We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream setting, excellent amenities”
Review of Rancho do Peixe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho do Peixe
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prea
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dream setting, excellent amenities”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at this resort in July 2012 for 3 nights. Even though we had to endure a 4 and a half hour car ride from Fortaleza to this place, from midnight to 4:30 AM, it was well worth it. In spite of the early morning arrival, someone was waiting for us at the reception. We were quickly shown to our bungalows, leaving the luggage to be handled by the employees.
The decor of the bungalow was extraordinary, from the queen bed and the mosquito net to the additional 2 beds, to the enclosed shower with water running down through the floorboards.
Even though everything is built on sand, the landscaping was lush and varied. In keeping with the rustic feel of the bungalows, the lounge, bar and restaurant were designed the same way. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there, every time trying out something else from the menu. Everything we ate was delicious.
The staff was very friendly and personable. We used the pool quite a lot, since the wind on the beach was really strong and was blowing sand everywhere. It's good for kite-surfing, which was practiced by a lot of people there, but not good to lay there for sunbathing. No complaints though, as the pool area was a good place, where you always could find a place to lounge.
All in all, it was one of our best experiences at a seaside resort. If it wasn't that remote, we would visit it more often.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
117
192
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Rancho do Peixe for four nights in March, 2011 during Carnaval holidays and it's was a great experience.
Not only accommodations are well designed and comfortable (if you can live without TVs), it's also located in a beautiful beach, everybody in the hotel try to make you feel at home and also food is delicious.
Hotel has two bungalows areas: one in the garden area and one in the beach. I would recommend staying in the beach area because of less mosquitoes and also because of the ocean / beach view right at your window.
Bungalows are build with local rustic materials and they follow a rustic-chic design. A nice touch is that you can take a shower right under the stars (shower roof is made of scattered wood sticks).
Food was delicious. Breakfasts are very nice with juices, yogurts, fruit, cheese, bread, cakes, omelets and tapioca. Lunch (if you can eat after having this kind of breakfast) and dinners have a great selection of seafood that is cooked in a delicious home made style.
There is also a kite surf school. I did two kite surf classes and it went very well. I got a very professional instructor and really enjoyed the sport. Too bad that it was the end of wind season and I couldn't have all classes that I was planning. Wind season starts at June / July and goes up to end of February / beginning of March.
Rancho do Peixe is not located in Jericoacoara. It's located in a small village called Prea. But hotel has transport to/from Jericoacoara. It takes about 20-30 minutes and it runs every hour.
If you are traveling with kids they also have a nice swimming poll. And the staff can arrange tours to tourist attractions in the region.

Room Tip: Bungalows in the beach area have a nicer view and are less prone to local wildlife (mosquitoes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Molnar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rancho do peixe for the second year in September and we're planning a third trip back. The pousada is very well designed and consist of a lounge area, restaurant/bar, pool area, garden and beach bungalows and kite school. Both times we stayed in one of the beach bungalows. They're very well designed in a simple luxury kinda way. There is plenty of space to chill out and take in the view and surroundings. Food and service is fantastic. Both times we went were focused on kitesurfing and the spot simply is my number one. Consistent wind and the kite school 'Rancho do kite' which is by far one of the best I have come across contribute to that. Add to that the pousada and you've got a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblensqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was staying in Jeri but kiting in Prea and wanted a safe place to store stuff during the day (cash etc) and my equipment at night (to avoid dragging all the stuff back and forth). Rancho Do Kite (part of Rancho de Peixe) offers exactly that. It offers a: Kite school, kite rental, kite storage, restaurant with GREAT food and drinks between sessions, showers, help launching and landing, kite repair, swimming pool, shade etc. They can also help arrange transportation back and forth to Jeri. It's a perfect place to spend the days for kiters staying in Jeri!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you enjoy nature with out giving up comfort, the lodge Rancho do Peixe is the ideal place for you to spend your holidays and relax. This pousada (boutique hotel) is located on a coconut plantation with sand dunes and native vegetation. The beach is one of the best beaches in Brazil for practicing of windsurfing and kite surfing!

There are two types of accommodations, the bungalows with the view of the palm trees and the beach view bungalows. I recommend staying in the beach view bungalows. They are a little extra, but waking up with that beautiful ocean for a view, is totally worth it!

If you are on a strict diet, this is not the place to be, because the food is absolutely amazing! There are great choices of all types of food, however the seafood is the best! They catch the fish early in the morning to serve for lunch and dinner! Tip: I recommend getting up early to see the fishermen returning from their morning's catch with canoes full of fish.

The hotel has a really nice 25m pool, because the ocean is not enough, huh? They also have many types of actives, this is where i found myself pretty much all the time, at the windsurfing and kite surfing school! They have all the equipement you can imagine, and perfect wind conditions almost all year round.

I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose the beach-view rooms, they are definitely worth that little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilianGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We ended up staying in Rancho do Peixe for the first few nights of our vacation because everything in downtown Jerri was booked out. Now I wish we had stayed the full too weeks at this hotel. Everything about this resort is magical - the location (deserted beach), the rooms (individual traditional huts overlooking the beach), the restaurants (one upmarket, one beach bar) . The huts may be open to the elements but they are anything but basic. They are like large private suites with huge beds and a open plan bathroom and separate outdoor shower. If you like your air con this is not the place for you but we stayed there in August and the constant breeze from the ocean kept the room very cool. The food and service is excellent in both restaurants and there is a good sized outdoor pool that kept my teenager happy. My only quibble would be with their spa which was a tad basic and could be upgraded, but this is a small complaint. The staff are really friendly but beware not a lot of English is spoken beyond the front desk. A dune buggy runs guests into Jerri. It's a 30 minute journey but the last one returns to the hotel at 11pm just when things are getting going in town (the locals like to party late). Highly recommended as a romantic destination or for someone wishing to learn to kitesurf. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheehanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAZIL
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I didn`t stay there, but went 3 days in a row to practice kitesurf. My wife and I, her mainly, stayed the whole day enjoying that place. Although I have to say plates and juices are really expensive... One juice costing R$8,00 is not easy to accept even in a high end place.
You will love Rancho do Peixe, but there is nothing else in Preá. So you kite or tan and forget the rest of the world.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandreBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prea
7.7 mi away
Essenza Hotel
Essenza Hotel
#5 of 24 in Jericoacoara
711 reviews
7.5 mi away
Vila Kalango
Vila Kalango
#3 of 24 in Jericoacoara
565 reviews
7.7 mi away
Blue Residence Hotel
Blue Residence Hotel
#6 of 24 in Jericoacoara
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
#2 of 24 in Jericoacoara
730 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pousada Jeriba
Pousada Jeriba
#1 of 24 in Jericoacoara
803 reviews
7.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 24 in Jericoacoara
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho do Peixe

Property: Rancho do Peixe
Address: Rua da Praca S/N | Praia Do Prea (12 Km From Jericoacoara), Prea, State of Ceara 62595-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Prea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rancho do Peixe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and peaceful refuge situated in a 200 thousand m2 (49 acre) coconut plantation that has sand dunes, native vegetetation, and faces the sea. Each of the 26 thatched-roof bungalows is made of wood and designed in harmony with the coconut trees and beach. The bungalows afford privileged lighting and ventilation so one can chat underneath the moonlight, take in the sunset, and enjoy the refreshing sea breeze. There's a restaurant serving Brazilian specialties and regional fare, a lounge with TV and games, a 25m pool surrounded by deackchairs, an area for relaxation, a kitesurf school and storage, and the famous beach bar. Mind you rest in the sea. Body and soul, in Rancho do Peixe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rancho do Peixe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Do Peixe Hotel Jericoacoara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing