We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully self-contained for the business traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderfully self-contained for the business traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years on business and keep coming back to and is ideal for the business traveler who desires a completely self-contained solution for the occasional short stay. Situated just outside Leicester and only five minutes off the M1, this is ideal for an overnight stay in pleasant semi-rural location. The "Castle" itself (to the rear of the hotel) makes a fine talking point in itself.

The staff are always warm, welcoming and friendly. The bar is usually stocked with a good selection of real ales (usually at least three or four) and the menu is reasonably priced with a good variety of standard dishes (and usually a few specials).

The rooms could be viewed as a little dated; however the bedding is immaculate and comfortable.

I keep coming back. That says it all really.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    84
    43
    32
    16
See reviews for
69
91
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

The food at the castle is very poor it is served luke warm as if warmed up in microwave it feels to me like they are cost cutting.The meat was fatty i had a mixed grill big mistake !The gammon was really small and all fat the chicken was stone cold the steak was fatty i wouldnt mind but it was a saturday tea time and only two couples in there so it was not like they were rushed however the staff seemed pleasant but overall bad experience not to be repeated.Im not one to write reviews but this meal was so bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear simon c,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the food you have received at the Castle Hotel. I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked this on the internet through a booking company as we had a family member at the Glenfield Hospital and it stated it was close by ( yes as the crow flies).
I arrived to book in on my own and it looked like I was being taken into the kitchen, the reception desk was under the stairs. I was given key to room 58 it was situated next to the stairs and fire door and overlooked the car park, so all through the night people were coming and going up and down the stairs and banging the door and cars arriving and leaving, so didn't get much sleep. It was a twin room but the beds were like child size, I'm 5'8" and my feet hung over the bottom. The wardrobe was a cupboard over the stair well and full of bedding so i couldn't hang anything up and the whole room smelt like an old charity shop smell !!! Housekeeping came into our room at 9am to see if we had checked out. We were asked on checkout if everything had been ok, when i explained the above the Receptionist just said oh dear. We had time to hang around as hospital visiting wasn't till 2pm so we wandered the village in a snow storm then decided to go back to sit in the Castle Bar where we purchased a drink and sandwich. Wouldn't go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Lesleye11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received whilst staying at the Castle Hotel, we have asked our management team to investigate the issues you have highlighted and have sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We got married at the hotel on 12.12.12 and the whole experience was excellent. Great staff, good food and a relaxed atmosphere. Would highly recommend this hotel for an event, over night stay or meal. Everyone who attended loved it and the wedding package was great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear lol883,

Firstly may we say many congratulations on your big day, we are so pleased to hear how the team were able to make your day so special, your kind words have been passed to our manager so he may share them with her staff.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Room was clean and comfortable although the approach up the stairs and along the landing was very dated and the first impression was oh dear! However once in the room I was satisfied. The bed although a bit hard was ok, the pillows were rather uncomfortable though and where I normally like two pillows I ended up taking one away during the night, as they didnt 'give' much. The fan in the bathroom was turbo powered and very loud; not a place to enjoy a relaxing bath with your eardrums being blasted, however the fan went off as soon as the lights did. I ate in the restaurant and was more than satisfied with the quality of the meal and the service. I could not fault the staff from check in to check out, they were very friendly and helpful. I only stayed the one night on a business trip and would recommend this hotel if you are wanting a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel with a personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrkent2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear LR-Kent,

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments to the management of the Castle Hotel who would like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. The room was lovely, and despite being over a pub, there was no noise at all. Comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and friendly, even though the manageress had been on duty all night! Good breakfast, despite others in the restaurant complaining that they had to toast their own bread! Clearly they haven't visited many hotels as this is commonplace. We will definitely stay again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear TeamZTour,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hearto you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here on business recently on a very cold night. Everything was really nice good room, good food, beer and wine. Very handy for my meeting the next day in Leicester. These type of establishments have much more character and welcoming staff than the big chain groups have. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear smiths05,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
4.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
3.8 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#14 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing