We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooburn
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Lovely pub, lots of regulars crowd into the small space which makes for a good friendly atmosphere. Rooms are clean and pleasant but not cheap. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Local area is nice English countryside with a few old towns such as High Wycombe and a few gastro-pubs and good quality restaurants. Breakfast was good and rapidly served when ordering cooked items. I had to ask for a repair in the bathroom which was done the same day - good response. Overall pleasant place not a bargain break. they do have seasonal specials, so ask.

One note - this is an old building with thin walls and wooden floors, dont expect silence.

Room Tip: the 4 poster room is the biggest and has a sofa-bed for extra guests but is significantly more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
43
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Met up with friends at this country inn for lunch and drinks having been before just over a year ago. Really nice traditional unspoilt pub which has a very welcome feel to it. Super selection of real ale. The bar menu and specials board has a great selection of well cooked and presented food. Good attentive service. A real locals pub. Accommodation available and a small function room off the main bar. Have a look at the website for a guide to the bar and restaurant menu's. I would certainly go again when I am in the area and would recommend the food there whether a bar snack or evening dining. My friends are locals to this inn and say it is consistently good.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Overall we had a nice stay here. The room was a little on the small side but very clean and the bed comfortable. We booked through booking.com and paid £90. I think that is reasonable but I was glad we hadn't paid the Full rate of £107.50.
The location was pretty good and it was very quiet until the traffic started up early morning, as our room overlooked the road outside. It's not the busiest of roads but if you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room at the back.
If anything the service was a little over the top and a bit pushy when asking us to write a review for them but the staff were very helpful.
The food in the bar was pretty good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road at the front if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Chequers is a lovely, quiet hotel. I had a comfortable night in a quiet room and enjoyed a long walk along the lanes amd woods the next morning. The breakfast was excellent and I was impressed with all the staff I met.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I met some friends at the Chequers for a meal one Friday night. The bar was buzzing upon arrival. We found a table in the bar area and chose from the diverse menu. From Fish and Chips, to Chilli Con Carne, Curry to Sandwiches there's sure to be something for everyone on the menu.
The food arrived piping hot and was delicious. Would recommend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We popped in with a friend as we were passing through Beaconsfield and wanted to have a break and a quick bite to eat. The Chequers is only 5 mins off the main road between Beaconsfield and High Wycombe and seemed to fit the bill. Service was friendly and the menu diverse. We had a lovely chicken caesar, fishcakes and prawn salad and were very envious of the burgers being served at the next table. Beer garden is lovely and quiet even being sat adjacent to the road and there was plenty of tables and space.

Would happily pop in again when passing as there is much more to try on the menu and the beer range was interesting. Many thanks to The Chequers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RColtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Although it was hard to find good shade. Food was fine. The wine was a little disappointing but that was my choice. It's a good quality English country pub. Bit cliquey sometimes. Good place to take visitors

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sues999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooburn
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
2.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Kiln Lane, Wooburn, Beaconsfield HP10 0JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Beaconsfield > Wooburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely 17th Century family owned coaching inn with a reputation for the exceptional food served in the bar, lounge and restaurant. 18 individual bedrooms all with fantastic new bathrooms. Close to High Wycombe and Beaconsfield in the Chilterns countryside above the river Thames at Cookham. Private room for meetings and private dinners. BBQ in the gardens in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Beaconsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing