We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage I have ever stayed in !”
Private driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway
Main kitchen with 4 oven Aga, halogen hob, 2 integrated dishwashers, integrated fridge Dining room seating 16- 22
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Private driveway
Main kitchen with 4 oven Aga, halogen hob, 2 integrated dishwashers, integrated fridge
Dining room seating 16- 22
Drawing room
Snug with Sky TV
Hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 1 ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 3 ensuite bathroom
Family bathroom
Private garden
Private garden
Private garden
Play area in private garden
Brunton House
Highest VisitEngland ratings and award for the 6th consecutive year
Best on the Northumberland - it's official!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bridget S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best cottage I have ever stayed in !”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

For 30 years I have been renting holiday cottages in North Northumberland . No longer will I look for the perfect location, we have found it in Brunton Burn. The location and the quality of the cottage cannot be bettered in our opinion.
Everything that could be provided to make our stay memorable is included from the fresh bread hamper to the quality paintings on the wall. The vase of daffodils and bottle of Malbec sealed it for us, we will book the next stay before we leave here.
Having just returned from a round the world trip, I have found my rainbows end.
Thankyou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola K
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay for 2”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we walked in and saw the lovely view from the living areaof the mill stream tumbling past , we knew we were going to love this place. It is really spacious for a two person cottage., thoughtfully arranged with great attention to detail. Everything is of extremely good quality and the stylish furnishings were pleasing on the eye. The welcome basket was particularly generous. There are pleasant walks on the estate and it is also ideally situated for many of Northumberland's attractions. We were staying in February, but we felt warm and cosy and enjoyed the log burner. Mick's cooking was an added bonus and we decided we preferred his cooking to the meal we had out in Banburgh. As holiday cottage owners our selves we were really impressed with Brunton Burn and hope to return one day in late summer. We have also recommended it to two other friends already. Thank you, Lucia and Mark , you are doing a brilliant job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and your feedback. We would be so pleased if you came back in the summer when it can be as warm as Cornwall!

You were very kind to give us your time in talking about holiday cottages and I have bought a vegetable steamer as you suggested.

Best wishes Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert h
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BLISS !”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages at Brunton are a great place to unwind and relax; quiet and peaceful, a great night sky, and surrounded by a well managed estate with good walking and not too far from the beach at Embleton. The cottage we stayed in, Mill Race, is so very well equipped, comfy and cosy, the design and decor superb. The owners of the property give a great deal of thought to the comfort provided for their guests and are very generous which is very much appreciated when self-catering. My wife and I have stayed at Mill Race on a number of occasions and can highly recommend Brunton to anyone visiting the beautiful coast of Northumberland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, shower, view of mill race
Liked least: the sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for all the lovely points you make about Brunton. We are planning to make more of the 'Dark Skies' award that Northumberland National Park has been given and organise an astronomer to take guests out to a good spot on the farm, with a Mick luxury picnic, and set up camp for a few hours. I hope you will come back to take part. Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicealmo...
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We did not want to leave”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Brunton Burn, a one bedroom converted barn on the Falloden Estate over the Christmas/New Year period. We could not fault the place. The cottage was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, probably one of the best holiday cottages that we have ever stayed in. We were also lucky enough to have some of our meals prepared for us by Mick, the chef on the Estate. The food was delicious. It was a lovely break and we would certainly recommend the place to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for giving such a positive review to Brunton. Everyone works very hard to keep up such high standards and it is really appreciated when it is commented on. Please do come back soon. Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa A
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Interior Decorator's Delight”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We're on our 3rd and final night in Brunton House as a group of 16 adults on an annual reunion. The house is incredible- every inch is decorated to such a high standard and with impeccable taste! The layout is perfect and every room, in particular the 2 kitchens, are very well equipped. And for the cold frogs amongst you, you couldn't be cozier and more comfortable.

Mick, the house manager and chef has been an absolute delight to deal with. He was so welcoming and went beyond the call of duty to greet us with fresh warm scones and homemade bread (and a very generous welcome basket). Mick has been a great chef and really took the stress out of self catering. He will cater to any taste, budget and format. Delicious food!

Book in a hurry as this place books up long ahead of time. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to come back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Brunton House. Our aim was exactly what you have described - to make a very comfortable, cosy, but spacious 'family' house. And with Mick there too we feel we have something pretty special for guests. Come back in the summer when you can make the most of the gardens, walk to the beaches and try more of Mick's seasonal cooking. Lucia Bridgeman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing