We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly great, excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mostly great, excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here on the nights of 11-12 November prior to a transatlantic crossing on the Queen Mary. The hotel is excellent value for money, the cuisine is very good and the staff are really first rate. That said, the rooms could do with a bit of "refreshing". Although acceptable, they are showing wear. But for a stay of a few nights or a weekend in the country, this hotel is hard to beat. The grounds are stunning and the rooms are quiet, unless of course the hotel is packed for a wedding reception (those are always unpredictable as to what the guests get up to).

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the reception rooms, in case there is a wedding party having a bash dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Northern 1941,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent pre cruise stay at the hotel.

I was delighted with your comments in respect of our cuisine and ‘first rate staff’.

We are currently going threw a decoration program of our bedrooms, hopefully in the new year we will see the continued investment into our bedrooms, which will allow us to develop the overall experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    436
    243
    112
    46
See reviews for
173
606
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

stayed here prior to cruise with friends. room and bathroom good size and clean, great views over the grounds. found all staff very friendly and polite. great choice at breakfast.comfortable bar area for a quite drink. would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turnaround S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Turnaround S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent pre cruise stay at the hotel.

I was really pleased to read your comments and glad you had a relaxed and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I used to have a lot of massage but work has been getting in the way lately. I've been suffering from headaches and my Dr suggested having a neck and back massage so I booked myself in the The Club at Chilworth Manor. I can honestly say that I've never had a better massage. Leanne was wonderful! I carry all my stress in my shoulders and they always hurt but she was really gentle and took time to work the knots out. I had a wonderful relaxing time and will be definitely booking a regular course

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear catwoman 40,

I was delighted to read Leanne in our comfort zone spa was able to help you; Leanne has been with us for sometime and due to her quality has built up a regular client base. She will be delighted to know of your high praise.

We hope to welcome you back to our spa very soon.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We chiose thios hotel for a one night stay before a cruise. We wanted something a bot better than our usual choice of HI Express. We also wanted an hotel with a decent restaurant.

This hotel is in an idyllic setting and has a spa (swimming pool etc) in a seperate building which is free to use for guests. (we didn't have time to avail ourselves of this facility).

We had pre-booked a table in the restaurant and were not disappointed. The quality of the service and food was as you would expect it to be for the price. (Our meal cost just over £60 for the two of us - but you get what you pay for in this restaurant) The food was excellent and the service was unrushed and poilite and attentive. Breakfast was served in the same room and offered a very wide choice of cooked items as well as danish pastries, cereals, rolls, toast, preserves fruit etc...

So why, you are probably asking have I only rated it a 3?

Well, for such an imposing building, a lovely lounge/bar area and restaurant I was expecting this to be echoed in the bedroom. Unfortunately this proved not to be the case. The room we had (which i assume is standard as we booked about a year in advance) was no larger and possibly smaller than those you find in budget hotels such as HI Express and Travel Lodge. The beds were very hard, almost no 'give at all, even under my weight (and I am larger than many). The most uninspiring aspect were the bed headboards - believe it or not they were neither attached to the wall nor to the beds!! Free standing and not very stable.AND THIS IS A 3 Star hotel!! AND the room cost £144 (b&b) Perhaps the AA should revisit and look in the roomm we had!

I hope there are better rooms than the one we had (perhaps we should have complained but they were busy with private parties - the hotel has loads of function rooms).

Would I stay again? Possibly, if I wanted a nice evening meal, but more comfort can be easily found elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Revnick,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

I was delighted with your comments relating to our cuisine and beautiful setting. I was obviously disappointed that there were issues with your bedroom. Following our exchange of emails I was able to investigate further and ensure the issues had been rectified.

I appreciate the time you have given to help us improve. I really hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Once again with thanks

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in October, reception staff were a little rude when we checked in.
Room was ok, nothing fantastic, was clean but wouldnt pay the price to stay again.
Breakfast had a good choice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisslou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry if you felt any of our front desk team was slightly rude, I am sure this was not there intention. We normally receive praise for the friendliness of our staff; I will bring this matter up with our Head Receptionist.

We certainly don’t strive to be ‘average’ and I am disappointed you felt we were, we will continue to work hard and make improvements to our service and facilities where we can. We always aim to deliver a great customer experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A beautiful building and grounds are at the end of a long drive full of character.

We were able to find a parking space although a wedding saw the car park full.

We were greeted by Emma on the reception who was very professional and gave us a lovely welcome. Her manner and level of helpfulness was excellent.

We were shown to our room although wedding guests stood around in the bar area and made it difficult for us to get through. Maybe this is an area that could be reviewed?

Our room was beautiful, with lovely views with a high standard of cleanliness. The bed was very comfortable with nice linen. The room was a comfortable temperature.

We used room service and the food was very tasted, well presented and arrived in good time. The menu was excellent with a good selection of dishes available.

The bar has a relaxed atmosphere with the decor of that of a country house. It is nice to see the character kept rather than making it something it is not.

During our stay every member of staff was very helpful.

The Manor is set in a good position in a lovely area of the country.

We did not use the spa.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metatarsals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Metatarsals,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 3-day break at the hotel.

I was delighted to learn you had a really enjoyable stay and in particular that Emma on our front desk has greeted you so warmly and got your stay with us off to a great start.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at Chilworth Manor with friends in late October. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Very reasonable prices.
Overall experience was excellent would not hesitate to return to Chilworth Manor

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear wendy h,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel, I was delighted to read that you wouldn’t hesitate in returning, that means allot to the team.

I was glad you found the rooms to be very clean and the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
9.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
Address: Chilworth Manor University Parkway, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing