We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stay was superb from start to finish. Great check in, amazing room, superb food and impeccable service. The restaurant Manager was extremely helpful during our stay going out of his way to make our experience as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have only been here one night, we absolutely love everything about this hotel.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, the room lovely and clean, bed is very comfortable. the hotel is a credit to the Best Western chain. we had dinner in the restaurant last night and the food was lovely, and we are booked in there tonight. We have still got 4 nights left, and honestly I would recommend a stay here. We will certainly be coming back again.
I don't how this hotel can get such bad reviews.
I will put a more detailed review when we unfortunately check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable (if nondescript) room and a good dinner. Breakfast however initially looked great but on closer inspection had lost the will to live several hours before we sat down. Zoe on reception deserves a special mention. We wanted some chocolate and there was no public vending machine so Zoe went into the staff room to use the one there. Excellent customer service. My main disappointment was that we choose Best Western hotels because they are not a global chain but are usually independent and quirky. This place however was clearly aimed at the conference market. You know the sort of place, a country house as the heart of the hotel with acres of identical bedrooms and meeting rooms hidden behind. If you don't mind this then the hotel is perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Andy P,

Many thanks for your recent review and for mentioning Zoe, I have made her aware and she was delighted with your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was excited about going to Chilworth Manor as I used to live near it and had always heard how lovely and posh it was, well how wrong could I be!
My sister and I checked into our twin room on sunday pm and were instantly disapointed, the room was very dated - old, faded wish washy floral portraits, curtains were old and split at the top, there was a draft coming from the windows and you could see wood pieces were split around the window were the draft was obviously coming from.

THE BEDS WERE AWFUL!!! and what really ruined the night, they were hard and you constantly felt like you were on a ship, if you turned to the side it was almost like the matress was going to cave in or felt really wobbly almost like the springs had gone. My sister and I did not sleep and couldn't wait for the morning to come so we could leave, My sister had to use her coat as an extra pillow as they were rubbish too.
We later met some family in the bar/lounge area and 2 people wanted hot chocolate and another wanted green tea, the young waiter firstly told us they didn't have green tea, he then came back with the other drinks excluding the 2 hot chocolates. We saw the waiter walking about everywhere and thought he had forgotten about the 2 drinks then finally after waiting about 10 minutes he brought the hot chocolates over. My mother and I tasted the hot chocolate and both thought it tasted of frothed up milk, no hot chocolate in it. I questioned the waiter and said can we have another one that actually had chocolate in it - BAD MISTAKE, the waiter then went walking about for 10 mins and finally came back and said "im sorry we dont have any more hot chocolate sachets left, I just used the last one" ! So that was why our hot chocolates didn't taste like they should. That was really low for a hotel - no hot chocolate or green tea! We weren't impressed and the lad took it off our bill.
Dinner time arrives and my sister and I ordered food which was actually ok but the waiter was so eager we paid upfront, we said we might have more drinks or a pudding and said we would pay after if that was ok. The waiter then came back with our bill and asked us how we were going to pay, again we told him and said we would pay after we had finished eating. We finally finshed our dinner and he brought the bill which we asked for and guess what asked us how we were going to pay, we said cash and he just stood there watching us take out all our money. It seems the 2 different waiters that served us were very pushy and eager to get the money from us straight away but not so keen to serve promptly or what we wanted and no smiles to be seen anywhere.
Overall the service was terrible, there needs to be some training and management about and the hotel in general needs a complete refurb or at least modernised in some way and you need to ditch those horrible beds, take some advice from premier inn!
Sorry to say the hotel was a complete let down and did not live up to the expectation I had always heard or used to drive by so many times.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank fay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The reception staff were unhelpful at best. They did not take the time to note the reservation details upon arrival and consequently processed us on arrival for 1 night rather than 3 nights on the confirmed reservation. When I tried to discuss the confirmed reservation with them so that they could retrieve the details they were not interested.I had to go through all the reservation information again as they would not look at their computer system. Furthermore, once this was all booked in, I found the next morning after breakfast we were locked out of the room as they had checked us out after the 1 sleep. To try to get this rectified, I had to deal with yet another member of reception staff who was not interested and would not actually attend to sorting the room keys out. All she did (repeatedly) was ask if we had any nice plans for the day. Eventually another reception staff member came over and sorted the room keys but she too was not interested in checking the booking to confirm the reservation was for 1 night not 3. I had to insist. The room itself was average. It was on the other side of the hotel which wasn't a problem but to get to the rooms you had to pass through a very long, musty, unkempt passageway where all the rooms were used for storage. It does not leave a good first impression. For a hotel that has a lovely welcoming seating/bar area and a nicely presented restaurant, the continuity to keep the rooms and passageways along the same lines is not evident. Decor beyond the common areas is very tired and needs updating. I would not recommend this for a stay and will not be staying here again. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rh4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,902 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
8.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,147 reviews
14.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing