We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Southampton.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Before we arrived at Chilworth Manor, we had read one or two slightly negative reviews. DO NOT BELIEVE all these reviews. Chilworth Manor is a little gem, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we cannot fault anything. All the reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff make this hotel and do it proud. The food is of the highest standard and well presented. Our room was in the Coach House section overlooking the rear gardens. There is a lift to get to the second floor, but we choose to use the stairs. Everywhere was clean and spotless. There was a wedding reception each evening we stayed, by the next morning, the reception room was spotless, you would never have known there had been any entertainment at all. We didn't use the spa, as all the treatments had been booked up in advance (that will teach me to book earlier too!) The receptionist was very helpful too. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already told our circle of friends and will definitely return if we visit Southampton/Portsmouth area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 0915laney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear 0915laney,

Thank you so much for your excellent review, it was really rewarding to read how much you had enjoyed your stay.

Review sites are very important tools for future guests to research potential locations and establishments to visit and we welcome all reviews. There will always be negative comments as value for money, quality, service expectations are subjective and down to personal preference. After almost 600 reviews we are very proud of the feedback we receive.

We really hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay pre cruise. There was a wedding on and we were not disturbed in any way at all. We booked DBB for 30th May 2014 and the food, service and ambiance of the restaurant were all 5*, very well worth it. We will book the pre cruise package next time to include parking and taxis to and from the port, I could have saved us over £60 if I had known and not already booked the parking at the port. With the pre cruise package you get a late check out at midday too, but I would just like to thank Sue who arranged this for us anyway - great service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanofScotland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear FanofScotland23,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent pre cruise stay at the hotel, I was delighted with your feedback.

I am pleased you found the package such good value for money. I will certainly be passing on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager, your praise will be very well received I’m sure. In April this year we achieved an AA rosette for our cuisine.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hay great place for a wedding our friends were married their sunday 22 june 2014
Great venue, service top class, wonderful staff and beautiful hotel and grounds. will certainly being going at some point to spend a wonderful weekend at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would say all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear leon b,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in June of this year, I was absolutely delighted with your feedback.

I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you so well.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your third stay in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our second visit to Chilworth Manor last time was a couple of years ago. Not much has changed from what we saw in the grounds, there has been some refurbishment and decorating, which we would assume is a continual task in such a building.

We had room 245on the second floor which was well appointed with very efficient air conditioning. Everything in the room worked and it was a good size, the bed was comfortable. The only thing missing was a fridge which could have been useful, and a bath mat which as there where no hand rails in the bath.

On this occasion the reception staff where very friendly and helpful throughout our stay including at check out. They even helped take the bags to the room which was most welcome.

We where impressed that the restaurant menu was clearly marked with gluten free and vegetarian options. Although if staying more than 2-3 nights the choice would be repeated if on a gluten free diet. That being said with the removal or substitution of an item from other parts of the menu, most of the meals could be adapted to be gluten free. There are a lack of deserts choice that are gluten free. But overall the food is great as was the service and its nice to see a well marked gluten free menu.

Breakfast was just as good as ever everything was well stocked, even had gluten free toast. Although the person in charge was having a hard time chasing staff who needed to be told everything, they showed little enthusiasm with the exception of one young lad. There is clearly a need to train them or have a few more experienced staff at breakfast at weekends to make things run smoothly. That being said the fella in charge worked very hard and without him it would have fell apart. So a very well done to him.

Would we go back yes its in a nice location only an hour and a half from south London, with the New Forrest and the coast on the doorstep. And in our view it is still excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dennis W,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your second visit to the hotel; it was lovely to read you had such an enjoyable stay and that we continue to offer the high standard of service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your third stay in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hi, Yet more work away from home, however it was made better when i arrived at this hotel. I was firstly greeted by a lovely woodland drive upto the hotel, then an impressive front view of the building. The reception was welcoming and the inside of the building had a nice open feel, with a large bar. My room was nice apart from being on the small size, however you must remember it is a very old building. The bed was comfortable and i had a good quiet nights sleep (getting harder to find as some people forget that other people are staying there) (moaning over). I didn't eat here, but the menu looked good. I will be using this hotel again. Thank-you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: There is a spa available for you to use, however it does say that it gets busy, so its first come fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear simon r,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay and for acknowledging the quality offered by Best Western hotels in general.

I really enjoyed your review; it is rewarding to receive such praise for a seasoned traveller.

We hope you will consider a return to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Certainly an impressive building set in beautiful grounds and well positioned for motorway etc. Inside it was less impressive. Mediocre room with old furnishings and a bit of a tired feel. Breakfast was disappointing, lots of greasy food placed under heatlamps, not at all appetising.
I was a bit disappointed given the exterior

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Colin J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. The hotel setting and it’s beautiful grounds are unique to any hotel in Southampton, I’m pleased they were t your liking.

I was sorry to learn that you did not feel the interior lived up to your expectations.

We hope you will consider a return to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My daughter and son in law held their wedding reception at the Chilworth Manor 13/6/14. Tay and the staff we're wonderful , from the moment we arrived till the very end of the evening. They made the day go smoothly and could not enough.

A large number of guests stayed over night breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely recommend anyone to have either their wedding or reception here....I will return as a guest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Teresa B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel.

I was thrilled to read that your daughters wedding had been such a success and that all your guests had enjoyed their time with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,763 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
979 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing