We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and average”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Visited for a quick lunch time snack and ordered the anti pasta to share
Very slow service with hot items ordered by other diners arriving before ours
After complaint server,who seemed rushed off her feet,went to the kitchen to investigate and returned immediately with the meal suggesting it had been sitting waiting for delivery!
Average platter and would have been dissapointed with the value if had not been using a Tesco Voucher
Pub ambiance is OK if not a little cold,needed open fire lit
Over an hour for a quick lunch snack is poor!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear macca1191

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the service you received at the Chase Hotel. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

A Pub - Restaurant with rooms, all a little tired and in need of a revamp.
Good points, the evening meal was better than expected and the beers were well kept
Average points , the rooms , shower and general standard of decor was at best Average.
Bad points, Breakfast, the "Chef" ? had not turned up for work when we came down to breakfast ~ 07:30.
When the "Chef" ? finally arrived I order the full English and it arrived very very quickly. The only item which looked appetizing was the fried egg, bacon only cooked on one side, sausage anemic , mushrooms dried out, beans second hand........ I was asked how my breakfast was and mentioned that it was not too good, left it and checked out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My Husband and I have visited The Castle several times for a meal and have always enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. We've recently heard some bad reviews regarding the food but as we'd never experienced any problems, decided to return. We went for a lunchtime meal, mid week and the food and service was better than ever. The staff are always helpful and can't do enough for you. Our waitress Rikki was excellent and we won't hesitate to return. We would certainly recommend the venue as somewhere to go for lunch or an evening meal to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FiestyFruitBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Gone are the days when it had a top class chef and awards. It's seen a bit of a revamp in recent year's. It's ok for a meal not very cheap, possibly playing on the fact it's in Kirby muxloe which in fairness isn't that special. But it does have a castle well ruins. Good place for small weddings average overall

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nath-of-loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years on business and keep coming back to and is ideal for the business traveler who desires a completely self-contained solution for the occasional short stay. Situated just outside Leicester and only five minutes off the M1, this is ideal for an overnight stay in pleasant semi-rural location. The "Castle" itself (to the rear of the hotel) makes a fine talking point in itself.

The staff are always warm, welcoming and friendly. The bar is usually stocked with a good selection of real ales (usually at least three or four) and the menu is reasonably priced with a good variety of standard dishes (and usually a few specials).

The rooms could be viewed as a little dated; however the bedding is immaculate and comfortable.

I keep coming back. That says it all really.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The food at the castle is very poor it is served luke warm as if warmed up in microwave it feels to me like they are cost cutting.The meat was fatty i had a mixed grill big mistake !The gammon was really small and all fat the chicken was stone cold the steak was fatty i wouldnt mind but it was a saturday tea time and only two couples in there so it was not like they were rushed however the staff seemed pleasant but overall bad experience not to be repeated.Im not one to write reviews but this meal was so bad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear simon c,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the food you have received at the Castle Hotel. I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked this on the internet through a booking company as we had a family member at the Glenfield Hospital and it stated it was close by ( yes as the crow flies).
I arrived to book in on my own and it looked like I was being taken into the kitchen, the reception desk was under the stairs. I was given key to room 58 it was situated next to the stairs and fire door and overlooked the car park, so all through the night people were coming and going up and down the stairs and banging the door and cars arriving and leaving, so didn't get much sleep. It was a twin room but the beds were like child size, I'm 5'8" and my feet hung over the bottom. The wardrobe was a cupboard over the stair well and full of bedding so i couldn't hang anything up and the whole room smelt like an old charity shop smell !!! Housekeeping came into our room at 9am to see if we had checked out. We were asked on checkout if everything had been ok, when i explained the above the Receptionist just said oh dear. We had time to hang around as hospital visiting wasn't till 2pm so we wandered the village in a snow storm then decided to go back to sit in the Castle Bar where we purchased a drink and sandwich. Wouldn't go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Lesleye11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received whilst staying at the Castle Hotel, we have asked our management team to investigate the issues you have highlighted and have sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
915 reviews
5.1 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 40 in Leicester
947 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,567 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant overlooking Kirby Muxloe Castle. Originally the castles farmhouse, the pub has retained much of its charm, with open fires in winter, candlelight dining in the evening and al fresco dining during the summer months. Stroll among the atmospheric ruins of the moated 15th century castle after a relaxed pub meal at The Castle Hotel We pride ourselves on classic pub food cooked with care. Whether it's hand-battered cod & chips, the gourmet burger, or the ever-popular ‘Brewer's Chicken’, now is the time to rediscover your old favourites. Make sure you try our traditional Sunday roasts with a huge a Yorkshire pudding and unlimited gravy. The team at the Castle Hotel are passionate about our food menu, so you can relax and enjoy our quality dishes and great service at this fantastic venue. It’s the perfect place to dine after a stroll around the stunning grounds of the castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing