We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Walk, Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackhead Path

Blackhead Path
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Whitehead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Lovely Walk, Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a lovely, gentle walk along a good path which takes you right by the sea. We parked close to Whitehead Boat Club and walked to the lighthouse and back again. It is a gorgeous stroll, right by the sea with great views of the lough and the rocky coastline all the way. Some interesting things to spot too - we liked the large boulders (Wren's Eggs) on the beach and the caves in the cliffs. The climb up to the lighthouse was not so bad and the reward is more great views.
A beautiful part of the countryside and definitely worth exploring.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
338 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,167 helpful votes
“Lizard’s Lair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Today I was watching viviparous lizards on Blackhead Path. I saw three different ones within an hour. AMAZING! They are the only reptile native to Ireland. Tiny things, they like to warm up on sunlit concrete before going back into the undergrowth. Also seen: a seal out at sea, looking about; a heron; red admiral, ringlet and meadow brown butterflies; and I could hear lots of grasshoppers chirping. The path is crammed with natural wonders. The people you meet are well worth talking to - it was bird watcher Niall Waterman who tipped me off about the lizards.

At County Antrim Yacht Club yesterday, at the other end of Whitehead, people saw dolphins yesterday. They seem to enjoy checking out the humans in their kayaks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Steveodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“greatest place on earth :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

For all who enjoy walking with a view to die for!! Watch out for the abundant bird life, sea activities on the Belfast Lough both big and small and great possibilities to chat with locals and visitors alike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Here is the toilet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you can’t see the Blackhead cliff path toilets, here is a photo for you. It is a coin operated one up on a platform just where the path starts, next to the car park. Its one of the automatic type ones. Lots of visiting mobile homes were parked nearby yesterday, they must have got a wonderful view of the sunrise. The path is all decked with flowers at this time of year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for running”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I ran all the way along the path last night. I was admiring the beautiful blue sea, and enjoying the mild sea breeze. I was saying "hello" along the way to a couple of friendly walkers. It was a beautiful day, but when you run up all the steps to the lighthouse you do get out of breath!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu50247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackhead Path also viewed

Whitehead, County Antrim
 
Whitehead, County Antrim
 

Been to Blackhead Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing