We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Debbie H

Fantastic hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023
We're here at the Hilton for our pre cruise trip. It is our anniversary today & I mentioned we'd like a quiet room for our special day. Our room is large, spotlessly clean & there was a chocolate surprise for us which was lovely & unexpected. The staff at the Beefy's bar & restaurant are absolutely amazing. So attentive & nothing was too much trouble. The meal was gorgeous. Hubby had the fillet steak medium rare & it was the best steak he'd ever had (& he's a steak monster!) We were too full for dessert, however the waitress presented us with a chocolate plate "for your anniversary" we hadn't mentioned a thing to them! Everything was perfection & we can't wait for breakfast! We will definitely return. They made us feel so special. Thank you Hilton at Ageas Bowl, Southampton, we are very impressed.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this review
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£58
  • Expedia.com
    £58
  • Algotels
    £50
  • Vio.com
    £58
0.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£94
  • Hilton
    £94
  • Vio.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £94
0.0 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£89
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Skyscanner.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £99
1.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free parking
Restaurant
£85
  • Agoda.com
    £85
2.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
£157
  • Agoda.com
    £141
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Parking and forecourt
£63
  • Agoda.com
    £63
2.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Exterior
£71
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Vio.com
    £57
  • Agoda.com
    £71
1.8 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
    £108
3.1 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £80
2.7 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
£80
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £70
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
View more hotels in West End
Reviews (1,943)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket ground the executive lounge pitch view eforea spa golf course cricket fans balcony overlooking cricket match lovely hotel walk in shower an upgrade lovely room car park cruise terminal beefy hampshire balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2023

We decided at get away just before Christmas and come back to this Hilton following a previous visit. The hotel was hosting a few corporate events in nearby venues, but was generally quiet. Being a long standing Diamond member, we had one of our rooms updated to the pitch view. However, we had issues with the second room, which necessitated moving both room to the other end of the hotel to maintain proximity. With low occupancy, I couldn't quiet understand that. However, the front desk staff handled the issue well, without fuss and with a smile.

The Exec lounge is closed permenantly which is a pity. However, we were given vochures which you could use to obtain a range of drinks, such as wine, beer, hot or cold soft drinks in the bar area.

The rooms and common areas are well kept.

The breakfast was excellent and the range included items I do not see in other Hiltons regularly. I have to say that the bar and resturant staff were extremely friendly. The hotel strictly enforces a policy of ID for alcholohic drinks, and refused to serve my 18 year old daughter an alcoholic beverage, even though I was ordering. Note for her to carry her Uni ID next time!

Great short break for coastal and New Forest walks. Will return in Spring.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2023

To conclude a fantastic year, we celebrated with a family gathering at the Hilton Ageas Bowl Southampton. Our accommodations were in a Queen Room, which was tidy and offered a pleasant view. However, there was an incident where my son became trapped in the bathroom due to a malfunctioning lock. It took the staff approximately 50 minutes to successfully get him out. While the staff were quite helpful during this ordeal, I am still awaiting a call from the Manager. I have stayed in many Hilton Hotels all over the world and do not expect this from a Hilton Hotel.

Room tip: Check the room locks.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chikere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I have tried emailing you regarding this situation however have not had a response. We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Lilly, Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

I’ve stayed here many times, and am locked in if I want to build points, as there are no other Hilton brand hotels in the area. The hotel does not want business travelers, and obviously don’t care if you are a Diamond member on Hilton program. They have permanently closed the executive lounge, and to compensate, they give two drink vouchers for two nights. The vouchers are not available for cocktails. They want their money from weddings, etc. As I said, it’s partly my fault, as I know what they are, just wish they weren’t so arrogant in their discussions.

Room tip: No Executive Lounge Arrogant front staff
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank scotp814
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologise that your stay was affected by various factors. Our commitment is to cater to the needs of all our guests, and we regret to hear that you feel this hasn't been the case. The decision to close the executive lounge was not made lightly, and we acknowledge the impact it may have had on your overall experience. We value your feedback and will use it to continually improve our services. If there's anything specific you'd like to discuss or if there are additional details you'd like to share, please feel free to reach out to our management team. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2023

This is the last time we will stay in a Hilton hotel, in this country at least.
The rooms are adequate but basic and damage to most of the furniture in the room, only plus is a good view of the cricket ground. Traffic noise very obvious especially on the balcony.
We chose to eat in the restaurant and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. The ambiance in the restaurant is akin to a roadside Cafe' and the staff are disinterested and have limited knowledge. I chose a steak as it is Beefy's restaurant and as soon as it arrived I could tell by the colour that it had been thawed out and nearly cooked in a microwave oven, very bland and disappointing. It was accompanied with portions of chips and mushrooms both far too large for a normal appetite. We also had wine but poor choice and quality and overpriced.
Next the breakfast, first of all the wife drinks tea and the only thing to drink it from was a large heavy mug, who drinks tea from such a thing ?
I love a coffee in the morning and was as let down as the wife as it tasted fowl.
The only bread that was available was sliced bread for toasting, there were no rolls etc. and it also seems that fresh fruit not available in Portsmouth.
If your planning on staying before a cruise think again as it's no better than a 2 star hotel.

Room tip: Book somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel and I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Lilly
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2023 via mobile

All the staff were so helpful and the beds /rooms/bathroom were extremely clean and comfortable too.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was exceptional, excellent quality and very good service.
Variety of options for breakfast were impressive , and all very nice too.

We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and a perfect place to enjoy a lovely , though quite challenging, golf course !

Room tip: Heavy rain can affect the golf course and mean it can be closed so perhaps check it out ahead of time and use the spa instead!
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AnneBaron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2023

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and thank you for your feedback regarding the room. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews