We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£86
Hilton
£86
Algotels
£85
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cooler King
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom

Good hotel if you are driving

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jan 2024via mobile


A good hotel, typical Hilton standard, but compromised by location unless you are driving (close to the motorway) or a cricket fan.

Staff great, hotel is modern and on good repair.
I had a room overlooking the cricket ground, which is a lovely change to the usual hotels I stay in, in city centres.

Room was a good size, well laid out bathroom with good water pressure.
The room was freezing, heating had been off whilst it was not occupied, which I agree with for the environment but I had to sit in my coat until I retired for the night.
The air-conditioning/ heater, was quiet most of the time but was woken up during the night with some odd water type noises - happening every 30minutes or so. Struggled to sleep after that.

Location is compromised if you are no in a car - a good way outside of the city - costing £30 one way in a taxi from the central train station.
Little to do once you are at the hotel.
But the restaurant and bar is a good size and pleasant place to spend time in.
Dinner was of good quality - 1 pint premium larger, send cheapest starter and main, with service charge: just a little under £30.

Gym well equipped with well maintained apparatus.

Breakfast was the usually hot and cold selection but with two appreciated additions: smoked salmon and fresh pot of tea brought to the table (most hotels are self service now).

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive remarks regarding our staff, modern facilities, and the unique experience of overlooking the cricket ground.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the room temperature and the disturbance from the air-conditioning/heater. Your feedback is valuable, and we will ensure to address these issues promptly to enhance the overall guest experience.

We are however pleased to hear that you found our restaurant and bar to be a pleasant place to spend time, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the well-equipped gym and the special additions to our breakfast selection.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilly
Guest Relations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£64
  • Priceline
    £64
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £64
0.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£86
  • Hilton
    £86
  • Algotels
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £86
0.0 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
£94
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £94
1.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£94
Fully refundable
    1.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Booking.com
    £78
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      £67
    2.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Premier Inn bedroom
    PremierInn.com
    £41
    • Algotels
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    2.5 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Double bedroom
    Booking.com
    £63
    • Agoda.com
      £63
    2.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Exterior
    Booking.com
    £63
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
      £63
    • Vio.com
      £60
    • Expedia.com
      £63
    1.8 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £120
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      £98
    • Vio.com
    3.1 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £80
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
      £80
    • Expedia.com
      £80
    • Agoda.com
      £80
    2.7 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
    Free Wifi
    View more hotels in West End
    Reviews (1,939)
    Filter reviews
    1,940 results
    Traveller rating
    1,020
    493
    207
    120
    100
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,020
    493
    207
    120
    100
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews cricket ground the executive lounge pitch view eforea spa golf course cricket fans balcony overlooking cricket match lovely hotel walk in shower an upgrade lovely room car park cruise terminal beefy hampshire balconies
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 1,940 reviews
    Reviewed 3 January 2024

    A very good modern hotel, with great views from some rooms and the hotel bar over the Aegeas Bowl cricket ground. My only gripe was that I had to call reception twice to remove dirty plates from the corridor near our room which had been deposited there by somebody who had ordered room service. Staff eventually took them away. Excellent & comprehensive breakfast choices with friendly professional staff.

    Room tip: Rooms with view over cricket pitch and stadium are more expensive. Disappointed with quality of evening meal but breakfasts were excellent.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank daisysnicks
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and thank you for your feedback regarding the corridor. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 December 2023

    We're here at the Hilton for our pre cruise trip. It is our anniversary today & I mentioned we'd like a quiet room for our special day. Our room is large, spotlessly clean & there was a chocolate surprise for us which was lovely & unexpected. The staff at the Beefy's bar & restaurant are absolutely amazing. So attentive & nothing was too much trouble. The meal was gorgeous. Hubby had the fillet steak medium rare & it was the best steak he'd ever had (& he's a steak monster!) We were too full for dessert, however the waitress presented us with a chocolate plate "for your anniversary" we hadn't mentioned a thing to them! Everything was perfection & we can't wait for breakfast! We will definitely return. They made us feel so special. Thank you Hilton at Ageas Bowl, Southampton, we are very impressed.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Debbie H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 December 2023

    We decided at get away just before Christmas and come back to this Hilton following a previous visit. The hotel was hosting a few corporate events in nearby venues, but was generally quiet. Being a long standing Diamond member, we had one of our rooms updated to the pitch view. However, we had issues with the second room, which necessitated moving both room to the other end of the hotel to maintain proximity. With low occupancy, I couldn't quiet understand that. However, the front desk staff handled the issue well, without fuss and with a smile.

    The Exec lounge is closed permenantly which is a pity. However, we were given vochures which you could use to obtain a range of drinks, such as wine, beer, hot or cold soft drinks in the bar area.

    The rooms and common areas are well kept.

    The breakfast was excellent and the range included items I do not see in other Hiltons regularly. I have to say that the bar and resturant staff were extremely friendly. The hotel strictly enforces a policy of ID for alcholohic drinks, and refused to serve my 18 year old daughter an alcoholic beverage, even though I was ordering. Note for her to carry her Uni ID next time!

    Great short break for coastal and New Forest walks. Will return in Spring.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Eesha P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 December 2023

    To conclude a fantastic year, we celebrated with a family gathering at the Hilton Ageas Bowl Southampton. Our accommodations were in a Queen Room, which was tidy and offered a pleasant view. However, there was an incident where my son became trapped in the bathroom due to a malfunctioning lock. It took the staff approximately 50 minutes to successfully get him out. While the staff were quite helpful during this ordeal, I am still awaiting a call from the Manager. I have stayed in many Hilton Hotels all over the world and do not expect this from a Hilton Hotel.

    Room tip: Check the room locks.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Chikere
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I have tried emailing you regarding this situation however have not had a response. We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Lilly, Guest Relations Manager.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

    I’ve stayed here many times, and am locked in if I want to build points, as there are no other Hilton brand hotels in the area. The hotel does not want business travelers, and obviously don’t care if you are a Diamond member on Hilton program. They have permanently closed the executive lounge, and to compensate, they give two drink vouchers for two nights. The vouchers are not available for cocktails. They want their money from weddings, etc. As I said, it’s partly my fault, as I know what they are, just wish they weren’t so arrogant in their discussions.

    Room tip: No Executive Lounge Arrogant front staff
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank scotp814
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

    Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologise that your stay was affected by various factors. Our commitment is to cater to the needs of all our guests, and we regret to hear that you feel this hasn't been the case. The decision to close the executive lounge was not made lightly, and we acknowledge the impact it may have had on your overall experience. We value your feedback and will use it to continually improve our services. If there's anything specific you'd like to discuss or if there are additional details you'd like to share, please feel free to reach out to our management team. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Lucia

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews