We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Another year and another visit to Chilworth manor. The staff were friendly and helpful as usual and the restaurant manger his usual charming self. He recognised us from previous visits and nothing was too much trouble for him. The food in the restaurant was excellent and our room was very clean. The acres of grounds make this hotel stand out ,as so many hotels these days only have a car park if you want some exercise. The terrace is a joy for coffee after breakfast and brandy after dinner with wonderful views and running wildlife.
We will be back next year, please don't change anything except perhaps the toaster and coffee machine should go back to the more personal service of coffee and toast brought to the table.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DenisJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Tired, dated decor. No air con and paper thin walls. Breakfast was the worst bit - paid £4 extra for delivery to the room as we needed to leave early. Ordered 1 cooked and 1 continental but turns out you can't have cooked before 8am on Sunday. The choice of substitutions was worse than online supermarket shopping and what did arrive was awful quality. Tinned clementines are not 'orange segments'. Unfortunately everything reinforced my view that 'Best' Western is an awful group with terrible standards.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vaughansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Could not fault the Chilworth Manor, and have since sent a number of our clients here. The pre-cruise package was organised very well, and all transport arrived and was sorted successfully. Can not fault the hotel, although the cost was not exactly cheap it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Te grounds are amazing, the building wonderful, and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The disappointment started when we opened our window. There was a very noisy air conditioning unit that kept us awake ALL night!
The breakfast was £10 each. Not even a pot of tea on offer - it was all made by a machine.
The "hot" buffet looked lovely but the majority of the food was cold or at best tepid. I complained and it was suggested that vegetables get cold quickly, I had left a lot of bacon!!??
I again complained at reception at check out and was thanked for bringing it to their attention. Maybe I was really being thanked for not informing the food safety department? At £125 for one night this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Purpleernie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We came here for an anniversary weekend away and were not dissapointed!

Lovely welcome at reception where we were told all we needed to know about the facilities at the hotel and we were booked in for dinner. Our room was nice, it was toward the back of the hotel and quite a walk but that wasn't a problem. I'm not sure why people are saying the rooms are outdated and dirty, ours was absolutely fine and spotless. We also had a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived which was a lovely touch.

We had a few drinks sat outside in the grounds and although the drinks aren't cheap it doesn't matter when you can relax and enjoy the view. Dinner was superb. Plenty to choose from off the menu and all the dishes looked and tasted wonderful. One of the best meals I've had. We were also then surprised with another bottle of champagne!

Breakfast was very nice. Even though it's a buffet cooked and continental, the food was all fresh and hadn't lost any of it's quality as the staff appeared to keep things topped up and changed if it had been there for a while. I chose the cooked breakfast (as I don't often have one!) and all of it was of high quality.

We had a brilliant weekend and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Cruise ship and wedding groups may be getting the best rooms, rates, and service in this hotel. Not the independent travellers.

I booked two twin rooms for three nights for my elderly parents and my uncle and aunt, fooled by the relaxing and peaceful atmosphere advertised on the BW Chilworth Manor's website. I asked for rooms close to each other and the hotel allocated us rooms 223 and 212 which are a good walk, not that close to each other. Apparently, the hotel doesn't have that many twin rooms or so we were told.

Prices were not cheap for three nights: We paid £263,70 for one of the rooms (twin, 2 occupants, breakfast not included). We paid £289,48 for another room (twin, 1 occupant, breakfast included). We changed the booking before arrival and requested another occupant for the room. We also changed our minds about breakfast, and requested, before arrival, to have breakfast added for all occupants.

Both rooms were small, poorly lit, hot, badly ventilated, with worn and stained carpets, and uncomfortable, small single beds.

Breakfast was not better than at a low standard greasy spoon. Toaster consistently burned the toast every morning and jam came not in individual pots, but in jars which we observed some children were touching and licking with their own fingers. Food was in general of a poor quality.

Room 223 had a terrible layout, with two single beds each positioned at each end of the room,not side by side. There was a lot of bird excrement on exterior window sill. Nice when you open the window to have a look at the view, which is a back road. Carpet was old and had huge stains. There was dust everywhere, see image of cables of bedside table. Two light bulbs were not working. There was black mould on bathroom walls, and a lot of limescale on showerhead. It's still showing on the image, even after the guests cleaned it themselves in disgust.

Room 212 was smaller than room 223 and had only one window, which opened to a view of the roof of the first floor's gallery roof, full of bird excrement. Location was terrible: over two consecutive nights, there were wedding parties with loud disco music until 1am and 12 midnight, right under the room, on the first floor. The guests in room 212 were not part of the wedding groups so allocating them room 212 shows poor judgement by room booking service.

Two light bulbs were not working in room 223 on the first night of the stay. On the morning of day 2, I told reception desk about it, indicating the faulty bulbs were on the bedside table lamp and on the wall lamp. The light bulbs were never changed and the room was poorly lit during the three-day stay.

Electronic room keys for room 223 failed every night. Guests had to walk back to reception every night and ask for the keys to be fixed. On the last night, the guests had to go back twice to have the keys fixed.

Upon arrival, I informed reception desk that the guests didn't speak English and that I wanted to ensure that breakfast was paid beforehand, so the customers didn't have to worry about it every morning. I gave a credit card and opened a tab, as requested. However, every morning the guests were questioned about their breakfast not being included in their room rate. Their names were checked against a list which had obviously not been updated, and every morning the same charade went on.

I mentioned that the guests in room 212 had not slept well for two nights due to the loud music from wedding parties. I was told we had been allocated those rooms in proximity to each other, as requested, and that the hotel didn't have that many twin rooms to choose from. So instead of apologising and offering a room exchange, we were made to feel as if it was our fault for making an impossible request.

Overall, a bad and expensive stay. Doesn't matter that the grounds and gardens are nice if the room is disgusting and the hotel doesn't care about independent travellers. I will not consider this hotel ever again for visiting family/friends and will ensure that any business contacts I have do not stay at this hotel. Not for the independent traveller, as it seems all attention and care goes to cruises guests and wedding parties.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank The_Horror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July. Beautiful setting (a shame about slight motorway background noise when in the gardens) and the hotel has a worn-but-comfortable feel to it. Rooms are fairly small but functional, and minimal noise. A pity that a fan was not available as it was very warm. Bathroom as expected for 1960's. What really stood out was the excellent service level from all the staff, who were keen to please and help on any matter. The food was outstanding the night we had dinner there, and the breakfast buffet had everything one would expect.
It's not a modern facility, and tha's part of it's charm.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms away from the access road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,762 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
978 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing