We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country retreat near Southampton and Winchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet country retreat near Southampton and Winchester”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Best Westerns in Europe and UK are very different from their US counterparts. They are idiosyncratic, individual, and have lots of character. This one is in a 1900s manor-house with huge grounds that you can walk in and explore, and with a world-class restaurant for dinner (priced accordingly though, watch out; The Old Chesil Rectory in Winchester is a better deal if you can get in).

Breakfast is Best-Western mediocre and overpriced (it's £10 or £15 for the buffet depending on who is on duty) but better than a Marriott buffet :-) and the rooms are plain but perfectly serviceable, but the quiet, the mature trees and the pond, the wildlife areas, the country estate and its house, and the cheerful staff all make up for it.

I was visiting IBM Hursely from Canada, and it's about a 20 minute drive depending on how lost you get. You'll for sure want a car if you stay here, and you'll need to cope with driving in English country lanes, narrow and winding and full of delights.

No, there was no air conditioning; most UK hotels are like that, and there was a desk fan in the room and the window opens.

I'd definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barefootliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    455
    260
    115
    47
See reviews for
183
641
39
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as we were visiting peppa pig world that is just 20 mins car ride away.
The grounds are very beautiful and I loved the inside too. Rooms were very comfortable - lovely big bed and spacious bath room.
Gorgeous hot buffet breakfast the next morning.
We used the lovely leisure area, " the club" and was greeted by the charming club manager kris. He was happy to show us around and gave great customer service.
We Will absolutely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbrady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A very picturesque hotel but could do with some updating. Somewhat isolated (thankfully 1 decent pub nearby serving extremely good food within walking distance, just as pricey as hotel menu but with better atmosphere). Staff very pleasant but slightly overbearing at breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel to those who want to get away for a nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Charming hotel but a rabbit warren when finding the room. Breakfast ok but evening meal terrible small portions and overpriced. The pork I had was raw in the middle. Staff need to take afew lessons in food safety. Had upset stomach the nect day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CrowlandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HYTHE , KENT . UNITED KINGDOM
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

WE checked into Chilworth for one night as part of a pre cruise package of bed & breakfast, evening meal,two weeks parking , and taxi transfers to and from the cruise terminal.
Our welcome at the check in was warm and welcoming , and the receptionist was very helpful , and cheerful, as was the restaurent manager, and all of the staff encountered by us.
The whole package worked well , and we were very happy with the service.
We slept in a large bedroom upstairs in the main building , and i have to say that the room was quite worn with mould on the ceiling , and in the bathroom , also the mattress was the worst i have ever slept on , and i had one hell of a backache in the morning ! There was also a wedding function that night , and there was a lot of noise outside the hotel main entrance around one o clock in the morning , which was very annoying when i was trying to sleep , and the reason for staying at the hotel was to be able to join our cruise feeling fresh !
Overall , i would stay at the hotel again, because of the excellent staff , but the hotel definately needs some investment to upgrade the rooms at least
We stayed on june 20th for one night , and the return taxi service was also very good

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are ok , but dont book if there is a wedding reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POTSY2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Another year and another visit to Chilworth manor. The staff were friendly and helpful as usual and the restaurant manger his usual charming self. He recognised us from previous visits and nothing was too much trouble for him. The food in the restaurant was excellent and our room was very clean. The acres of grounds make this hotel stand out ,as so many hotels these days only have a car park if you want some exercise. The terrace is a joy for coffee after breakfast and brandy after dinner with wonderful views and running wildlife.
We will be back next year, please don't change anything except perhaps the toaster and coffee machine should go back to the more personal service of coffee and toast brought to the table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Tired, dated decor. No air con and paper thin walls. Breakfast was the worst bit - paid £4 extra for delivery to the room as we needed to leave early. Ordered 1 cooked and 1 continental but turns out you can't have cooked before 8am on Sunday. The choice of substitutions was worse than online supermarket shopping and what did arrive was awful quality. Tinned clementines are not 'orange segments'. Unfortunately everything reinforced my view that 'Best' Western is an awful group with terrible standards.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
5.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
7.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing