We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fab weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Let me start by saying, a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel/manor.
As a party of 18 (hen night) we have had an amazing time, firstly the rooms are spacious and very clean, had all necessities required, and could not have asked for more. Secondly we were smoothly checked in (was expecting a little confusion due to the number of us) all staff were lovely, in fact I would say they absolutely excelled themselves, they couldn’t do enough for us, nothing was a problem for these people, they were happy to help with any requests. They provided us with our own room to party in (I am guessing more for the other guests benefit) keeping us in one area, we were also allowed to bring our own music in and were supplied with extra glassed for our many bottles of champagne. They were so accommodating. I have to say, we made one hell of a mess (trails of pink feathers around the hotel) no one complained. We did get complaints about our noise, but to be fair it was twelve thirty, so we happily quietened things down
The food was lovely, large portions and again, when the fusspots of our group make extra requests, it was not a problem. The meals were delicious, including breakfast, very organised, and again they even attempted to accommodate our dining together, at all sittings.
The breakfast was amazing, a large choice of everything you could possible thing of, and again the service was second to none, late arrivals did have to queue to get into the dining area, but hey, they should have got up , as we were able to walk straight in.
The Spa area was lovely, definitely recommend you try this out, again friendly, helpful staff, and we were also able to buy lunch there, which was made at the manor and delivered to us, we didn’t have to leave the premises to go eat, felt very relaxed afterwards, again they had thought of everything (even spinners for your costumes) shower gel provided and bags for your costumes.
With this review, I also have to point out that there were also two weddings going on at the manor, so I would like to say well done to all the staff and thank you for making our stay so great. We will be back.
Best wishes to all
Sharon xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

Sounds like you all had a great time, I'm delighted we were able to deliver the service and quality a large group were looking for.

Hopefully it won't be too long until we have the opportunity to cater for you again.

With thanks

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

kids had broken fold up beds that looked like they where about to callapse, hotel was dusty towels were dirty shower didnt work and had no hot water. rooms had no air conditioning so kids couldnt settle. my bed was lumpy and uncomfortable when i told the staff they just said no they are new beds.breakfast was horrible all left out so drinks where warm my four year old found a hair in his fruit there was lipstick and coffee stains on the cutlery.and menu was rubbish and over priced so went down the road for a meal the next day in a pub and food and service was 100 times better. when we complained staff didnt care they were just rude and didnt want to no due to this we booked out a night early. would never recommend this hotel or go back again it ruined our holiday and never deserves 3star rating.

Room Tip: dont stay here whatever room terrible night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you felt that you had a poor stay with us. It is the detail that can very often make the difference between a good and bad stay. We will certainly have to look into the comments you make, as we do not usually have such issues with our standards.

At the start of the year we updated our stock of portable beds, that we use for young children and over the past 18 months have replaced every bed and mattress in the Hotel with Hypnos beds, as you have not left your name or room number I am unable to check which room you stayed in.

We will continue to work hard to action comments our guests make.

Thank you once again for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The drive up to the hotel is quite impressive ,set in large grounds with mature trees etc.
I have stayed here twice this year ,once with my daughter who was visiting Southampton University and once with my wife on a stay and park deal (we were going on a 3 day cruise)

The reception staff were very freindly and helpful ,I liked the firm mattresses and the rooms were clean and well equiped ,the decor is typical Best Western and no better or worse than most of their hotels.I never managed to use the swimming pool of gym which is in a building on the hotels grounds but it looked nice.

My only negative comment would be about the breakfasts which was unimpressive ,the only reason we had breakfast was because it was included in the stay and park deal

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for returning so many times this year.

It’s pleasing to read your positive comments regarding our grounds, good beds and pleasant staff.

Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast, you didn’t mention specifics but we regularly review all aspects of our food offering and I will add your comment to the stock of feedback we have.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Had a truly relaxing visit to Chilworth this week. Beautiful drive up the long entrance to be met by very friendly staff. Gorgeous hot frothy coffee and I'd totally switched off!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

What a lovely review, I'm am thrilled to know we hit the spot for you and you enjoy your time with us.

Our coffee is supplied by Mozzo who are a local company, they have a coffee shop in Bedford Place near the City Centre, if your local you should take a moment to try it out.

Thank you for your review

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

A very nice hotel, good room, good food, friendly staff but let down slightly by attention to detail and some tired decor.
On arrival on Sunday our room had a good variety of teas, coffees, hot chocolate etc. but no milk. We asked reception for some and, after going back after half an hour to enquire again, were given a jug of fresh milk. On Monday, evening this jug of milk was still in our room. Tuesday it was still there, jellified, and our room had been only partly serviced so there were no towels. Complained again to reception and got another jug of milk (and towels). Wednesday morning we saw the duty manager and he said the housekeeping had run out of milk pots but no-one had told management! He was very apologetic and pointed to large boxes of milk pots which had just been delivered.
The breakfast buffet was very good, as was the evening dining (although I don't know how often the menu is changed and the salmon portion was small).
There is a good health club in the extensive and very pleasant grounds.
Access to the hotel and parking on Wednesday evening was a bit slow, delayed by a school prom event with kids arriving in outlandish vehicles.
We enjoyed our stay and with some attention to detail, a bit of redecoration and a little more training for the junior staff, this could be a truly excellent hotel.
It is convenient for Southampton, Portsmouth and Winchester (which has a good park & ride).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

I’m glad overall you had a good experience and thank you for commenting on how lovely our grounds are and that the Hotel is very nice along with good food and friendly staff.

We are well into a re decoration plan for the Hotel and we have now decorated over 70 bedrooms, aswell as adding new beds, pillows, duvets, LED TV’s and 26 bedrooms have had new chairs. A further order for 46 bedrooms worth of chairs has now been placed, so we are continuing to raise the standards.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Family unfriendly. Surly, unhelpful reception staff. Charged 4 and 2 old for breakfast when they said it was free - so one rasher of bacon and one bowl of cereal cost £14! Scrambled eggs floating in water.Bar glassware dirty. Waited an hour for evening bar meal then individual orders for family group arrived over a period of half an hour with the chicken dish cold. Night manager was apologetic but that didn't stop one side order arriving after meal completed. Hotel staff used the outside of our room as a stopping point for cars to collect young people from a school Prom - loads of noise until midnight approached including one young person revving up his motor bike and looking the worse for alcohol. Hotel seemed obvious to problems or unable to help .

Worst experience ever in a hotel either in this country or abroad.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your time at the Hotel; your comments are very much appreciated.

It is disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any area’s where you feel we did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be circulated to the Department Managers and reviewed.

Just to clarify for any future guests, our child policy states that any children (under 12 years old) stay overnight free of charge when staying in the same bedroom as their parents. We do however charge for any meals/drinks taken during their stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Friendly and efficient booking in at reception, following our online booking.

Bed was too hard for our preference and we did not sleep well, although the room was very quiet.

Bathroom News - shower was slow and not very refreshing. The extractor fan was not working - resulting in steamed-up mirrors which are completely useless.

The lift was temperamental and the suddenly closing doors hit my wife's arm, causing her some discomfort and resulting in a bruise which she noticed a few days later.

Dining Room was pleasant, with friendly well-trained staff.

A varied selection from the menu, with a skilful and interesting combination of flavours and textures. Some locally sourced ingredients.

A very good evening meal in a pleasant atmosphere. But no excuse for a dirty wine glass (lipstick !)

A good 'buffet style' breakfast.

Free parking, but the nearest space was a considerable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountrysideBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southamptonmanor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

I see from your history of reviews you are well travelled and have offered 30 reviews on Trip Advisor to date. It’s good to get feedback from a guest from someone so well travelled.

I hope your wife’s sore arm is fully recovered now.

I found your points helpful and they will be used to when reviewing service standards, which we do on a regular basis.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
516 reviews
3.8 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
1,024 reviews
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £54 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing