious that the kitchen staff are proud of what they produce and the front of house service is excellent. Always welcomed with a smile and nothing is ever too much the bar staff would be a credit to any well established high end restaurant . This is one local country pub that i would, and have, recommend to my family and friends. Can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Mal_Travers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2020

What a fabulous discovery - we’ve just had a delicious Sunday lunch in this lovely village pub. Everything is fantastically well organised with well spaced tables, sanitizer, one way systems and table service, and the staff were incredibly friendly, cheerful and welcoming. There was a fabulous selection of delicious sounding vegetarian and vegan options on the menu which put us in the very unusual position of being spoilt for choice. In the end, we went for the Sunday lunch carvery and chose the nut roast with apricots and goats cheese and the mushroom wellington. Both came with our choice from a great selection of perfectly cooked vegetables and sides - all dished out for us (in very generous portions) by the very friendly staff. The honeycomb cheesecake was incredible and the whole meal was good value for money. Hopefully people will really flock to support the great effort the new management are putting in to make this such an enjoyable and safe place to eat, we’ll definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank FionaH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

Visited with our family( 4 others) our first outing after lockdown. Excellent system for isolation and safety. Very good meal. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank JohnCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankieGeorgeFalcon, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Hello,
Thank you for your kind review and comments. The George & Falcon team are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
The team at the George & Falcon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

This inn is in dire need of a major paint job in the rooms. Rotting window frames, paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling, showers not reliable. No fruit or cereal at breakfast, no toast, marmalad, butter etc offered. New owners, but they are charging as if everything was in good condition. Don't stay if you can't get at least 20% off the room price!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Old-Grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Hello and thank you for your review.

The business was taken over late June, and re-decoration has already been planned for the rooms.

We aren't doing continental at present, however we do have fruit, jams and marmalades, and toast is served with all breakfasts (apart from croissants) which always comes with butter. Had I known you had wanted jams I would have been more than happy to get you something from our selection! But sorry about this nonetheless, I will factor this into our breakfast SERVICE in the future.

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Really yummy Sunday roast carvery with a treat of three options for veggies like me. I had the apricot and goats cheese nut roast - absolutely gorgeous. Loads of different vegetables on offer too. Best roast in a long time. We sat outside on the decking and it was really lovely. Our first trip to the pub since Admiral took over from Marstons. We will definitely return. For sure the pub could do with a lick of paint outside but it still has a great atmosphere inside.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankieisabean1, General Manager at The George & Falcon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2020

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us, this is great to hear! With regard to the building, a full paint job is being planned after the recent change of management.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Frankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George & Falcon also viewed

Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Droxford, Hampshire
 

Been to The George & Falcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.