We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had booked this hotel as it looked as if it would be quiet and peaceful, the manor house itself is quite impressive but most of the bedrooms seem to be in a different block which needs updating. We were given a room that overlooked the service area and also where a disco was held that evening, when we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay in the morning we said it had been very noisy, there was no apology we were just told it was prom week, the hotel wasn't busy and we felt they could have given us a room overlooking the garden which would have been quieter, also we wouldn't have booked if we had been told it would be noisy.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any functions and have a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sue W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay, please accept my sincere apologies for any noise disturbances you suffered during your stay.

The hotel lends itself well to Proms due to the gorgeous backdrop and our reputation for food. I’m sure if the front desk team told you we were full then I’m sure we were, this is an incredibly busy time of year for Southampton Hotels.

Once again with apologies

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Terriex
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

By any standards, the approach to the hotel is impressive. Unfortunately the hotel does not match this.

Creaky floorboards in the room (apologies to anyone reading this who was in the room below) thin interior walls: draw space confined only to bedside cabinets; rusty balcony rails; rotten window frames; unkempt gardens were some of the irritations.

And then we had the issue of breakfast. £10 if booked in advance; £12.50 if booked through a booking agent; £14.25 if booked on arrival. This smacks to me of, at best, a cavalier attitude towards pricing or, at worst, a cynical exploitation of guests.

But the jewel in the cloth cap was the swimming pool and spa facility. Although this is separate from the hotel it is modern, clean and has bright and friendly staff.

The hotel could be magnificent if ever it was decided to carry out a massive refurbishment to the whole structure of the building outside and inside.- perhaps too expensive compared with demolition.

(TIP:- The Chilworth Arms is within easy walking distance, and has an extensive, more moderately priced, menu. (a 5 minute walk using the footpath nearly opposite the Spa).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear penlla,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, obviously I was disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

This Edwardian Manor house was completed in 1904 and with the age of the building come a number of little creeks here and there in the manor building, something that I believe adds that little bit of extra character. The little creeks are reserved for the original part of the building only. For your information 20 out of the 26 manor bedrooms are not above other guest bedrooms.

Our breakfast pricing policy is the same as our bedroom policy, we merely reward guests who choose to book direct with us, this is one of the benefits of not booking through another website. Booking websites charge between 16 and 30% commission for making the booking. What we offer is standard practice in the industry and is no different to receiving a discount for pre-paying. Hotels operate similar practices to that of train and airline companies.

Our grounds in my view are excellent and I am very proud of the great work the team carry out every week. Out of the 36 acres that surround us we only manage 12 acres; the remainder is part of a conservation area.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this beautiful looking hotel using Tesco Clubcard rewards vouchers. Driving up to it and inside reception was stunning. The bedroom we stayed in was a bit dated and could do with modernising decoration-wise, but it was clean and comfortable. There were wedding functions on each of the nights we stayed but we weren't disturbed by them at all.

Breakfast was buffet style. It was quite nice, with plenty of choice, although some of the hot food wasn't so tasty (personal taste). The danish pastries, etc were good though.

Unfortunately my husband was unwell during our stay and needed to see a doctor. Looking through the Guest Information book it said to ask about medical needs at reception. I duly went to reception to find out details of local GP services, especially as it was a Saturday. The receptionist had no idea about contact details of local GP suurgies, but offered to 'google' some for us. She gave me a contact number for a GP surgery, but this was closed on a weekend. I then tried to find details myself on other local surgeries and found one which was open on a Saturday morning. After travelling to the surgery, we were told we would have to go to the town's walk in centre, which we did. I was quite amazed that the hotel reception didn't have this information to hand!

Other than this, staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear DawnAmes,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope your husband is feeling much better now.

We have a full directory of useful numbers at the front desk; this includes local GP’s. After hours we always guests contact Hants Doc that is a good service operated by the local hospital. The directory is still available at the desk and I have spoken with the Head Receptionist to ensure all members of her team are aware of it.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First time for us using this service and could not fault. We had the 'full' package which includes an evening meal. We were also given a suite which was a bonus ! Some of the grounds we had time to stroll around were still work in progress ( the 'lily' pond etc) but overall nice to have somewhere in such a lovely setting. The staff were all spot on and the taxi service to the port couldn't have been easier. If you are traveling from the north as we were then Chilworth is ideal for arriving & departing, no major towns to navigate around ! Would use again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowsend120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Rainbowsend,

Thank you for offering your thoughts on your recent pre cruise stay, I was delighted to read your comments and very pleased the team were ‘spot on’.

The Lilly pond is not actually and area that we are responsible for, we own 12 acres of grounds, which then lead onto 24 acres of conservation land that is protected. Our Managing Director sits on the committee that looks after the conservation land and he donates to the upkeep and improvements being made annually.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
10.4 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,494 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
6.1 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 26 in Southampton
1,837 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,914 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £60 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing