We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
525
526
288
131
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
526
288
131
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundshealth clublovely hotelevening mealnew forestcountry housemain buildingcoffee machinesteam roompre cruise stayleisure centrespa facilitiesrelaxing breakwaiting staffan overnight stayafternoon teastayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a lovely setting, it has a wonderful lounge/bar. We had a Friendly greeting when arrived and asked if we needed help with our luggage. The room was clean and bright, some of the wall paper had small tears or marks on it but hardly noticeable. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, iron ironing board Trouser press, TV phone and WiFi the bed was comfortable, the heating was adjustable, the windows opened. The bathroom had both shower and bath all in all a very comfortable stay we a have been before and we will come again.

The price was competitive for a good 3 star hotel which it was. Breakfast was extra £12.50 per person, but good value for money.

The staff were friendly and helpfully but lack that little extra customer care you would get in a 4 star hotel. Example when we down to breakfast we were 5 mins early instead of inviting us to sit and wait we were told to come back in 5 mins, when we did go in to breakfast the staff stood around looking board, when they could of shown people to a table instead of I just pointing a table out. Little things like this can make all the difference.

It was a quiet and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANPConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear ANPConsultant,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I note your comments regarding breakfast and I will mention it with Mohamed our Restaurant Manager. I imagine you were asked to wait whilst they were putting the finishing touches to the presentation of the buffet.

I hope you will return to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We visited the Spa on a travel Zoo deal and really enjoyed the experience. when we arrived our towels and gowns were waiting at a table with our health forms and lunch preference form for us to fill in. we were then taken on a tour of the spa. The changing rooms were clean and spacious with plenty of lockers (and the locals were lovely and friendly as well which isn't always the case at these health clubs!) The pool was clean with several seats and loungers round the edge. there was a nice jacuzzi and a steam and sauna room(cant comment on those as we didn't use them) The facial and massage were excellent as was the light lunch which was a large club sandwich, beautifully fresh and well presented. Hot and cold drinks were unlimited which is always good to see. i would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear popeadventure,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our spa facilities. Your lovely comments are most welcome and the team will enjoy reading them I'm sure.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is set in very attractive grounds which are well maintained.

On arrival we were dealt with in an efficient manner and were given detailed directions on how to find our room. We duly found it despite the strange room numbering system, why are rooms in the 200 series on floor one and those in the 300 series on floor two?

Our room was very disappointing, very small and scruffy. The carpet was very grubby. As we subsequently found, the bed was awful. Very hard and uncomfortable, one of the worst nights we have ever spent in an hotel. By comparison, Travelodge rooms are larger more comfortable and cleaner and at about half the price are certainly far better value.

We used the leisure centre which was very good. Clean and well looked after.

We had breakfast in the morning. The food was fine. This was let down by the attitude of the numerous surly members of the waiting staff. The self service beverage station had run out of Earl Grey tea bags ( quite why staff failed to see this is beyond me). I asked if the container could be replenished, this was grudgingly done. I was left waiting for several minutes with no idea whether or not my request was being dealt with. Eventually a non smiling member of staff thrust 3 tea bags into my hand without comment or apology. We then went through the same pantomime with sweeteners.

Some of the plates at the self servery had not been properly washed and still had food residues on them.

Whilst I was waiting I chatted to a mature lady who wanted her tea in a cup and saucer. She asked a member of staff if she might have one. She was given one but the attitude was very condescending.

All in all the breakfast experience coupled with the poor quality and expensive room mean that this hotel is definitely a no go for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear tim252,

Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay with us, and thank you for your positive comments relating to the exterior of the Manor and the quality of our health club.

I was sorry to hear the room was not to your liking, unfortunately from your profile name I have been unable to track back which room your were allocated.

With regards our room numbers, like most hotels we have started with the 100’s on the ground floor, 200’s on the first floor and 300’s on our top floor.

I would like to assure you that we have taken onboard your comments relating to breakfast service and we will continue to work hard to improve our service.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews