We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooks Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooks Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooks Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I camped here for 2 nights during my midweek days off. The place was very clean, well put together (already stated in my previous review) and suited my needs perfectly. The management team were very friendly and accommodating. That spa pool is amazing for a bit of relaxation in the late evening! I did not even make the most of their amazing facilities - filleting station and boat wash will be used next time!

Room Tip: I was camping. There are many flat sites to pitch a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryantravelsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    17
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
45
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

At $22 a night per person for a non powered site it was certainly not the cheapest place we have stayed at. However the facilities were amazing, most of which looked new.

There was a swimming pool, very large kitchen with multiple hobs and ovens, several fridge freezers, hot boiling water, microwaves and large preparation are. There's also a sitting area with sky tv. Showers were clean and hot.

We were camped right next to the river. Plenty of flat pitches and quiet. However do bring a repellent as we got bitten quite badly there.

Perfect base to explore the Coromandel peninsular

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarfreebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night in March 2013. We were there for a friends wedding which was also at the Resort. We stayed in a Studio for the night, it was very clean and modern. In fact the whole camp was very modern and clean! The pool was lovely. The only downer is that it is fully booked over summer 2014, we would of loved to take our kids there for a week.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We've stayed in campsites all round New Zealand & I'd have to say this is one of the best setups. Flat tent sites, no permanent caravans/bachs, good shelter trees, power & water easily accessible all round the site, and the kitchen & bathroom facilities were outstanding. (There's also a pool & spa but we didn't use them). Its only five minutes from the beach & there are a couple of shops nearby (& a big supermaket across the wee ferry to Whitianga). We usually only stay one or two nights in campsites, but this is one place I'd like to go back to for a longer stay some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asinvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We loved Cooks Beach resort. Friendly and helpful staff. Loads of brand-new facilities, too numerous to mention and all the new facilities are really top-notch, the best, stainless steel and tiles everywhere. Super large pool.

Room Tip: Limited shops nearby, and a long way to any reasonable sized town - go prepared, but the camp is sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went to Cooks Beach Holiday Resort as our very first tenting adventure, and it was well worth the visit.

Very well maintained, it had a swimming pool, plus a spa. a small play area for the kids, it was a bit of a way from the beach, we didn't walk it (Were only there for a week-end) but we did visit the beach and it was very nice.

The local shops were limited so would advise you take plenty of supplies, the camp does provide fridge and freezer space, but on busy day I think the space in these would be limited.

Over all we enjoyed the visit and would be happy to return another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JunkmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Highly rate this campground - one of the best locations, facilities, and staff we've seen. Kids lived at the pool/spa. Really impressive new kitchen/tv/dining room with new abulution block. It is so refreshing to see owners making improvements for their holidaying customers. A true family friendly outfit within easy reach of numerous top Coromandel attractions. Highly recommend Cooks Beach Holiday Resort - you will not be disappointed. Also try GO VINO for coffee and meals, their tasting menu was a gastronomical delight!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaroncarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooks Beach
1.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
14.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 24 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Beach Resort

Property: Cooks Beach Resort
Address: 874 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Cooks Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cooks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Beach Resort offers a wide range of accommodation options from powered camp sites and cabins to fully self contained beach cottages. 4.5 Star facilities with fully equipped kitchen and lounge with sky tv. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing