We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An unexpected pleasure.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mpika
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapishya Hot Springs Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow! An unexpected pleasure.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We arrived at Kapishya after a gruelling few days on the road from Katavi in Tanzania and what a surprise . An Eden in Africa. Lush gardens, fantastic bird life, a riverside campsite and the beautiful natural hot springs. We basked by the pool, wallowed in the warm springs and watched the palmnut vultures at their endless task of picking at the palm nuts.
We immediately decided to stay a few nights and were made to feel at home by Mark and Mel. We had a few late nights at their cosy bar telling stories of Africa and hearing all about the fascinating history of the family. Delicious food, home grown organic produce and home raised meat.
Topped off with a visit to Shiwa N'gandu to see Sir Stuarts dream being brought back to life and to get further insights into this incomparable character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENFHoedspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Truly great place, Mark is as entertaining as you can get with great stories and a few late nights... Planned 1 night stayed 5.... And then onto and back from Buffalo camp in North Luangwa, also used it as a base back and forth from Ndole Bay. Hot springs simply awesome, especially after an 8 hour drive... Rooms all individual and meet all needs, meals simple and far to much. After travelling most of Zambia this place and Shiwa should be at the top of an travellers list.

Room Tip: All good and all different, some would say a bit odd but we stayed in 3 different and all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansa, Zambia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our camping experience here was just perfect - and not expensive KR70/pp/night. Turning up out of the blue didn't phase Mark (or Mel) who were excellent and attentive hosts. Mark even helped us mend a flat tyre the following morning!
Next to a babbling river, the campsite is beautifully situated, with plenty of braai sites, really hot showers and access to the fabulous aquamarine hot springs where you can ease the knots out of your neck and back from previous rough roads. Or do like I did, and go for a wonderful massage in the spa adjacent to the hot springs.
We also treated ourselves to the three-course dinner. Can't fault anything. Mel did us proud! And sitting in the bar, swapping Africa stories and hearing about the family history, rounded off an exceptional 5 days' travelling to North Luangwa National Park - this place is linked to Buffalo Lodge there, which we have yet to visit. But judging from Kapishya, I'm sure that will be as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We were camping and I could have given sleep quality a 5* except the owls kept us awake! That is cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here after several word-of-mouth recommendations in Zambia, and wasn't disappointed. If you're passing the area it's well worth a day or two, and combining with a trip to nearby Shiwa house itself.

The hot springs lodge is on an attractive riverside site. There's a pool and decking overlooking the river, with the campsite further down the riverbank. Between the two are the springs themselves, which are perfect, bubbling with clear warm water at the perfect temperature. The bar and main house are cosy and quirky. Their food is absolutely excellent. If the staff know you're in the hot springs, they're happy to take orders/serve drinks to you without you having to get out, which is a novel luxury!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Lying about 40 Kms west of the Great North Road, this is a great place to relax and chill out. Lovely location in the Zambian Bush on the edge of the Shiwa Ngandu estate. Came across it travelling south from Uganda. Liked it so much , we stayed 6 nights altogether: 3 on the way down and 3 on the way back. Hot springs, a clear bubbling river, excellent bird-life, good food, lovely staff and plenty of sunshine. Mark Harvey, our host, made us very welcome and entertained us with lots of stories of Zambia: its history, people, and wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were en route to Tanzania, when, on the suggestion of a few good friends, we decided to rest one night at Kapishya Hot Springs. It was a great decision, as the lodge was a clean relaxing respite from our trip!

The chalets were clean, with hot water ready to use. The sulfur-free hot springs were relaxing, the pool refreshingly cold, and the new spa looked amazing. What really stood out to us though, was the food. We had the fried "survival rice" and soup noodles, which were delicious and chock full of authentic Chinese vegetables grown on the grounds. Having been overlanding for months, we hadn't eaten food like that for a long time! If we weren't in a hurry, we would have happily stayed a few more days and tried more dishes. Huge thanks to our gracious hosts as well--we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakonde, Southern, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2012

What can I say about this place that others haven't already. My Fiance and I went there for one night to celebrate my birthday and what a great time we had! We went rafting in the late afternoon which was so beautiful and a must for all to do. When we got back we treated ourselves to a massage which I was not expecting to be of such good quality in the middle of no where! Dinner was amazing and you can tell that Mell has a passion for her cooking just from the way she explains what everything is.

Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The staff are always ready to help and are so polite!

The Chalets are clean comfertable and have amazing views of the river. It was so realxing to hear the water in the middle of the night.

The pool and pool area was beatiful with a nice deck overlooking the river, a great place to sit and just relax! Compared to the water of the hot spring the pool was a bit too cold for me but i still enjoyed it.

Being an animal lover, I would have to say that the best thing about the place was their beautiful dogs! I could not get enough of them and they are all so friendly with unique personalities and a wonderful story!

Thank you again Mark and Mell and we will be back first chance we get. This time we will make sure to stay for more than one night!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kapishya Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapishya Hot Springs Lodge

Property: Kapishya Hot Springs Lodge
Address: PO Box 1, Shiwa N'gandu, Mpika, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Northern Province > Mpika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Mpika
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the banks on the Mansha River just 19km from the famous Africa House is this 6-chalet eco-lodge and campsite. Forty degrees of crystal clear water permeates through white sands to create our springs. Surrounded with stunning countryside, this tropical retreat boasts a health spa, swimming pool, tropical gardens, guided games drives, small conference facilities, ancient stone-age sites, river rafting, high class cuisine, birding tours, day visits to the Africa House and breathtaking scenery, in total seclusion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing