We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend getaway place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A lovelly hotel in wonderful ground. Nice and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast pricing is a bit steep. Just the kind of location we needed for a 30th wedding anniversary break. Not much to do in Souhampton but a good base to reach Portsmouth and them to go SW and visit Exbury and Lepe Country Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Ruth_B_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mark_Ruth_B_1963,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay and congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary, I’m am delighted you chose to mark this special occasion with a break at the hotel.

We hope you will consider returning to us again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is somewhat tired albeit in lovely grounds. I would only stay as part of a pre cruise parking package - there are much better Best Westerns - Kendal and Harrogate to name two.

Bedroom was clean but basic and faded. Room 107. The beds were like planks of wood - I like a firm mattress but this was ridiculous! Was much better when we stayed in August.

Breakfast was below par for Best Western - closer to Holiday Inn Express. Did not like look of menu so ate out - can highly recommend Jehangir about three miles away!

Reception was excellent and the lady at the desk could not have been nicer.

The other plus was the taxi service to and from port which was outstanding.

Paid £175 for twin room for B&B, taxis each way to port, and 10 days parking. Not too bad but will spread net a bit wider for next cruise and see what other options are available.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Satisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Satisco,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us on our pre cruise package, I was sorry to learn that we did not meet the 5 star standards of your first stay with us.

I have noted your comments and we will certainly be using them as part of our ongoing review process.

We hope you will consider returning to us again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were at a wedding last night at the Chilworth Manor. Great venue with all guests well looked after. Food was really good but I have to say all of the staff assigned to the event were superb starting with the Event Manager and running through to the waiting and bar staff. If you are looking at somewhere as a wedding venue this is a really good option so take a look.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RobSFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear RobSFC,

Thank you for your very kind feedback, I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time whilst at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent hotel. Great staff, facilities and service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Southampton. It is close enough to be easy to get in but far enough out to be very quiet. I will certainly book again when I next am in the area. It is a hotel I would be happy to recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 391Colinm,

Many thanks for your recent review; I am pleased you found our staff, facilities and service to be of an excellent standard.

Your recommendation is very appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

When I googled this hotel I loved the looks and amazing grounds and so I was looking forward to the stay.

My disappointment started right after the arrival.. The hotel decor is really, really old and very out of fashion.

There was several meetings going on and everybody seemed very busy so I decided to have a coffee and work a little.. It took over 5 minutes for somebody to appear at the bar. I finally got my coffee and wanted to work... The sofas and chair are very comfy but would benefit from some "freshen up"...

The rooms are exactly the same as the rest of this hotel - out of fashion, very old and not what we were expecting. It is very easy to get to the city centre and it takes just minutes but I think the hotel needs a major makeover....

Our room was good size though..

Overall, I would recommend this hotel in case you are coming for business and need functionality over fancy decor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Bgirl79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at the hotel.

The heart of the hotel is a traditional Edwardian Manor house and although we try to keep up to date with technology; such as an excellent free WIFI and very modern Health Club we do believe there has to be a balance. And given the age and history of the Manor the more modern ‘fancy’ décor you refer to may not be in keeping.

We refurbished the main hall in 2010 along with the restaurant and since then we have been decorating bedrooms and in recent months corridors. We will continue to strive towards higher standards and an improved customer experience.

We hope you will consider returning to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Wished I was staying for longer. The building and gardens are one of the most gorgeous I have stayed in. The staff were very helpful, bar food menu could have been a bit better ie: bar food style and not restaurant based. Room was a good size, clean, everything you need was provided. Breakfast in the morning was self service but very nice. I don't think the prices for a nights stay was reflected in the ambiance. They could have charged more.
Absolutely loved e place, just wished it was nearer to where I live. This is a hidden gem in the Best Western Crown.
Thank you for a lovely stay. :))))))

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank colandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear colandally,

Many thanks for your very positive review, I was delighted to read your comments and so pleased you had an enjoyable, relaxing stay and the team looked after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a wonderful weekend at this hotel the room was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the bathrooms had all we needed.The grounds were very pretty and great to walk in. The staff were very friendly and the restuarant was very nice, with lovely food. We also enjoyed the complimentary use of 'The Club' the gym facility associated with the hotel. The pool, steam room, sauna and the Jacuzzi made the trip even more special. Overall, very pleased to have chosen this hotel and will definitely be recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Maria T,

Thank you for your lovely positive review, I am so pleased you had a wonderful weekend with us.

Your comments regarding our lovely team and pretty grounds were really appreciated, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
516 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
3.8 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £54 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing