We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kteener
Portishead, United Kingdom

Southampton Hilton - lovely room and staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2024via mobile
Loved this Hilton. Such a wonderful location. I’m not really into cricket but the rooms with balconies make it worth it and really fun . We were in quite a big group. The evening food wasn’t great but nothing to complain about. Room was great and staff were lovely.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this review
Responded 2 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Lilly
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£58
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.0 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
2.7 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £33
  • Travelodge
3.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.1 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.9 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.6 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in West End
Reviews (1,943)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket ground the executive lounge pitch view eforea spa golf course cricket fans balcony overlooking cricket match lovely hotel walk in shower an upgrade lovely room car park cruise terminal beefy hampshire balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

Having stayed at the Hilton on many occasions, we decided to revisit.
Unfortunately we did experience an issue with the heating to the room, however Sophie Tavender was exceptional in rectifying the issue and she went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we appreciate your kind comments about Sophie.
Kind regards,
The team at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile



A good hotel, typical Hilton standard, but compromised by location unless you are driving (close to the motorway) or a cricket fan.

Staff great, hotel is modern and on good repair.
I had a room overlooking the cricket ground, which is a lovely change to the usual hotels I stay in, in city centres.

Room was a good size, well laid out bathroom with good water pressure.
The room was freezing, heating had been off whilst it was not occupied, which I agree with for the environment but I had to sit in my coat until I retired for the night.
The air-conditioning/ heater, was quiet most of the time but was woken up during the night with some odd water type noises - happening every 30minutes or so. Struggled to sleep after that.

Location is compromised if you are no in a car - a good way outside of the city - costing £30 one way in a taxi from the central train station.
Little to do once you are at the hotel.
But the restaurant and bar is a good size and pleasant place to spend time in.
Dinner was of good quality - 1 pint premium larger, send cheapest starter and main, with service charge: just a little under £30.

Gym well equipped with well maintained apparatus.

Breakfast was the usually hot and cold selection but with two appreciated additions: smoked salmon and fresh pot of tea brought to the table (most hotels are self service now).

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 190yanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive remarks regarding our staff, modern facilities, and the unique experience of overlooking the cricket ground.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the room temperature and the disturbance from the air-conditioning/heater. Your feedback is valuable, and we will ensure to address these issues promptly to enhance the overall guest experience.

We are however pleased to hear that you found our restaurant and bar to be a pleasant place to spend time, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the well-equipped gym and the special additions to our breakfast selection.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilly
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

A very good modern hotel, with great views from some rooms and the hotel bar over the Aegeas Bowl cricket ground. My only gripe was that I had to call reception twice to remove dirty plates from the corridor near our room which had been deposited there by somebody who had ordered room service. Staff eventually took them away. Excellent & comprehensive breakfast choices with friendly professional staff.

Room tip: Rooms with view over cricket pitch and stadium are more expensive. Disappointed with quality of evening meal but breakfasts were excellent.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daisysnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and thank you for your feedback regarding the corridor. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

We're here at the Hilton for our pre cruise trip. It is our anniversary today & I mentioned we'd like a quiet room for our special day. Our room is large, spotlessly clean & there was a chocolate surprise for us which was lovely & unexpected. The staff at the Beefy's bar & restaurant are absolutely amazing. So attentive & nothing was too much trouble. The meal was gorgeous. Hubby had the fillet steak medium rare & it was the best steak he'd ever had (& he's a steak monster!) We were too full for dessert, however the waitress presented us with a chocolate plate "for your anniversary" we hadn't mentioned a thing to them! Everything was perfection & we can't wait for breakfast! We will definitely return. They made us feel so special. Thank you Hilton at Ageas Bowl, Southampton, we are very impressed.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023

We decided at get away just before Christmas and come back to this Hilton following a previous visit. The hotel was hosting a few corporate events in nearby venues, but was generally quiet. Being a long standing Diamond member, we had one of our rooms updated to the pitch view. However, we had issues with the second room, which necessitated moving both room to the other end of the hotel to maintain proximity. With low occupancy, I couldn't quiet understand that. However, the front desk staff handled the issue well, without fuss and with a smile.

The Exec lounge is closed permenantly which is a pity. However, we were given vochures which you could use to obtain a range of drinks, such as wine, beer, hot or cold soft drinks in the bar area.

The rooms and common areas are well kept.

The breakfast was excellent and the range included items I do not see in other Hiltons regularly. I have to say that the bar and resturant staff were extremely friendly. The hotel strictly enforces a policy of ID for alcholohic drinks, and refused to serve my 18 year old daughter an alcoholic beverage, even though I was ordering. Note for her to carry her Uni ID next time!

Great short break for coastal and New Forest walks. Will return in Spring.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2024

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Lilly Guest Relations Manager Hilton at The Ageas Bowl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews