We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and different style of food”
Review of Go Vino

Go Vino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Go Vino has taken the Spanish concept of tapas and evolved it for a New Zealand environment. Go Vino's shared plates (Kaizen dishes) are bigger and more complex than traditional tapas. The dishes also feature ingredients and flavours distinct to New Zealand. Drawing on quality seasonal produce Chef Gabriel Moraes creates a Kaizen menu which changes every few months. Perfectly designed dishes can be enjoyed as a snack or as a complete meal over the course of an evening. Please be aware that we are not located directly in Whitianga, but in Cooks Beach, a short ferry ride and taxi away.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and different style of food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Luckily open on a Monday evening during winter, this place was a bit on the empty side and decor felt a bit sparse so difficult to measure the atmosphere.

But the food was tasty and the concept quite fun, so was a great meal out. Some of the dishes are better accomplished but flavours are all there. Service is very nice and attentive, would love to see in the summer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeddersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    51
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“great kiwi hospitality”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visited Go Vino on a recent holiday to NZ. I work in the Yarra Valley wine region of Victoria, Australia and consider our wine and local produce to be of a very high quality. The food at Go Vino is a level above. Go Vino is really pushing the boundries with its unique style and kiwi unpretentiousness. The staff are helpful and friendly and the ambient is relaxing. It is a great place to settle in for a few glasses of wine. Ryan the owner really knows his wine. There is also a great selection of craft beer. It was a memorable evening of great kiwi hospitality. Thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickbenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious quality food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently had dinner at Go Vino. We're all vegetarian and easily found some very nice options on the menu. Even my 7 year old daughter liked it and she's difficult. While waiting for your food, you can relax on the sofas and enjoy some large board puzzles (not just for kids!). Ryan, the manager, is very friendly and professional. We liked it so much that we returned the next morning for breakfast. My husband was very impressed with the presentation of his muesli with fruit as it came in a big, glass bowl. I particularly loved the hot chocolate which came in a large glass; very classy.
I will definitely return to this restaurant for more!
Oh, very important: You need to book in advance. Yes, you could drop in and hope for a table but this place can get very busy so if you don't want to face disappointment, book ahead!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anneke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic mid winter dinner at the beach”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

If you went to a restaurant in the middle of winter in a small beach place with a tiny amount of permanent residence you wouldn't expect much. But how wrong could we have been. Amazing food, as good or better than u would expect in city's like Auckland or Sydney. Go Go Vino Go u good thing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great local beer and wine selection”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were hosted by the owner on a wild wet windy Monday night. The three of us took the tasting menu option and we were led through great tastes of tuna, sweetbreads, beef cheeks (to name but a few). Very well worth heading out on a stormy night. Thanks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go Vino also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Go Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing