We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should have been a fantastic 80th birthday celebration but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We cHeckled in at what we were told was a preferential rate which I have found out was over 100% more expensive than a Saturday night at Easter, which I find most bizarre! We were having Buck's Fizz and canapés prior to our meal, this was ok however I noticed that the food had been brought out and put on warmers 10 minutes before we were due to sit down, I should have realised at that point it was not going to be that great but I sat down looking forward to dinner. The food was, at best, average with steak so tough that most people took it back due to not being able to cut it let alone chew a piece in under five minutes, it was an 80th after all, looking after the majorities teeth should have been, at least, considered. Most didn't finish their steak and swapped it for the minted lamb and pancetta which could have been any kind of meat as the pancetta smokiness overwhelmed any other flavour, however it did not require much chewing, so maybe a little better. The vegetables were vegetables, the vegetarian option was vegetables. So we moved on to the sweet with a 2 inch diameter lemon tart with more pastry than filling and a chocolate trellis with passion fruit mousse which was best to have missed, nothing was offered to the people with egg allergy and in actual fact the staff couldn't tell us what had egg in and what didn't. All followed up by coffee and mints. Mints were perfect but the coffee was so week and we got one cup! Unfortunately breakfast was not much better. They tried to seat us away from all of the family on a table for two when we knew there were at least two others joining us. They ran out of teaspoons, mugs, pastries, tomato ketchup and fresh bread. Otherwise the cooked breakfast was good. This is not what I expect from a best western and has tainted my view somewhat. Look at my other trip posts and you will see I rarely even find fault, let alone complain.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear 52Sam52,

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I was very sorry to hear that the food served at the event was not to your liking.

We have had very good feedback from the event organiser whose birthday it was, she did mention that the beef was slightly tough for her event but during her Sunday Lunch the following day the beef was excellent.

We have offered our apologies for the beef. She was very happy overall and was kind enough to come back to the hotel to leave a generous gratuity for the staff that served at her event and the brigade in the kitchen.

Thank you once again for your comments.


Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night B&B stay. Room was much to be expected - clean and adequate. However, we had a very poor customer experience at breakfast both mornings. The first day we arrived at the restaurant around 9.40am, and it was fairly quiet. Unfortunately, there was no bread to make toast (it had to be requested), the hot food had clearly been standing under the hot lights for too long & had become "dry". Virtually all the pastries had gone. Day 2 we arrived at a similar time & the restaurant was heaving. Everything was caos! Asked waitress for mugs, but none arrived for several minutes with no member of staff providing an update. Brown sauce had gone, had to wait for fried eggs, no pastries left, no red berries left in fruit section. Only positive part was that waitresses were extremely quick at removing plates - to the extent that another guest had come to the drink machine to get a quick cup of tea, only to return to her table & find her part eaten breakfast gone. If it hadn't been for this diabolical experience, I would have scored higher, but sorry Great Western - YOU NEED TO REVIEW YOUR BREAKFAST SERVICE!!!

Room Tip: Just buy Room Only - you can get a far better breakfast at Weatherspoons!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2014

only stayed here for one night after arriving back to the UK via Southampton airport.

A little bit of a drive to the hotel from the airport but well worth it, the hotel is a lovely hall style hotel, tucked away down a long driveway. Very quiet, very clean, fantastic helpful staff. The room we had was on the ground floor no noise whatsoever just fantastic. Bed very comfy all the normal facilities you would expect in a hotel. The bar managed to rustle up some food for us even though we arrived at 9pm at night, great bar area and I will definitely be looking to go back to the hotel as alas I had no time to try out the gym, pool or spa. Highly recommend.

We did have breakfast in the morning a good selection on the hot buffet, plenty of juices, teas/coffees, continental etc and the staff were very attentive, I requested a poached egg which came out just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stay was superb from start to finish. Great check in, amazing room, superb food and impeccable service. The restaurant Manager was extremely helpful during our stay going out of his way to make our experience as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have only been here one night, we absolutely love everything about this hotel.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, the room lovely and clean, bed is very comfortable. the hotel is a credit to the Best Western chain. we had dinner in the restaurant last night and the food was lovely, and we are booked in there tonight. We have still got 4 nights left, and honestly I would recommend a stay here. We will certainly be coming back again.
I don't how this hotel can get such bad reviews.
I will put a more detailed review when we unfortunately check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,905 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,476 reviews
8.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing