We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended as a base for visiting Soton of New Forest”
Review of Brimar Guest House

Brimar Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brimar Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Totton B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended as a base for visiting Soton of New Forest”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Relative to the room price, this is a very well-run and highly recommended establishment.

A range of rooms available - some en-suite. My room was spotless, very well maintained and equipped with all the basics I needed including TV, fresh towels every day etc.

Small, safe car park to the rear - it can only accommodate about 15 cars so first come first served. 5 - 10 minute drive into Southampton.

Well-equipped guest kitchens in each building - though can only be used by guests until 9pm.

Breakfast is freshly cooked, served by friendly staff - though only available 7.00 - 8.15 weekdays.

I would certainly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
13
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing stay .Friendly staff. Good breakfast and a convenient location with good restaurants/pubs nearby, easy access to rail station, The river side walk is quite a relaxing one for family visitors. There is a river closeby with a pub on the shore.Could do crab fishing for fun. Much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Have visited this B&B twice now and both times have been fab! As a lover of the New Forest it is perfect and in a great location for easy access to explore. It is also very handy and good location so can easily and very quickly get to Southampton, especially West Quay for shopping, as both times I have gone to do my Christmas shopping! Rooms are very clean and spacious enough, with the added benefit of being able to use the guest kitchen to make lunches/dinners. The price is brilliant and the breakfast so filling it keeps me full for the whole day. Can't wait to visit again!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable. We had to be away early so missed the cooked breakfast but the night porter was very helpful and provided us with all we needed for a DIY breakfast including cereal toast juice etc.

Room Tip: good stopover for IOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money with a good breakfast served freshly cooked and piping hot
Would stay again for both business or pleasure and it even has a large private car park. Can't think of any more to say really

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Found a nice clean B & B in Totton, Southampton, UK for a few days in May, 2013 before heading north. Had a quite back side, second floor room with multi cable TV. A grand English Breakfast every morning. A guest mini kitchen open 24/7. Lots of clean bathrooms down the halls, fresh towels every day. Close to down town Totton shops and Pubs, Train and Bus #6 to center of Southampton, Only a 5 or 10 minute walk from the B & B. Most enjoyable stay at a good value...

Room Tip: High Street, Totton, UK is very short, so check for location on Google Maps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This guest house was booked almost at the last minute on line, prior to arrival- mostly on the basis of price, and location.
I was met by Wendy (Manager) who checked me in, showed me my room. The room was bigger than average, with a king size bed. The room was well decorated, with usual facilities- on suite shower, toilet bathroom. (I could have had a cheaper room, with a shared toilet, shower). For the extra few pounds my room was fine.
There are two kitchen areas- fully equipped- crockery, kettle, toaster, micro wave, sink, fridge and freezer. Brilliant idea- can save a few bob by shopping at the nearby super market- no real need to use Take aways, cafés, reataurants. The kitchen was neat, very clean and tidy. Comliments to the Brimars staff.
Breakfast was cooked to order- standard "full English" or cerals, toast, porridge. Pot of either tea or coffee- again, freshly made to order.
The Brimar is a credit to the owners, and their staff- "thank you for a very comfortable stay".
Ps- theres adequate, safe parking on site. (a bonus)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of very similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totton
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
293 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Brimar Guest House

Property: Brimar Guest House
Address: 10-14 High Street, Totton SO40 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Totton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Totton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Brimar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brimar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing