We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
525
526
288
131
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
526
288
131
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundshealth clublovely hotelevening mealnew forestcountry housemain buildingcoffee machinesteam roompre cruise stayleisure centrespa facilitiesrelaxing breakwaiting staffan overnight stayafternoon teastayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

we stayed at the hotel for two nights on a very last moment booking- beautiful grounds and rooms were satisfactory. we did request a quiet room and were allocated 320 in the newer wing- being a warm night the window was open and we had to endure a constant low mechanical drone all night, However the rooms were immaculate,towels changed daily and very good location for visiting many areas.for the price we paid- comparable to a travel lodge-its was a pleasant stay in very stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleyriderbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Most travellers believe they can get a better price by staying in a budget brand property, but this is not entirely true (apart from the central London market). When staying with us our rates are competitive and you have the added bonus of staying in a beautiful Edwardian Manor House with full service bar, an excellent restaurant and a truly superb Health Club. You also get free use of our WIFI system during your stay.

We will be looking into the noise you mentioned, it maybe from a neighbouring building but we will get to the bottom of it.

Thanks you for your review

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding taking place in the hotel. We arrived very early on the Friday and were told that there was absolutely no way our rooms would be ready before the 2pm check in time. Which is fine, but just something you may wish to be aware of before arriving. (Check out time is 9:30 during the week also – so don’t be thinking you’ll get a lie in!) There was free wi-fi for guests, which was of a fast speed and very useful. Upon getting to our room – not a minute before 2pm – we were gutted (Room 240). Our room looked out onto two full skips and a pile of rotting divans. There was no air con in the room, so windows were open throughout the whole visit to keep cool, and given that we looked out on to their yard, it meant that from 6am onwards we were woken up with the noise of people coming in and out of the kitchens etc. We were also woken by the staff standing outside our window for their morning smoke break. Had the room had air con, I could have just shut the window. The rooms are, at best, outdated. Breakfast in the mornings was very good. Great selection and all fresh. Not to mention, quick service. The grounds in the hotel, which we availed off throughout the wedding celebrations, were magnificent and a real asset to the otherwise unpolished hotel. Check out was fast and the hotel is only 5 miles (10mins drive) from the hotel, but be warned, the taxi company the hotel use, will charge you £16 for that journey. All in all, I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again- the shabby rooms are not worth the price and it certainly doesn’t feel like a treat to stay over.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Insomnimum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay.

I am sorry that it was not all that you had hoped it would be, we try very hard to ensure all guests are happy and enjoy there time with us.

Due to the nature of our business, like most Hotels we need time to turn rooms around and clean them between guests and I am sorry this meant you had to wait until 2pm to enter your room. We guarantee check in by 2pm for every guest.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel and grounds are quite spectacular. The adjacent fitness centre and pool are great - amongst the best you'll find attached to a hotel...

Although the major things are reasonably good, the place is let down by an uninterested management team that seems to miss everything a guest notices. The bar that isn't staffed, the staff outside making a lot of noise while on their breaks, the terrace strewn with cigarette ends that is never cleaned, the broken umbrellas/parasols at the outside tables, the internet connection that is so slow as to be almost unusable.

Room Tip: Beware of big parties that they sometimes have there. They finish abut 11pm but are very disruptiove
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived early on the Saturday and we turned down the first two rooms offered to us. There was a large wedding taking place and we were told that the room allocated to us was in the main building and away from any noise from the wedding reception. However the room was poor and no outlook. They offered us a garden view room ground floor but again we declined as this was near to the wedding disco. The third room offered was on the second floor overlooking the grounds and was far better. Despite being told we could have problems with noise wwe are pleased to say we heard nothing. It was an excellent room and keeping with the Hotel ambience. The Reception staff were were very patient and helpful. We ate out in Romsey but had breakfast in the Hotel and this was very good. Overall a very good hotel and meets its 3 star rating, well located. We inspected the health facilities and these are very good and we would rate 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for an Upper floor Garden view Room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, I was pleased we were able to find the right room for you, but offer you my apologies that the first room we offered you was not to your liking.

The views of our grounds are fantastic and it's unfortunate that not all rooms have these views, but the majority do offer views of either the front or rear lawns.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I find this a good hotel to stay in. It is clean has reasonably modern rooms. The genral restaurant and bar areas are very nice. The staff are friendly and whenever I have eaten in the restaurant the food is good. The only problems I have ever had have been not being able to get a table in the restaurant even though I was a resident in the Hotel and also the service can be a little slow at times. Hot buffet breakfast with lots of choice and good quality food. The leisure facilities are very good. There is a great medium sized gym and a nice sized pool which are all well serviced and well kept. It is set in lovely private grounds and I recommend this hotel as a place to stay for either business or pleasure. Ideally placed for an overnight stay before a cruise or ferry crossing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, it sounds like you have become a regular guest of ours on the back of our facilities and customer care.

Our restaurant is extremely popular and I would always advise to book a table in advance, perhaps when making your booking direct with Sue our Reservationist at reservations@chilworth-manor.co.uk or upon check in at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With thanks

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews