We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and unimpressive”
Review of The Leather Bottle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Leather Bottle
Ranked #1 of 3 Cobham B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unimpressive”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lunch on an ordinary Sunday. Gorgeous building. Lovely grounds. Hugely expensive ( for what you got) lunch. Tiny portions of the tasteless "baguette" and of the bread with the Hunter's lunch (ie ploughmans with extra ham). Actually it makes me more cross thinking about it than it did at the time. Perhaps we chose badly from the menu. But it was our first (and last!) visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    42
    28
    6
    14
See reviews for
36
65
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ken, England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped here for something to eat on Bank Holiday Monday at the end of May. The pub was busy but this did not stop the service being excellent. For some reason the girl missed off a burger from our order and she was so apologetic - it was a simple mistake but she popped out with a drink for my nephew who meal it was with a meal within a short time and free coffee for all the adults. So nice and helpful - we will be back there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flissyrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macksville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner was born in England and both the village and the church hold pleasant childhood memories for her, so this trip was almost a 'pilgrimage'. A lovely and historic building was the immediate impression. The room we booked included a four poster bed and other 'antique' furnishings. It also had a large bathroom (something I've found a down side to more modern British hotels is the very small bathrooms). The creaking floorboards and slightly crooked hallway added to the character of the place. The setting of the pub was also appealing, a pleasant and extensive beer garden was well patronised with the fine weather we experienced on our visit. The bars and dining rooms were very comfortable and well decorated (Charles Dickens themed, but not 'over done' nor 'tacky'). The food was very good with a good range of drinks available also. The staff were very friendly and helped make our stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend the Leather Bottle for a visit to a beautiful and historical part of England.... .

Room Tip: If arriving in Cobham by train, via Sole Street station, try to book a taxi in advance to meet you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbcr514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely old pub with nice garden for the summer, food came out very quickly with big portions and very tastey, gluten free menu is available. staff are all very friendly and very attentitive but not too 'in your face'

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 21st April. The room was immaculately clean, and very welcoming. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We had room 6 and they provided an extra bed for our son. Great breakfast too!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthpawsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked a double room for our Easter weekend trip to opening round of BSB at Brands Hatch. The Leather Bottle is an amazing pub steeped in history and is very impressive. Being only 20 minutes from the track is perfect for cars and bikes alike. Our room was clean and charming although the decor was a little tired. Breakfast was lovely and evening food was very tasty although menu was limited and nobody told us food wasn't served after 7pm on Sundays! We went hungry that evening! There perhaps could be some info about this in the rooms? Sadly a combination of this plus dirty clothing found in wardrobe, insufficient towels for 2 people, a missing hair dryer and the most uncomfortable bed we've ever had to sleep in cast a big dampener on the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked a room for the Saturday night as we were meeting friends for dinner in the restaurant , our room was very clean , tidy and full of old world charm, if you want to escape from the modern world the Leather Bottle is the place for you .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobham
0.9 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
490 reviews
6.0 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
4.5 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
148 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leather Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leather Bottle

Property: The Leather Bottle
Address: 54-56 The Street, Cobham DA12 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cobham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cobham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leather Bottle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Leather Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leather Bottle Hotel Cobham
The Leather Bottle Cobham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing