We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I spent 2 nights here as a business trip and I have to say that whilst the standard rooms are a little small and a little dated, the staffs is very polite and attentive and the food, both for an evening meal and for the self service buffet breakfast was very good indeed.

Check in
This was fast efficient and was handled by Chelsea with professionalism and good humour.

The rooms.
Whilst being basic have everything that you could need, it must be said that my room 108 the bathroom was a little smaller then I would have liked but the area was clean and the water both hot and plentiful. I must report that there were 2 lamps in the room that were not working.

Bar area
Plenty of comfortable seating, but when children were in the bar area it was a little noisy , this was not always a bad thing as I did serve to drowned out the appalling dated piped music to all public areas, which whilst initially memory provoking soon turned to a repetitive drudge.

I did use the pool facilities one morning and the pool was chilly but pleasant showers good and clean.

I will be back for both business and for a pleasure weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightingmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear lightingmanLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent two-night business trip to the hotel.

I was really pleased to learn that you felt the team were very attentive throughout your stay and offered you efficient service. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine on offer both at breakfast and in the evenings.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again for future business or leisure trips to the area.

Best Wishes


Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at a wedding. The food was really nice but the bed was very uncomfortable. Our shower didn't work and when we informed the reception all we got back as a reply was ok I will report it. Shocking no apology and no shower. The room cost enough and therefore at least they could offer was some kind of refund.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Cindy G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the hotel, I was really pleased you felt the day was lovely and the food on offer was very good.

My apologies that the bed was not to your liking, all our beds our luxury Hypnos beds and are widely used by the best 4-star hotels across the country. Also I am sorry that we did not react to your comments regarding the issue with you shower affectively. I will be discussing this matter with the front desk team and re-enforcing the correct procedure to take should anything like this occur again.

Best Wishes


Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wished I could have stayed longer and also that the weather had been better so I could have walked round the grounds. My very quiet bedroom in the new block was beautifully decorated and had a dual aspect with views over the manicured gardens and the New Forest in the distance. It would have been nice if the windows had been cleaner. The room was quite a walk from the lift and reception was a long walk from the lift too. I loved the mirrors in the bathroom and it was nice to get face flannels. I was not disturbed at all by the wedding taking place – there are lots of conference rooms in the hotel. To get to the swimming pool you have to go outside but it was well worth the walk. The pool is not very hot but an ideal temperature for swimming. It is 1.35m deep throughout. The Jacuzzi was lovely. Take £1 coin for the locker. There is a dryer for your swimming costume and wet costume bags. Breakfast was really nice. It would have been nice to be able to make tea in a pot rather than a mug and to have spare cutlery available rather than having to ask. If not prebooked breakfast costs £14.25. I had dinner which was really special with lovely wine. I am not sure I would want to eat this type of food two nights in a row but there is a pub nearby. The restaurant is in the old house dining room so sadly doesn’t have a view over the gardens. I would recommend booking a table as the restaurant is quite small (but it coped at breakfast time). The bar is in the old central hall so quite atmospheric. As it was a Bank Holiday check out time was 11am. Usually its 10am which seems bit early.

Room Tip: I suggest avoiding room 302 as it seemed to be next to the lift operating equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear welaj,

We too wish you could of stayed longer, thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best Wishes


Stephen Marriott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Came here on a groupon deal for a spa day so didn't stay in the actual hotel. The leisure facilities are however excellent. Lovely big and very "refreshing" swimming pool - May be a little cool for some! Very nice sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. What made the day though was the quality of the treatments. I had an excellent massage and possibly the nicest facial I have ever had. The staff were all excellent too - very welcoming, polite and helpful. A lovely relaxing way to spend the day. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Margot1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Please see earlier posted comments within the best western survey. Overall good hotel, but let down due to the bathroom ceiling in room 205 covered in mould. Check-in staff were very pleasant, infact all staff very helpful. Evening meal - good food, good service. B'fast - good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 318deanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Its a grand place especially the sweeping staircase in the reception hall....grounds are impressive and rooms comfortable and quiet....breakfast was very good and comprehensive...
Stayed for work but would use if visiting for PP world as much nicer than a premier inn!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CheesygrinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
2.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
516 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
3.8 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
8.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel

Address: Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range: £54 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing