We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The drive up to the hotel is quite impressive ,set in large grounds with mature trees etc.
I have stayed here twice this year ,once with my daughter who was visiting Southampton University and once with my wife on a stay and park deal (we were going on a 3 day cruise)

The reception staff were very freindly and helpful ,I liked the firm mattresses and the rooms were clean and well equiped ,the decor is typical Best Western and no better or worse than most of their hotels.I never managed to use the swimming pool of gym which is in a building on the hotels grounds but it looked nice.

My only negative comment would be about the breakfasts which was unimpressive ,the only reason we had breakfast was because it was included in the stay and park deal

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for returning so many times this year.

It’s pleasing to read your positive comments regarding our grounds, good beds and pleasant staff.

Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast, you didn’t mention specifics but we regularly review all aspects of our food offering and I will add your comment to the stock of feedback we have.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Had a truly relaxing visit to Chilworth this week. Beautiful drive up the long entrance to be met by very friendly staff. Gorgeous hot frothy coffee and I'd totally switched off!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

What a lovely review, I'm am thrilled to know we hit the spot for you and you enjoy your time with us.

Our coffee is supplied by Mozzo who are a local company, they have a coffee shop in Bedford Place near the City Centre, if your local you should take a moment to try it out.

Thank you for your review

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

A very nice hotel, good room, good food, friendly staff but let down slightly by attention to detail and some tired decor.
On arrival on Sunday our room had a good variety of teas, coffees, hot chocolate etc. but no milk. We asked reception for some and, after going back after half an hour to enquire again, were given a jug of fresh milk. On Monday, evening this jug of milk was still in our room. Tuesday it was still there, jellified, and our room had been only partly serviced so there were no towels. Complained again to reception and got another jug of milk (and towels). Wednesday morning we saw the duty manager and he said the housekeeping had run out of milk pots but no-one had told management! He was very apologetic and pointed to large boxes of milk pots which had just been delivered.
The breakfast buffet was very good, as was the evening dining (although I don't know how often the menu is changed and the salmon portion was small).
There is a good health club in the extensive and very pleasant grounds.
Access to the hotel and parking on Wednesday evening was a bit slow, delayed by a school prom event with kids arriving in outlandish vehicles.
We enjoyed our stay and with some attention to detail, a bit of redecoration and a little more training for the junior staff, this could be a truly excellent hotel.
It is convenient for Southampton, Portsmouth and Winchester (which has a good park & ride).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

I’m glad overall you had a good experience and thank you for commenting on how lovely our grounds are and that the Hotel is very nice along with good food and friendly staff.

We are well into a re decoration plan for the Hotel and we have now decorated over 70 bedrooms, aswell as adding new beds, pillows, duvets, LED TV’s and 26 bedrooms have had new chairs. A further order for 46 bedrooms worth of chairs has now been placed, so we are continuing to raise the standards.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Family unfriendly. Surly, unhelpful reception staff. Charged 4 and 2 old for breakfast when they said it was free - so one rasher of bacon and one bowl of cereal cost £14! Scrambled eggs floating in water.Bar glassware dirty. Waited an hour for evening bar meal then individual orders for family group arrived over a period of half an hour with the chicken dish cold. Night manager was apologetic but that didn't stop one side order arriving after meal completed. Hotel staff used the outside of our room as a stopping point for cars to collect young people from a school Prom - loads of noise until midnight approached including one young person revving up his motor bike and looking the worse for alcohol. Hotel seemed obvious to problems or unable to help .

Worst experience ever in a hotel either in this country or abroad.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

It is disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any area’s where you feel we did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be circulated to the Department Managers and reviewed.

Just to clarify for any future guests, our child policy states that any children (under 12 years old) stay overnight free of charge when staying in the same bedroom as their parents. We do however charge for any meals/drinks taken during their stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Friendly and efficient booking in at reception, following our online booking.

Bed was too hard for our preference and we did not sleep well, although the room was very quiet.

Bathroom News - shower was slow and not very refreshing. The extractor fan was not working - resulting in steamed-up mirrors which are completely useless.

The lift was temperamental and the suddenly closing doors hit my wife's arm, causing her some discomfort and resulting in a bruise which she noticed a few days later.

Dining Room was pleasant, with friendly well-trained staff.

A varied selection from the menu, with a skilful and interesting combination of flavours and textures. Some locally sourced ingredients.

A very good evening meal in a pleasant atmosphere. But no excuse for a dirty wine glass (lipstick !)

A good 'buffet style' breakfast.

Free parking, but the nearest space was a considerable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountrysideBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

I see from your history of reviews you are well travelled and have offered 30 reviews on Trip Advisor to date. It’s good to get feedback from a guest from someone so well travelled.

I hope your wife’s sore arm is fully recovered now.

I found your points helpful and they will be used to when reviewing service standards, which we do on a regular basis.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked a room for a days conference on the ground floor. We had the key and were told to lock the room each time the room was empty-which we did. During lunch someone got into the room-either from the inside or through a slightly open window and stole 2 purses from bags which we believed were in a secured room. We found out that they had gone missing when the thief rang into the room to tell us he had picked up 2 abandoned purses in Winchester and if we could verify the PIN numbers on the cards in the purses he could prevent the accounts being emptied! Unfortunately one of us did so and he emptied the account himself. Management was sympathetic and helpful in terms of letting us contact the credit card companies and police but because of the location of the room there was no way a random passer by could have seen an open window and taken a chance that they might find something. The caller would have had to come through to the room via the hotel switchboard and no-one had any recollection of putting a call through to us at the time. Nice hotel, good service, food great, convenient location but with dubious security-watch your valuables.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for offering your review on your meeting. Your event was over twelve months ago and we have not had any similar incidents since.

As part of our Meeting Managers role in the morning he explains that we recommend to lock all windows, internal and external doors when leaving the room, this we feel is good housekeeping. All meeting rooms benefit from air conditioning so windows can remain locked throughout an event.

We work closely with the local authorities and they contact us when there has been any venue or hotel has been targeted locally. Our MD is the long standing Chair of the Hoteliers Association so co-ordinates cascading information around the 32 member properties.

Our security practices are as good as any other Hotel local to us and we continue to our up most to always protect our guests and their belongings.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have stayed at Chilworth Manor twice on our cruises from Southampton as we have a 200 mile drive,we have not been disappointed a wonderful way to start a cruise ,room was excellent overlooking the garden,the stay and taxi service worked so well and made the cruise even more a pleasure,Good value for money when you consider the cost the cruise company charges for parking, will be using again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lang46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Eastleigh Central
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing