We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good value”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The room was lovely, and despite being over a pub, there was no noise at all. Comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and friendly, even though the manageress had been on duty all night! Good breakfast, despite others in the restaurant complaining that they had to toast their own bread! Clearly they haven't visited many hotels as this is commonplace. We will definitely stay again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear TeamZTour,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hearto you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here on business recently on a very cold night. Everything was really nice good room, good food, beer and wine. Very handy for my meeting the next day in Leicester. These type of establishments have much more character and welcoming staff than the big chain groups have. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiths05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear smiths05,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I booked for 1 day on a recent business trip and had a great room at the back of the hotel, great free wifi reception reached all the way, nice large bathroom and plenty of heating,
The pub did lovely food and beer and a nice breakfast.
Watch out you dont walk through the meeting room in the morning for breakfast though they get grumpy while doing their presentation

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Powerscape,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We got married at the Castle on 27/10/12 & had the most perfect day. The setting, staff and whole organisation is fantastic. We had one minor blip the evening before, but it was quickly put right & we couldn't have asked for a more helpful team. The food is exceptional & for the cost of our wedding package, it was far better than we expected. An absolutely amazing day, & the staff are a credit to the business. Louise & Andy.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite. The night before the wedding I had my 3 daughters in that room with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear LouiseCB

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to hear that your Wedding Day was a success and your comments have been passed over to the Management team so that they may share your kind comments with the team.

Many Thanks

Good Nights Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Always a good stay at The Castle. Stayed here more than 10 times and always a good experience. Good rooms, iron and ironing board in all rooms, good food, good bar, good access to the motorway and great staff. Highly recommended on all fronts. It does not have Sky Sports but a 5 minute walk around the corner and there is the sports social club bar.

Room Tip: The rooms in the outhouse/anex bit at the back are good if you smoke as there is no long walk to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenoseSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear bluenoseSouthampton,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy visiting the Castle Hotel, we have passed your kind comments onto the team.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have stayed here a number of times whilst working in Braunstone. Even though it is effectively a pub with rooms, which as a lone female traveller I would normally avoid, the lovely friendly staff remember me and put themselves out to make me feel welcome and comfortable. There has always been a good atmosphere here whenever I have visited.

The food is great, parking is plentiful, TV is the full freeview menu and free wifi available

The castle itself is worth a trot round and the village is quite pretty with a good deli just down the road.

Good connections for M1 M69.

This is my first choice when staying in Leicester

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayagainDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear awayagainDevon

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Service is very friendly.
Bar and restaurant on location.
Rooms are just missing airconditing, while the windows can't be completly open. So a bit moisty and warm in summer.
The old Castle ruins are to be discovered while looking between the trees on the back of the garden.
Very funny and great place to stay.
Very quite, even though highways are not too far for an easy reach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Flying_Teddy

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
5.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#20 of 41 in Leicester
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
435 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,598 reviews
4.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#25 of 41 in Leicester
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant overlooking Kirby Muxloe Castle. Originally the castles farmhouse, the pub has retained much of its charm, with open fires in winter, candlelight dining in the evening and al fresco dining during the summer months. Stroll among the atmospheric ruins of the moated 15th century castle after a relaxed pub meal at The Castle Hotel We pride ourselves on classic pub food cooked with care. Whether it's hand-battered cod & chips, the gourmet burger, or the ever-popular ‘Brewer's Chicken’, now is the time to rediscover your old favourites. Make sure you try our traditional Sunday roasts with a huge a Yorkshire pudding and unlimited gravy. The team at the Castle Hotel are passionate about our food menu, so you can relax and enjoy our quality dishes and great service at this fantastic venue. It’s the perfect place to dine after a stroll around the stunning grounds of the castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing