We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kirby Muxloe B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel on Saturday night for a birthday celebration. On arrival, we asked if it was possible to change our twin booking for a double. "No problem" said the receptionist. No reference to the fact that she moved us to a room on the first floor of the annex which was infested with guests of a wedding reception being held in the function room.

Room was small and quite basic. Bathroom clean-ish. A bit black around the shower corners!

Early evening was punctuated by families knocking on all doors (including ours) to discover who was staying in which rooms. What fun!

The meal was fine, usual Chef and Brewer standard. Service a little slow but we weren't in a hurry. Table booked for 7:30, asked for the bill at about 10:30.

Went to bed early, anticipating some sleep deprivation as the reception was in full swing. 1-ish came the families with kids. Not too bad. Later, we were awakened and kept awake by a room party on the ground floor with music, shouting and laughing accompanied by a strong smell of cigarette smoke. Tried to call reception to complain...no answer. Tried to call the offending room...didn't connect. It wasn't until I went down in person and asked for some quiet that they stopped...3:15am

Didn't bother with breakfast as we couldn't get out quick enough.

We have stayed at the Castle before and had a good experience. Tip of the day, check if there is anything on in the function room before booking.

Room Tip: Check if there is anything on in the function room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    84
    45
    32
    18
See reviews for
72
92
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was on a 4 day training course and booked a reasonably priced nearby hotel. After booking I read some not so good reviews!
On arrival I thought the placed looked very nice, & I walked through the pub which was very pleasant with a good atmosphere, and checked in. My room was clean and comfortable and had everything I required. After reading some reviews about the food, I toyed with the idea about driving for a takeaway! But decided to eat at the bar, the prices were very reasonable and the food ordered was not only presented beautifully but tasted the same.
I ate there every night and the same could be said, the burger I ate one night... I actually took a picture of, for £9.99 it seemed a shame to eat it!

The beds were extremely comfy.

All the staff were helpful and friendly and I had a lovely stay. I couldn't fault and if was in this area again I would try to get in here 1st.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keywally07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Visited The Castle with relatives to have an evening meal. First impressions count of course and it must be said there was a plus sign for everyone to see. Not only are the premises very comfortable but the staff are very friendly courteous and helpful.
The menu was extensive in terms of choice and more than reasonable in price. The ladies in our party chose to have a bottle of wine rather than individual drinks as this was by far the cheapest way. Our driver naturally chose a soft drink but as usual experienced nothing more than gas and an extortionate bill!
We chose different meals and these were served without any delay. Our waitress was extremely pleasant ensuring everything was made available to us. Nothing was too much trouble to her. All the meals were more than acceptable----BUT---could we eat them in comfort? No I'm afraid.
Although we were all seated in the central area of the Restaurant regrettably we constantly had to experience the nauseating smell of cigarette smoke coming from people who stood smoking in the doorway leading to the restaurant. Oh dear! What a big let down.
Management must surely know there has to be a designated area for "the smokers" That space is certainly not in the doorway of this very pleasant Hotel. What a pity the good work undertaken by the staff is overshadowed by those who force the consequences of their actions on others.

Room Tip: In case of doubt the sleep quality marking above is erroneous. The mark was recorded incorrectly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed one night for a recent celebration.In terms of location and outside appearance it could be so good. Pub area was nice with decent range of beers and wines. Receptionist/Manager was friendly and helpful. However room was quite cramped and fairly basic for price. Breakfast was extra and wouldnt recommend at over £7.00 - not poor but nothing special fro price and would expect option of cereals to go with cooked breakfast for that - not one or other. Overall other chains give better value for money. It was ok but wouldn't stay there again unless had to for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Rob B,

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Castle Hotel who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board.

We do hope to see you soon at a Castle Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband & I booked an overnight stay along with a wedding celebration and some friends. At mid-evening we tried to purchase some crisps/snacks from the bar, to be told that they did not have any & only wasabi peanuts available! They have a wedding in that night, you'd think that you would stock-up for business.

The only rooms available left at the time was the 'executive suite'. After an interesting walk up stairways, we found the room to be on top floor, looking out to the main road, room felt spacious, shower only suite felt un-comfortable & cold but generally clean.Apart from a larger room with a 'sleigh bed' I think it's an overcharge for this. However, come evening and time to sleep, the mattress was so uncomfortable, it had certainly been slept in by a few and you felt every lumps and bumps. I'm not sure when it was last renewed or ever, it certainly caused a neck & shoulder ache for a few days. There's nothing special that warrant an extra £30+! It's more like these rooms had the prices increased due to the wedding party!

Next morning, my husband went downstairs to request for some sachets of coffee and teas and was told that they had none. When we checked out, there were no customer service, question of the stay, only handed a sheet of paper to which stated the amount owed and took payment. The staff swiftly disappeared before you got out of the front door.

It seems that the establishment was under-staffed and they were trying their best to keep things ticking, but when you are charged £85.00 per night stay, you would expect some customer service.

They are charging a 5* hotel rate for a wishful glorified B&B without the breakfast! Sometimes, customer care can change an overall experience.

A very disappointing night stay for an otherwise lovely venue!

Room Tip: Don't expect anything special with an executive room. If you wish for a bath, make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirby Muxloe hotels

Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Keep it simple.
Location good.
Food poor
Service ok.
Rooms old dirty and noisy.
Facilities nil
Overall seen worse but I wouldn't stay
Such a shame as used to because great place where people would travel miles to stay and sample the food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nath-of-loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Nath-of-loxley, thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at the Castle Hotel part of the CHEF & BREWER chain, for I night. I upgraded my room to what they refer too as a “executive suite” nice large room, big TV, a bathroom with a shower and a large bath. Staff were friendly and helpful but (the restaurant was understaffed). No noise from the pub, I had a good nights sleep, the place looks very popular with the locals. The Pub has a large pleasant beer garden backing on to the Castle.

The food was good honest “Pub Grub” but not a great selection if you’re vegetarian on the menu.
It’s not the type of place I would usually book and stay at, but I would stay again. The location is great with close links to the motorway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeasePudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear MrPeasePudding,

Thank you for taking the time to provde your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the feedback regarding menu items and understaffing within the pub have been passed to our support teams so they are taken on board.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirby Muxloe
4.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
3.8 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#15 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Farm Main Street, Kirby Muxloe, Leicester LE9 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester > Kirby Muxloe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirby Muxloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kirby Muxloe, just off the M1 and five miles from Leicester, the Castle Hotel is a beautiful 17th century pub restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing