We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nearly a great stay!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

A very nice hotel, good room, good food, friendly staff but let down slightly by attention to detail and some tired decor.
On arrival on Sunday our room had a good variety of teas, coffees, hot chocolate etc. but no milk. We asked reception for some and, after going back after half an hour to enquire again, were given a jug of fresh milk. On Monday, evening this jug of milk was still in our room. Tuesday it was still there, jellified, and our room had been only partly serviced so there were no towels. Complained again to reception and got another jug of milk (and towels). Wednesday morning we saw the duty manager and he said the housekeeping had run out of milk pots but no-one had told management! He was very apologetic and pointed to large boxes of milk pots which had just been delivered.
The breakfast buffet was very good, as was the evening dining (although I don't know how often the menu is changed and the salmon portion was small).
There is a good health club in the extensive and very pleasant grounds.
Access to the hotel and parking on Wednesday evening was a bit slow, delayed by a school prom event with kids arriving in outlandish vehicles.
We enjoyed our stay and with some attention to detail, a bit of redecoration and a little more training for the junior staff, this could be a truly excellent hotel.
It is convenient for Southampton, Portsmouth and Winchester (which has a good park & ride).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

I’m glad overall you had a good experience and thank you for commenting on how lovely our grounds are and that the Hotel is very nice along with good food and friendly staff.

We are well into a re decoration plan for the Hotel and we have now decorated over 70 bedrooms, aswell as adding new beds, pillows, duvets, LED TV’s and 26 bedrooms have had new chairs. A further order for 46 bedrooms worth of chairs has now been placed, so we are continuing to raise the standards.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    463
    267
    120
    49
See reviews for
189
652
40
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Family unfriendly. Surly, unhelpful reception staff. Charged 4 and 2 old for breakfast when they said it was free - so one rasher of bacon and one bowl of cereal cost £14! Scrambled eggs floating in water.Bar glassware dirty. Waited an hour for evening bar meal then individual orders for family group arrived over a period of half an hour with the chicken dish cold. Night manager was apologetic but that didn't stop one side order arriving after meal completed. Hotel staff used the outside of our room as a stopping point for cars to collect young people from a school Prom - loads of noise until midnight approached including one young person revving up his motor bike and looking the worse for alcohol. Hotel seemed obvious to problems or unable to help .

Worst experience ever in a hotel either in this country or abroad.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

It is disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any area’s where you feel we did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be circulated to the Department Managers and reviewed.

Just to clarify for any future guests, our child policy states that any children (under 12 years old) stay overnight free of charge when staying in the same bedroom as their parents. We do however charge for any meals/drinks taken during their stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Friendly and efficient booking in at reception, following our online booking.

Bed was too hard for our preference and we did not sleep well, although the room was very quiet.

Bathroom News - shower was slow and not very refreshing. The extractor fan was not working - resulting in steamed-up mirrors which are completely useless.

The lift was temperamental and the suddenly closing doors hit my wife's arm, causing her some discomfort and resulting in a bruise which she noticed a few days later.

Dining Room was pleasant, with friendly well-trained staff.

A varied selection from the menu, with a skilful and interesting combination of flavours and textures. Some locally sourced ingredients.

A very good evening meal in a pleasant atmosphere. But no excuse for a dirty wine glass (lipstick !)

A good 'buffet style' breakfast.

Free parking, but the nearest space was a considerable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountrysideBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

I see from your history of reviews you are well travelled and have offered 30 reviews on Trip Advisor to date. It’s good to get feedback from a guest from someone so well travelled.

I hope your wife’s sore arm is fully recovered now.

I found your points helpful and they will be used to when reviewing service standards, which we do on a regular basis.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked a room for a days conference on the ground floor. We had the key and were told to lock the room each time the room was empty-which we did. During lunch someone got into the room-either from the inside or through a slightly open window and stole 2 purses from bags which we believed were in a secured room. We found out that they had gone missing when the thief rang into the room to tell us he had picked up 2 abandoned purses in Winchester and if we could verify the PIN numbers on the cards in the purses he could prevent the accounts being emptied! Unfortunately one of us did so and he emptied the account himself. Management was sympathetic and helpful in terms of letting us contact the credit card companies and police but because of the location of the room there was no way a random passer by could have seen an open window and taken a chance that they might find something. The caller would have had to come through to the room via the hotel switchboard and no-one had any recollection of putting a call through to us at the time. Nice hotel, good service, food great, convenient location but with dubious security-watch your valuables.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for offering your review on your meeting. Your event was over twelve months ago and we have not had any similar incidents since.

As part of our Meeting Managers role in the morning he explains that we recommend to lock all windows, internal and external doors when leaving the room, this we feel is good housekeeping. All meeting rooms benefit from air conditioning so windows can remain locked throughout an event.

We work closely with the local authorities and they contact us when there has been any venue or hotel has been targeted locally. Our MD is the long standing Chair of the Hoteliers Association so co-ordinates cascading information around the 32 member properties.

Our security practices are as good as any other Hotel local to us and we continue to our up most to always protect our guests and their belongings.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have stayed at Chilworth Manor twice on our cruises from Southampton as we have a 200 mile drive,we have not been disappointed a wonderful way to start a cruise ,room was excellent overlooking the garden,the stay and taxi service worked so well and made the cruise even more a pleasure,Good value for money when you consider the cost the cruise company charges for parking, will be using again next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lang46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is our second visit to Chilworth Manor. We were visiting Peppa Pig World with our 3 year old daughter. The hotel is great and the staff made our little girl feel right at home. We will definitely be back again for next year's visit to PPW!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights commencing on Saturday 2nd June. We had booked originaly for the park and cruise offer that included dinner bed and breakfast, but when we realised it was the jubilee weekend holiday we booked two extra nights on a bed and breakfast. We certainly enjoyed our stay, the room was extremley comfortable, very comfy bed ( I have arthritis in my neck so usually do not sleep too well)the breakfast was excellent there had been a function the previous night so brakfast was extremley busy, but this was dealt with in an efficient friendly manner and we were seated after a short wait ( why do people compain when they can see how busy it is), the food was plentiful, hit and very tasty it certainly set us up for our days of sightseeing. the night before the cruise we had dinner in the restaurant and it was superb, the food quality and presentation excellent the waiters were attentive but without being intrusive.
There was even complimentary tea and coffe whilst awaiting the taxi to take us to the docks.We ordered the taxi for 11.30am and we were in our cabin on board ship by 12.30, excellent service all round. We were so impressed that we have booked for our next cruise in November, so I would highly recommend thiservice

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

It’s very motivating for the team to see such positive feedback. It’s great to read you took the opportunity to celebrate this historic Jubilee with us, there’s so much to do in this great City and surrounding areas.

Our task now is to ensure you have just as many superlatives after your return visit in November.

We look forward to welcoming you back later this year.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,812 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing