We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David S

Presidential suite - Would not stay again

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
On arrival the hotel looked good and reception staff were extremely polite. I had requested early check in but this was not available, not a problem at all.

We went to the bar for a drink and came down at 15:20 and the room was not ready still. The reception lady spoke to the cleaners who said the room was ready.

On arrival into the room, we were greated by a room that had not been cleaned. There was debris all.over the carpet, coffee marks down the side of kitchen cupboards, pubic hair on the toilet seat, orange product marks around the bath, coffee marks over the dining room chairs, hair and dirt stains from spilled drinks in the fridge and black marks on the bedding sheets. The balcony on this premium room also had weeds growing out of the tiles which again is just poor maintenance

Reception offered to have a cleaner attend which they did. The cleaner however walked straight into the room without knocking. The items were pointed out to the cleaner but only some of these were sorted out.

The fridge in the room was also not working for the majority of the stay, with myself having to contact reception three times to request a simply bucket with ice to cool drinks.

Normally a bit of dirt isn't an issue but the whole room had not been cleaned. The price of this room was £397 per night and is supposed to be a flagship room but in reality, I would have had a better cleanliness and quality in a budget hotel such as a Premier Inn or travelodge.

Reception did reduce the cost by 25% but I feel if I am paying for a £300 room, it should be clean as a minimum standard
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl , Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon David,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at the hotel. I am so sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay and for not meeting your expectations, especially in regards to the cleanliness of your room.

The condition in which you found your room upon your arrival is far below our usual standards, and I do apologise that this negatively impacted your stay. I will begin an investigation into each of the points raised and will reach out to yourself directly with my findings.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us.

Best regards,

Maisie
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £58
  • Algotels
    £50
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£94
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Hilton
    £94
  • Hotels.com
    £94
0.0 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£89
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £99
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free parking
Restaurant
£85
  • Agoda.com
    £85
2.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
£157
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £141
2.4 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Parking and forecourt
£63
  • Agoda.com
    £63
2.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Exterior
£68
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Hotels.com
    £64
1.8 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £80
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £80
2.7 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
£80
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £70
2.3 miles from Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
View more hotels in West End
Reviews (1,943)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,022
494
207
120
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket ground the executive lounge pitch view eforea spa golf course cricket fans balcony overlooking cricket match lovely hotel walk in shower an upgrade lovely room car park cruise terminal beefy hampshire balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

Great hotel. Booked a break for the family for 2 days at Paultons Park with an overnight at the Hilton. We had fabulous rooms with balconies overlooking the Ageus bowl. We nearly didn’t get a table for dinner as we only tried to book the restaurant the week before and it was full. However the restaurant manager was very accommodating and we took an early slot. The breakfast was delicious with so many choices and lightly cooked, not ‘frizzled’ as so often is the case in big hotels. Would definitely recommend.

Room tip: Ask for room with a balcony overlooking the Ageus bowl.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sunshine24802643263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl , Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Lucia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Very good stay before & after cruise.. Beefys nice food as usual.
Used the Spa Facilities which are great👍
only criticism I have is in the ladies toilets on the level of Beefys is one of the taps is constantly churning out water on & off hot water which is a TOTAL WASTE of money & not good for the environment at all this needs sorting immediately . it is scandalous to be wasting this amount of water!!! This will be wasting a lot of money & maybe rooms and price of food could be cheaper if money not been spent on a wasted water bill..

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzymooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl , Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Suzymooster,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found Beefys to your liking. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the issue with the tap in the ladies' toilets. We take environmental sustainability seriously and will address this matter promptly to ensure such waste is minimized. Your input helps us improve, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay!
Kind regards,
Lucia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024 via mobile

Great location, public areas and outside kept well. Such a shame about the filthy room!
I checked in and the staff were really helpful and friendly, the bar staff and breakfast staff were also great. However, my room was absolutely filthy. Every surface was dusty, the drinking glasses were used & dirty, the toilet was stained and the shower areas hadn’t been cleaned.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl , Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Good afternoon Leigh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review following your recent stay at our hotel.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the substandard cleaning service you experienced, which falls below the high standards expected at a Hilton Hotel. I have personally located the room you occupied and conducted a thorough audit. As a result, the room has been temporarily closed to guests while our maintenance and housekeeping teams perform a comprehensive deep clean.

Regrettably, I am unable to retrieve any specific details regarding the incident from the Duty Manager during your stay. Our front desk team should have offered you the option to relocate to a different room, and I apologise if this was not communicated to you.

I genuinely appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention, as it provides us with an opportunity to reassess and improve our service standards. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Maisie
Rooms Divison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Attended a 2 day conference at the Hotel and was very impressed with the service and the location connected to the Hampshire Cricket Ground. Everyone was friendly and professional.
Enjoyed a great meal in their Beefy's restaurant and a spa treatment during my stay. I would definitely return to a weekend visit

Room tip: It is about 15 minutes from the centre and cruise terminals. But connected to Hampshire Cricket Ground
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlyn1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl , Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic rating about your recent experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team members delivered exceptional service and hospitality. We would love to have you stay with us again when you are next in the area!
Kind regards,
Lucia
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

We had two nights at the Hilton for a friends wedding at the stay of the month. Arriving on the Friday we were able to check in early which was lovely, enabling us to settle in and find somewhere to watch the horse racing (it was Cheltenham gold cup day). Unfortunately none of the areas in the hotel were showing it but the gold club next door popped it on for us!
We had a room with a balcony facing the pitch, which as cricket fans was fabulous! I managed to snatch some chill time out on the balcony between showers.
Unfortunately we both had some door key issues (as did many of our friends) but that didn’t dampen our weekend.
Our room was really well equipped, light, airy and very comfortable.
The food throughout the weekend was superb; the buffet Friday nights the wedding breakfast on Saturday and breakfast on both days - really, really good!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Ageas Bowl, Other at Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Good morning Ali F,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews