We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho”
Review of Rancho do Peixe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho do Peixe
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prea
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rancho”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Me and my partner got to Rancho do Peixe by chance and we stayed there 6 days, liking the plantation of coconut trees straightaway. Reception were incredibly professional, specially Alexandre, incredible bangalos again no TV and best pousada for internet wireless.

The beach is really remote and very windy, there are no beach bars really and you can't really be there because the sandblos at you so hard. Prea town was interesting to visit and there are a few restaurants by the town beach, simple food and nice.

Nice place to switch off from the world for some days. The lagoons are amazingly blue, and the place to go if you want to sit on the beach, which was good cause we weren't looking for kitesurfing.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
190
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This Place flat out rocks. This was the third year in a row coming down from USA with complicated flights to enjoy best combination of high winds and warm waters for kite surfing. This is an ecolodge with no pretense of trying. I took my wife and kids 7 and 9 last year who loved it. Food quality is top notch and of good value, great use of local fish, fruits, cheeses & lobster. Fish Carpoccio rocks, Edgvan the bartender is a total professional with great touches on garnishments on limes etc. Owning a 250 seat restaraunt The Church Brew Works for the last 16 years, I have an inherent feel for tasteful food and value. Grounds are landscaped daily, same workers are there year after year, pool is cleaned daily and is refreshing. Rooms are spacious and airy. This place is windy so beach has too much blowing sand from 11am on but kitesurfers rejoice in rigging 7 meter kites everyday. This is remote beach area and is not the place to go drink and party and meet other travelers, you see people on honeymoons enjoyign themselves. They have a shuttle to sister place in Jerri if you like to party, book in at Villa Kalanga if you want more nightlife. One can kite from Prea to Jerri and take shuttle back. One can rent buggies and do a great downwinder starting 4km past jerri and kite great flatwater ide and smaller waves outside at the river mouth. Only negative is there are no direct flights from USA into fortaleza to shorten the travel time. Wood fired pizza at Pizza de Lenha can be had on weekends in town of prea about ten minute walk down beach from Rancho.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeener C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at this resort in July 2012 for 3 nights. Even though we had to endure a 4 and a half hour car ride from Fortaleza to this place, from midnight to 4:30 AM, it was well worth it. In spite of the early morning arrival, someone was waiting for us at the reception. We were quickly shown to our bungalows, leaving the luggage to be handled by the employees.
The decor of the bungalow was extraordinary, from the queen bed and the mosquito net to the additional 2 beds, to the enclosed shower with water running down through the floorboards.
Even though everything is built on sand, the landscaping was lush and varied. In keeping with the rustic feel of the bungalows, the lounge, bar and restaurant were designed the same way. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there, every time trying out something else from the menu. Everything we ate was delicious.
The staff was very friendly and personable. We used the pool quite a lot, since the wind on the beach was really strong and was blowing sand everywhere. It's good for kite-surfing, which was practiced by a lot of people there, but not good to lay there for sunbathing. No complaints though, as the pool area was a good place, where you always could find a place to lounge.
All in all, it was one of our best experiences at a seaside resort. If it wasn't that remote, we would visit it more often.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Rancho do Peixe for four nights in March, 2011 during Carnaval holidays and it's was a great experience.
Not only accommodations are well designed and comfortable (if you can live without TVs), it's also located in a beautiful beach, everybody in the hotel try to make you feel at home and also food is delicious.
Hotel has two bungalows areas: one in the garden area and one in the beach. I would recommend staying in the beach area because of less mosquitoes and also because of the ocean / beach view right at your window.
Bungalows are build with local rustic materials and they follow a rustic-chic design. A nice touch is that you can take a shower right under the stars (shower roof is made of scattered wood sticks).
Food was delicious. Breakfasts are very nice with juices, yogurts, fruit, cheese, bread, cakes, omelets and tapioca. Lunch (if you can eat after having this kind of breakfast) and dinners have a great selection of seafood that is cooked in a delicious home made style.
There is also a kite surf school. I did two kite surf classes and it went very well. I got a very professional instructor and really enjoyed the sport. Too bad that it was the end of wind season and I couldn't have all classes that I was planning. Wind season starts at June / July and goes up to end of February / beginning of March.
Rancho do Peixe is not located in Jericoacoara. It's located in a small village called Prea. But hotel has transport to/from Jericoacoara. It takes about 20-30 minutes and it runs every hour.
If you are traveling with kids they also have a nice swimming poll. And the staff can arrange tours to tourist attractions in the region.

Room Tip: Bungalows in the beach area have a nicer view and are less prone to local wildlife (mosquitoes and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Molnar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rancho do peixe for the second year in September and we're planning a third trip back. The pousada is very well designed and consist of a lounge area, restaurant/bar, pool area, garden and beach bungalows and kite school. Both times we stayed in one of the beach bungalows. They're very well designed in a simple luxury kinda way. There is plenty of space to chill out and take in the view and surroundings. Food and service is fantastic. Both times we went were focused on kitesurfing and the spot simply is my number one. Consistent wind and the kite school 'Rancho do kite' which is by far one of the best I have come across contribute to that. Add to that the pousada and you've got a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblensqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was staying in Jeri but kiting in Prea and wanted a safe place to store stuff during the day (cash etc) and my equipment at night (to avoid dragging all the stuff back and forth). Rancho Do Kite (part of Rancho de Peixe) offers exactly that. It offers a: Kite school, kite rental, kite storage, restaurant with GREAT food and drinks between sessions, showers, help launching and landing, kite repair, swimming pool, shade etc. They can also help arrange transportation back and forth to Jeri. It's a perfect place to spend the days for kiters staying in Jeri!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you enjoy nature with out giving up comfort, the lodge Rancho do Peixe is the ideal place for you to spend your holidays and relax. This pousada (boutique hotel) is located on a coconut plantation with sand dunes and native vegetation. The beach is one of the best beaches in Brazil for practicing of windsurfing and kite surfing!

There are two types of accommodations, the bungalows with the view of the palm trees and the beach view bungalows. I recommend staying in the beach view bungalows. They are a little extra, but waking up with that beautiful ocean for a view, is totally worth it!

If you are on a strict diet, this is not the place to be, because the food is absolutely amazing! There are great choices of all types of food, however the seafood is the best! They catch the fish early in the morning to serve for lunch and dinner! Tip: I recommend getting up early to see the fishermen returning from their morning's catch with canoes full of fish.

The hotel has a really nice 25m pool, because the ocean is not enough, huh? They also have many types of actives, this is where i found myself pretty much all the time, at the windsurfing and kite surfing school! They have all the equipement you can imagine, and perfect wind conditions almost all year round.

I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose the beach-view rooms, they are definitely worth that little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilianGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prea
7.7 mi away
Essenza Hotel
Essenza Hotel
#5 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
7.5 mi away
Vila Kalango
Vila Kalango
#3 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pousada Jeriba
Pousada Jeriba
#1 of 24 in Jericoacoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
#2 of 24 in Jericoacoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preabeach Villas
Preabeach Villas
#2 of 3 in Prea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
7.7 mi away
Blue Residence Hotel
Blue Residence Hotel
#6 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho do Peixe

Property: Rancho do Peixe
Address: Rua da Praca S/N | Praia Do Prea (12 Km From Jericoacoara), Prea, State of Ceara 62595-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Prea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Prea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rancho do Peixe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and peaceful refuge situated in a 200 thousand m2 (49 acre) coconut plantation that has sand dunes, native vegetetation, and faces the sea. Each of the 26 thatched-roof bungalows is made of wood and designed in harmony with the coconut trees and beach. The bungalows afford privileged lighting and ventilation so one can chat underneath the moonlight, take in the sunset, and enjoy the refreshing sea breeze. There's a restaurant serving Brazilian specialties and regional fare, a lounge with TV and games, a 25m pool surrounded by deackchairs, an area for relaxation, a kitesurf school and storage, and the famous beach bar. Mind you rest in the sea. Body and soul, in Rancho do Peixe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rancho do Peixe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Do Peixe Hotel Jericoacoara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing