We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful house”
Private driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway
Main kitchen with 4 oven Aga, halogen hob, 2 integrated dishwashers, integrated fridge Dining room seating 16- 22
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Private driveway
Main kitchen with 4 oven Aga, halogen hob, 2 integrated dishwashers, integrated fridge
Dining room seating 16- 22
Drawing room
Snug with Sky TV
Hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 1 ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 3 ensuite bathroom
Family bathroom
Private garden
Private garden
Private garden
Play area in private garden
Brunton House
Highest VisitEngland ratings and award for the 6th consecutive year
Best on the Northumberland - it's official!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chiora
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful house”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We rented Brunton House and the adjoining three cottages for a four night stay for a large group of friends. Everything was absolutely perfect and exceeded our expectations. The house and cottages are absolutely beautiful - well furnished, spotlessly clean, light and airy and extremely comfortable. Everything you need - as well as lots of things you didn't know you needed - is provided including a very generous welcome hamper, nice toiletries, hair dryers in every bedroom, and a huge range of pots, pans, crockery etc . There's also a huge amount of information provided about places of interest in the area. The bedrooms and bathrooms are really great and the main house has 2 kitchens (1 with an Aga) and a lovely large dining room. We were lucky to stay when the weather was warm and sunny and it was wonderful to have breakfast or a drink in the lovely gardens. The cottages also come up to the same high standard. Chris, the Estate Manager, and Mark & Lucia, the owners, were extremely helpful and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Brunton House is in a beautiful location near some of the best beaches in the country, as well as nice towns such as Alnwick, Bamburgh Castle, Lindisfarne and lots of other places to visit as well as many excellent walks. It is a bit isolated so it's best to have a car although there's a friendly local taxi service. We had a wonderful stay at Brunton and will definitely return. I'd also like to say how useful their website is, providing all the information you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Thank you- We know you had a great time because everyone in your party seemed to be enjoying themselves so much! We are really pleased that you found Brunton and it suited everyone so well. Please do come back as a group or in smaller numbers any time of year and we will make sure you still have a wonderful time.
Best wishes

Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainet...
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning country house with a comfortable feeling”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fabulous stay at Brunton house, four generations together and this was a wonderful venue for large groups. Beautifully decorated with antiques yet has a very relaxed comfortable feel. Very well equipped with everything you could need. Set in a great location, peaceful and surrounded by countryside. Ideal for exploring Northumberland. Chris the manager was wonderful and very helpful. This is the 4th time we have stayed at Brunton House and look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
We were so pleased to welcome you back for your fourth visit, and to know that it is still a wonderful place for all four generations. Thank you for your lovely review - it really makes it all worthwhile when we know how much it means to you as well. Very best wishes. Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A true gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The house & cottages are set in spectacular grounds. They are beautifully appointed & immaculate. There was a generous welcome pack & a bunch of flowers in each cottage. The area offers so much & is perfect for walkers. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Dear Marilyn

You are very kind to write such a lovely review - thank you.

I am very pleased you noticed the flowers because we grow them at Fallidon, our home, two miles away, and make up bunches all year round.

Please come back and enjoy the dahlias or orchids or sweet peas at another time.

Best wishes. Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The perfect place for a tip-top multigenerational family celebration!”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Such a lovely peaceful spot in the northumberland countryside - every comfort provided with homeliness, elegance, and thoughtful attention to detail. Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby, castles, beaches, or perfect for just relaxing, pottering, and playing or walking in the gardens and grounds. We were all happy here and very well looked after. A great joint 70th Birthdays' celebration!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
That is the most lovely review. Thank you.

I really enjoyed reading your title summary - sums up Brunton perfectly and sounds like a line from a musical!

Please do come back any time - when you can.

Best wishes

Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice B
france
2 reviews
“Wonderful location, very comfortable and well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Quiet restful location in a farm with river running outside window.
Nearest sea is at Embleton Bay a few minutes by car. Lovely walks to ruined castle.
Alnick Alnmouth Seahouses and Bambrough all within easy reach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you for your really useful description - it will help other guests choosing a place to stay and I hope it will convince them that Brunton is the perfect spot.

Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreamil...
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional accommodation with an exceptional view”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had had a wonderful time at Brunton Burn. The accommodation was perfect. A welcome pack with local produce was an unexpected surprise. On opening the front door we were greeted by the most beautiful view of a 'burn'. The beaches at Bamburgh and Newton by the sea were just amazing. We were lucky to have sunny days but the walks on the beaches were incredible. We even managed a crab stottie and prosecco outdoors on my birthday at The Ship Inn (Newton by the Sea) after our long walk on the beach. A log burner was always awaiting our return with unlimited supply of logs. A visit to Barters books in Alnwick for breakfast (which was top quality) is a must. We used our National Trust membership at Cragside and Wallington House. A train ride to Edinburgh enabled us to meet up with our friends. We want to keep it a secret so it is always available for us but it is too gorgeous not to share.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you very much sharing your ‘secret’.

Brunton Burn is very special and we are really pleased you made so much of your holiday visiting so many places from there. It is a good spot isn’t it?

We look forward to having you again.

Best wishes

Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35PJM
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect return to Mill Race”
Reviewed 23 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We first stayed in Mill Race in October 2012 when I proposed to my now wife, Elly, on nearby Bamburgh beach. It was our first trip back since, and this time we were accompanied by our daughter Freya, just four months old. We had a wonderful week enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the cottage, as well as wonderful walks along the Northumbrian coastline. The owners and manager couldn’t have been more helpful or welcoming and the cottage was as perfect as we remembered it. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2018
We were so pleased that you came back, and with Freya too. I am thrilled that 6 years haven't taken the edge off Mill Race and you found Northumberland as peaceful as ever. We look forward to welcoming you back again, but hope it is sooner than 6 years next time.

Best wishes

Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing