We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Old World Inn”
Review of The Leather Bottle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Leather Bottle
Ranked #1 of 3 Cobham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I normally check with TripAdvisor before booking a hotel but on this occasion omitted to do so. I am glad I did as the reviews would have put me off and my wife and I would have missed out on a wonderful extended weekend.
The room had an Old World feel with a four-poster bed and Dickens memorabilia. The bed was comfortable and there was a view of the local church opposite.
The bathroom was a little tired and in need of refreshment but perfectly serviceable.
The food was good. Breakfast was one of the best I have had. Main meals were not Fine Dining but perfectly acceptable as Pub Food. The restaurant was welcoming and again furnished with Dickens memorabilia.
The staff were friendly and efficient and the hosts, Bryan and Sue were all you could wish for.
We have spent many nights in chain hotels and wanted something different on this occasion. The Leather Bottle provided a charming alternative and I would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2 which is at the front of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

I was a little worried to read the negative reviews after I had booked us a room for my partner's birthday at the Leather Bottle. However, as soon as we saw the pub I was filled with hope. The outside looked great and was well maintained. Once we were at reception we were given a very warm welcome by the landlord Brian and we received a very friendly service from all the staff during our stay, despite the fact they worked extremely hard during this Bank Holiday weekend.

The four poster bedroom was lovely, with the added bonus that Charles Dickens had stayed there in person. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room (as indeed the whole pub) was very clean. The bathroom could do with refurbishing, but I am sure that will be next on the list, as the owners have only been there 18 months and did all the essential work first.

The food is not fantastic, just ok, but then again, what do you expect, it is a pub, not a Michelin star restaurant, so it was adequate for us. The wine was great value and very enjoyable. Breakfast was nice and not greasy. Good quality sausages and bacon!

The Charles Dickens memorabilia were a great attraction to us and we could have spent days if we would have looked at them all in detail. Nearby Rochester is a great place to visit for everything to do with Charles Dickens and his characters. We were lucky to be there during the Sweeps Festival, which meant that there were many Morris Dancers in the street and the pubs had live music and real ales throughout the day.

All in all we had a great time and I would definitely recommend The Leather Bottle as a special place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misswaldingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leather_bottle, General Manager at The Leather Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for your positive and constructive review. Susan and Bryan and all the staff at the Leather Bottle are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Poor customer service, staff all chat about one another. Staff make you feel unwelcomed when you ask for anything. Expensive place for what is on offer. I wouldn't touch this place again !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mex1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Where do I start, the rooms where small and cold, the staff where unhelpful and the food was disgusting.
The meal we had, the starter was tasteless, and the main course was a 16oz T bone steak which was as tough as an OLD LEATHER BOTTLE!
If you are thinking of going don’t bother.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bbc1darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Leather Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leather Bottle

Address: 54-56 The Street, Cobham DA12 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cobham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cobham
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leather Bottle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Leather Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leather Bottle Hotel Cobham
The Leather Bottle Cobham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing