We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Have stayed here on various occasions for business and leisure The gardens and conservation area are fantastic in the summer with lots to explore.
The hotel is Edwardian / Victorian in parts with some new build.
On the whole this is a good all round Hotel with very friendly staff. The swimming pool area is fantastic. However !! if you have children that love swimming expect tears, there is only a limited time they are allowed in as I found out with my 10 yr old daughter..
That said will visit again ..

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Mickey H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

Also thank you for choosing to stay with us on multiple occasions. Your comments were lovely and I am delighted that the team always look after you and you are able to enjoy both our extensive grounds and health club during your visits.

We look forward to continuing to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

10 of my Family & Friends, had a fantastic time at Chilworth Manor on the Saturday 21st December.
We started off with afternoon tea, followed by a visit to the leisure center & then a drinks reception, followed by a 5 course meal & entertainment for the evening.
I would just like to thank all the management & staff for making the day & evening a fantastic time, the service was excellent, as well as the evening meal & entertainment, also the breakfast in the morning.
Would fully recommend the hotel & will be definatly booking again for next year.
Kind Regards
Ian & Mandy Jeffs

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear ian j,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, I was delighted to learn that you and your party enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of all our great facilities.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent a weekend here to celebrate a birthday and anniversary, and in spite of doubts raised by other reviewers we were very comfortable, the room and public areas were all clean, comfy and inviting, and although it was extremely busy, the staff were all, without exception, kind, friendly and polite and made us feel very welcome.

The health spa was very clean and enticing, I did not use it on this occasion but would be glad to another time. However, the policy of timing for use by children staying at the hotel is bizarre and needs to be reviewed - this place sells itself as a family-friendly hotel but needs to ensure that children can use the pool at reasonable times also at weekends (under supervision, of course). This is my only serious reservation and the reason I cannot give Chilworth Manor Hotel a higher rating.

There are extensive and very attractive grounds which are well maintained. The location, while very handy for those travelling by car, is less so for public transport, and we were rather stung on the taxi fare from the nearest railway station. This is also something the hotel might consider, as I'm sure some taxi firms would be happy to oblige with a better deal. As I am disabled there was no alternative for me, but a member of our party did use the local bus which passes near the hotel entrance gates (but there is a long drive... a good 10 minute walk).

The motorway from Southampton passes very close to the hotel, and although convenient for motorists, this does mean a fair amount of noise, especially in the gardens. The double glazing in our room, which was spacious, meant we were not disturbed, though...

There are some wonderful open countryside views from the upper floors, and the interior of the hotel has a splendid galleried hall - very attractive altogether.

There was no wedding on the weekend we stayed, but the bar remained very busy (and quite noisy) until about 1am, I felt this was far too late, as it is in the open hall and the sound echoes up and along corridors to the bedrooms... It was not too bad a problem for me, but could be for a light sleeper who needs an early night, and I feel the bar should not be open quite so late, or else could perhaps be moved...

All in all I would recommend this hotel, and also the food which we found to be of an excellent standard, including the bar snacks, although these were quite pricey. There is a pub up the road which we did not try, which might be an alternative.

NB: With all the space in the grounds, old barns, stables, etc I felt that there was a good case for making some self-catering rooms or cottages, which I think would be a popular option for visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geecee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear greecee07,

Many thanks for sharing your views of your recent stay with us; I am delighted you chose to stay with us to celebrate both a birthday and anniversary.

I appreciate your comments on how we could improve our appeal to the family market, our health club has a private membership of almost 800 and we review our child policy twice a year. Your comments will be added to our next review planned in for January 2014.

The barns and stables you refer to unfortunately are not owned by ourselves, the idea of holiday lets is tempting but for the immediate future we will be focussing on continuing to improve the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chilworth Manor Hotel for 5 nights in December 2013. Love the old world charm of the building and grounds. The room was perfect and the bed one of the most comfortable that we have ever slept in. The range of food in the restaurant was limited, but we understood that it was due to the pre-Christmas preparations.
The internet in our room was good for the first 2 nights and then unavailable for the remaining three nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
During our stay there where two Christmas parties. We did not hear a thing from our room, which was overlooking the back of the hotel.
Most definitely we would to stay here again and indeed are planning another visit in the New Year.

Room Tip: We would recommend room 228 which was well away form any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Peter&Alison,

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent 5-night break at the hotel, I was really pleased to read you had such a comfortable stay and although we offer a limited menu during your stay the quality was such that you enjoyed it.

I must apologise for any issues you encountered with our WIFI system, we upgraded our system earlier in 2013 so we have a dedicated fibre optic cable supplier the hotel. If you ever encounter an issue again while staying with us or at any hotel please do make the reception team aware, as issues like this can often be resolved quickly.

I hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

There is a long ornamental drive to the main building, which retains a lot of character and there is a spacious reception and gallery. We were given a room at the rear overlooking the garden, which was quiet, clean and comfortable if a little small. The breakfast was a typical self service, but there were cooked items available to order. The staff were quite friendly and the location is good for the town or motorway (north). The hotel is set in a large landscaped parkland and were were greeted by a herd of deer when we returned one evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expectal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Expectal0t,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.

I was delighted to learn that you had a peaceful and comfortable stay at the hotel, thank you also for commenting on the friendliness of our team.

I hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just had Boxing Day lunch food , fine dining , yummie , brilliant staff wonderful , value for money fantastic . Mum and dads 60 th wedding anniversary . Great success thank you so much . Will look forward to return very shortly x

Stayed: December 2013
Thank FriendsSouthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear FriendsSouthamptonUK,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your experience in our restaurant on Boxing Day.

Your comments were wonderful to read and I know the team will appreciate your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very nice Hotel Nice setting Food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and service very good. The hotel is easy location for visiting both Eastleigh or Southampton. I would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Stephen D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor.

It was pleasing to read your very positive comments regarding our cuisine and the setting of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Eastleigh Central
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing