We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondering one gathers Honey”
Review of Maachli Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maachli Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Kolhapur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wondering one gathers Honey”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a place, rustic and live, cozy and comfortable, quiet but full of singing bird melodies!
It is the PLACE for the region.

Do visit and experience the Food + Hospitality + Nature and much more, in the lush green Coconut and Betel nut farm with a sweet water stream flowing through the property.

Green salute to Samants!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndrajitNageshkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks a lot for the review and especially for such an appealing heading to it.
It is certainly an honor to receive compliments from renowned architect and seasoned traveler.Our artisans are happy and contented by your word of appreciation.
It was studying tour for me also to visit some old houses of Parule with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
70
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Enough and more has already been written and said in the praise of this quaint, scenic getaway and every word of it is true! Kudos to Samant kaka, the owner of this place! It is his enterprising vision that has opened its gates to the gem of a place like Maachli to all the people like me who do not have a native place to go to. His son, Prathamesh, who is trained in hotel management, manages the show and takes care of all the arrangements, he's your friendly companion throughout the stay. Samant kaki who's rightfully called "queen of the kitchen" makes the most scrumptious local Konkani food fare for you on a chulla. The entire family goes out of the way to extend their warmth and hospitality thus making your stay a memorable one. We hope to return to this place soon.

Room Tip: Mriga cottage for the stunning top view of the plantation. Don't forget to carry binocs for bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks a lot for writing about us.
It was great hosting you.thanks for staying at Maachli.
Look forward to see you soon.

Regards
Prathamesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was a great experience. I just saw this resort's pics on tripadvisor & finalized it in mins. This resort complete my search of calm, peaceful, Nature's place. We've received a great hospitality. Food was awesome. Its really a unique place. Samant family has wonderfully designed the whole resort area very unique way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedar_Patwardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kedarji,

Thanks a lot for writing about us.Its great to get comments from person like you who is also a farm owner.Photos uploaded by you are very nice.The memories spent with you will be cherished.

And also thanks very much for sharing knowledge about different things.

Wish to see you soon.

Regards
Prathamesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

For someone who works all the time, a long weekend is the best opportunity to get out of the city. A friend chanced on the site and the super awesome pictures simply motivated us to take a ten hour journey from Mumbai only to visit the place. The moment we reached, we received a warm welcome followed the best home made food we had. The entire family were exceptional in their hospitality and guided us throughout on how best can we enjoy the holiday. It is a completely recommended place and I am positive it visit it again for sure.

Room Tip: Select Mrug for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tejaldaftary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
hi,

Thanks for the review.It was great to host you at Maachli.It is a great inspiration for us to know that you liked stay.Next time we will visit killeniwati beach and fort and go for nature trail which we could not do due to short span of your holidays.

also would like to thank you for helping us promote Maachli.

Convey my regards to all.

Regards
Prathamesh
9637333284
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i had stayed at maachli farm stay on 18 dec2013with my parents ,wife and 2 kids.It was a very different and delightful experience. Throughout our stay we were very well looked after by the samant family.Maachli farm stay has a very unique approach road or should i say bridge across a small rivulet. Once you see this you know that your stay holds a lot of pleasant surprises .And believe this holds true for your entire stay as right from the rooms to the ambience and the food everything would shatter all your preconcieved notions of holiday in a pleasant way. the room are infact cottages with sloping roofs surroundd by betel nut plantations with spice plantation for company.The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom has copper utensils for bathing which was very well thought. The dining area is located at waling distance from the cottage and is very well looked after by Mrs Samant.We were always looking forward for our next meals and would best describe our stay at maachli as a four meals stay rather than a one day stay. each meal was a treat by itself as none of the food items were repeated during our stay. Also the food was local malvan food you would have in any other malvan homes. i would like to congratulate prathamesh samant and his family for offering us a very innovative holiday at maachli farm stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A truly satiating and blissful experience augmented by hospitality that would put the likes of the popular five star resorts to shame. Nature at its epitome in a picture perfect location. The unique entrance through a small tree- trunk bridge over a rivulet makes its mark. The distinct “Machan cottages” are a pleasure to experience with all the necessary facilities with a natural touch. The view from the cottage will emulate the experience of living in a dense green area with sunlight dappling through the tall betel and coconut trees – all unscathed in the rustic surroundings.

The Bhogave and Nivati beaches are a mere 25 mins drive by an auto. The mountain peaks slope down over to these virgin beaches with no one but us paddling our way in the clear waters. The Nature trails expose the distinct flora and fauna of the region. The serenity is indeed deafening in the night – But not for a moment did our family miss the television, the swimming pool or the bar. You are just engulfed by pure, holistic natural environs.

Sumptuous home cooked food on wood fired stove (chulha) is cooked and served in earthen pots. The spread is something to talk about - ranging from salads to deserts with a mix of veg and non veg Malwani specials that will leave you licking your fingers after every meal. Master Chef Mrs. Samant ensures that the guests are treated with options that will tickle your palette – Hats off to her culinary skills.

Prathamesh has the requisite people skills to make your stay comfortable – He ensures that your needs are immediately addressed. There is a personal touch to everything and it began with a call a week before our stay to understand our needs. There were follow up calls before we left for the place and after we returned. His penchant for trekking and bird watching is portrayed when he accompanies you on Nature trails.

Bhaiya Samant has transformed his dream into an earthly paradise by paying attention to minute details without harming nature. Not a single tree was cut to construct the cottages.
Our domestic and international visitors would definitely find the stay unique and pleasurable.

We were a family of four including two ten year old kids and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the two nights stay in March and are looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Younger guys can choose Mrug at a slightly higher evaluation to enjoy the view from the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniAnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for writing about us in detail.

Visit to devrai(sacred groves) and nature trail was really great as I came to know about different plants from you.I enjoyed a raft ride with Aniket and Anurag as well.thanks a lot for staying with us.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

A real one-off. Not exactly a home-stay, but a very imaginative attempt to provide tranquillity and an understanding of nature, tradition, cooking and farming in Sindhudurg. Prathamesh Samant is wonderfully enthusiastic and very helpful guide, willing to do all in his power to provide exactly what each traveller is looking for. I loved it.
BG, England.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brigid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitablechap, Owner at Maachli Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi,

Your visit is also memorable for us.Thanks for writing about us.

I appreciate your touristic attitude as you went in the jungle without any direction and finally you came back without any hurdle.As I remember you saying that smile is the great Language.So the language was never problem for you while roaming in the village. It was great exchanging thoughts with you.

Look forward to see you.

Regards
Prathamesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kudal
22.9 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
179 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Lemongrass
Hotel Lemongrass
#1 of 1 in Kudal
14 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Sagar Kinara Malvan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Konkan Crown - Resort & Club
20.4 mi away
Fort Tiracol Heritage Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hotel Chivala Beach
Hotel Chivala Beach
#1 of 6 in Malvan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maachli Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maachli Homestay

Property: Maachli Homestay
Address: Ishavasyam A/P. Parule, Manjardewadi | Tal. Vengurla, Dist. Sindhudurg, Kudal 416523, India (Formerly Madhuram)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Sindhudurg District > Kudal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kudal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Konkan area on the Goa – Vengurle – Malvan – Mumbai coastal highway. Our elegant cottages are on "The Historic Lands of Marathas" which include the Sindhudurg and Vijaydurg sea forts, verdant land of coconut & beetle‐nut groves and spices and Mango trees. Our cottage, built up in eco-friendly environment offer you setting for an especially memorable Konkan vacation getaway. The Cottages are conceptualized as Maachli which is traditional term for huts made on heights by farmers to safeguard the crop and water it. The Cottages are located in the beautiful village Parule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maachli Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing