We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, unexpectantly fantastic”
Review of Cooks Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooks Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooks Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Looking for a camping spot and we came upon this gem.
Fantastic facilities, the camp kitchen has to be seen to be appreciated. Its close to a full commercial kitchen with space for all.
Camps are very spacious, good grass and not over priced.
The showers are a little strange, as they have water issues to special water saving measures are tekern there. Once you understand them they are fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank crismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Cooks Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Just fabulous! We have traveled to lots of camping locations around NZ and this is the first to get a full 5 Stars from us! Loved it!
This site formed part of our huge camping expedition covering most of New Zealand by tent. This is another site we can highly recommend. Excellent facilities which are VERY clean.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevetkdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a faultless 4 days with 2 families at this wonderful resort, I didn't ask for any special treatment yet found my wheelchair could access the chalets and the pool by going round the back.
The chalet had an amazing bathroom,power shower and plenty of pool and bath towels.( I would have liked a firmer mattress but if you don't have a broken spine they are serviceable, the bunks great.)

The chalet had everything you could need for cooking , a lovely touch was a broom and dustpan which was welcome each day after the beach,., the whole place was clean, the large kitchen and communal area was fabulous. The pool lovely and of good temperature, the Spa could have been hotter but then when its 35 degrees and sunny does it need to be,? I would have liked to have been told about the very hard suck filters that got my back one day, that said still a lovely facility.
The site delivers everything it promises and more, a 5 min walk to the beach, short drive to Ferry,Hahei and Hot water beach.
Cooks beach has a lovely restaurant and village store that sold everything you could possibly need including lots of fresh vegetables and baked goods.
Our children age 5 loved the park and the 3 pools.
Thank you Cooks beach , it was a much needed break for us and we will be back.( only sad we spent 5 yrs going to Hahei as this one tops them )
Cheers Ali and Henrik

Room Tip: The chalets are wonderful 5 in a hexagon with picnic tables and BBQ in the middle , perfect to sit o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a great week here in a 3 bedroom chalet which was spacious and well appointed. The kids enjoyed the pool and spa area and the campground is in a great location allowing easy access to Cooks Beach and estuary, Whitianga, Hot Water Beach etc. A couple of caveats: the wifi only works at the office so groups of people collect there with laptops and iPads to check their mail. And the management are approachable helpful so long as you are not asking them to go out of their way - if this is the case prepare yourself for some expletives and yelling. If you can avoid the management you'll be fine!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank peta-tweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This campground is well run relaxed camp with great facilities that will met the requirements of all , young and old, refer to their website for list of features. The heated pool temp does can vary in temps but the kids will love it no matter, great after a day at the beach, big kids will enjoys as well. Overall the camp was clean during our stay and regular servicing was evident , management were relaxed and had no issues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This campground has some great features for kids, with a large pool, spa and playground. However lots of things were broken throughout our stay, eg toasters, hair dryers and there were days when the whole place had no water so you couldn't have a shower. The resort advertises that it has a heated pool, but it is actually pretty cold. I give it a one star rating due to the extreme rudeness of the guy, whom I assume is the manager, to one of the guests. I was shocked to say the least and it was the worst customer service I have ever witnessed in NZ.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank M881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager874, Manager at Cooks Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I can only apologise that you had such an experience with the previous management. Cooks Beach Resort is now under NEW MANAGEMENT and I am sure that you will find the service, friendliness and professionalism of the new team equal to the improved facilities now on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were amazed when we booked campsites there was availability 2 weeks out from our trip. It was a 2 night stay. We were allocated 4 powered camp sites for 10 Adults and 4 Children. Prime location in front of the children's play area, swimming pools, dining room, kitchen and of course the shower/ toilet block. The service when we arrived was very friendly and accommodating. The area was kept clean at all times and the staff very friendly. Information posted on the front reception window on tide movements and weather reports were very helpful. They also had spades to hire when you went to check out hot water beach,a ice machine maker and a filtered water machine. The only query I had was the power phase on our site as we only had the normal 3 pin phase that couldn't plug into there power boxes All in all we came away from the resort very happy and ready to book again. Our family has no hesitation telling others about our wonderful stay. Thank you Cooks Beach Resort Management and Staff. Regards Paula Adams and Family

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooks Beach
2.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
14.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Beach Resort

Address: 874 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Cooks Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cooks Beach
Price Range: £8 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Beach Resort offers a wide range of accommodation options from powered camp sites and cabins to fully self contained beach cottages. 4.5 Star facilities with fully equipped kitchen and lounge with sky tv. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing