We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding to Remember”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding to Remember”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We got married at the hotel on 12.12.12 and the whole experience was excellent. Great staff, good food and a relaxed atmosphere. Would highly recommend this hotel for an event, over night stay or meal. Everyone who attended loved it and the wedding package was great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear lol883,

Firstly may we say many congratulations on your big day, we are so pleased to hear how the team were able to make your day so special, your kind words have been passed to our manager so he may share them with her staff.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    84
    45
    32
    18
See reviews for
72
92
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Room was clean and comfortable although the approach up the stairs and along the landing was very dated and the first impression was oh dear! However once in the room I was satisfied. The bed although a bit hard was ok, the pillows were rather uncomfortable though and where I normally like two pillows I ended up taking one away during the night, as they didnt 'give' much. The fan in the bathroom was turbo powered and very loud; not a place to enjoy a relaxing bath with your eardrums being blasted, however the fan went off as soon as the lights did. I ate in the restaurant and was more than satisfied with the quality of the meal and the service. I could not fault the staff from check in to check out, they were very friendly and helpful. I only stayed the one night on a business trip and would recommend this hotel if you are wanting a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel with a personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrkent2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear LR-Kent,

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments to the management of the Castle Hotel who would like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The room was lovely, and despite being over a pub, there was no noise at all. Comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and friendly, even though the manageress had been on duty all night! Good breakfast, despite others in the restaurant complaining that they had to toast their own bread! Clearly they haven't visited many hotels as this is commonplace. We will definitely stay again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear TeamZTour,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hearto you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here on business recently on a very cold night. Everything was really nice good room, good food, beer and wine. Very handy for my meeting the next day in Leicester. These type of establishments have much more character and welcoming staff than the big chain groups have. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear smiths05,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I booked for 1 day on a recent business trip and had a great room at the back of the hotel, great free wifi reception reached all the way, nice large bathroom and plenty of heating,
The pub did lovely food and beer and a nice breakfast.
Watch out you dont walk through the meeting room in the morning for breakfast though they get grumpy while doing their presentation

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Powerscape,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We got married at the Castle on 27/10/12 & had the most perfect day. The setting, staff and whole organisation is fantastic. We had one minor blip the evening before, but it was quickly put right & we couldn't have asked for a more helpful team. The food is exceptional & for the cost of our wedding package, it was far better than we expected. An absolutely amazing day, & the staff are a credit to the business. Louise & Andy.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite. The night before the wedding I had my 3 daughters in that room with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear LouiseCB

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to hear that your Wedding Day was a success and your comments have been passed over to the Management team so that they may share your kind comments with the team.

Many Thanks

Good Nights Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Always a good stay at The Castle. Stayed here more than 10 times and always a good experience. Good rooms, iron and ironing board in all rooms, good food, good bar, good access to the motorway and great staff. Highly recommended on all fronts. It does not have Sky Sports but a 5 minute walk around the corner and there is the sports social club bar.

Room Tip: The rooms in the outhouse/anex bit at the back are good if you smoke as there is no long walk to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenoseSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear bluenoseSouthampton,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy visiting the Castle Hotel, we have passed your kind comments onto the team.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
4.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
3.8 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#18 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing