We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable!”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wombleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Visited The Plough back in June with my husband Phil who wrote a review at the time,Simply had to write this review because nowhere have we had fish & chips of that quality & value anywhere since.Excellent service I& a welcoming atmosphere.It won't be too long before we return,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank YorkshireBelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for The Plough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this country village pub on a Monday evening. Had a lovely warm welcome, service was very good and our order was taken promptly. Food was delivered hot, well presented and timely. Not particularly large portions and personally thought a little expensive for what it was. Having said that, would recommend if you're in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went for a drive in North Yorkshire to have a Sunday lunch at a nice pub in kirbymoorside but got there to be informed contrary to the website they weren't serving Sunday lunch (George and dragon - don't go isn't a patch on the plough and website makes it look better than it is). Fortunately things happen for a reason and it worked out better for us.

Getting back to the plough inn at wombleton, this is one of the nicest Sunday lunches we have ever had. We arrived at 255 pm (serves until 3) on Sunday and asked if they were still serving. We were informed if was not a problem, friendly welcoming staff nothing too much trouble, nice restaurant style menu not cheap but not expensive and you get what you pay for, we both went for the pork served with gorgeous roasties, lovely mash and fresh vegetables then had a desert of the MOST AMAZING sticky toffee pudding we have ever had (even better than the renowned Cartmel puddings which is saying something), can't recommend the meals enough they were perfect.

This is a gem of a pub, if your in North Yorkshire you must check if out. Fantastic food, quick service, good portions, friendly staff, cosy bar with lovely wood panelled bar with leather trim and lovely comfortable bar stools, choice of real ales, couple of ciders on draught, small but varied quality and affordable wine menu, outside tables in small beer terrace area, lovely clean loos. I can't recommend this pub enough it's comfortable homely and there are lovely touches from the small cartoon pictures in the loo to the womble cuddly toys on display to the little menu of seasonal recommended wines. This place is an absolute gem and we will be visiting again soon. Make sure if your stopping or passing by to pay a visit (it's off the main road but follow the signs) you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Countrygirl9728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M, Owner at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at the Plough and appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed and positive review.
It was our pleasure looking after you. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Called in at The Plough for lunch today. It was one of the best Sunday lunches we have had for a long time. We had the beef - lovely and rare. We did have the option of having it well cooked but what a shame that would have been. Plenty of vegetables and roasties to die for! A huge jug of gravy to finish it all off - what more could you want? The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back. Thanks very much for a fabulous meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CathA603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M, Owner at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

You're very welcome!
We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal on Sunday.
Thank you for your feedback.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Honestly can say it was the best meal I have had, not a thing wrong with any course. It is priced according to the standard. The only problem is you spend more because the food is sooo good you have to have every course. Really really gorgeous place. Henry the young waiter was lovely and really attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank randfreear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your food at the Plough on Sunday.
Henry is a popular young man and will be pleased to know you were happy with his service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
Harome, North Yorkshire
 
Nunnington, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing